We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$140
US$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$115
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
US$262
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$105
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Deco On 44(Galle)
US$85
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fortaleza(Galle)
US$147
US$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$245
US$201
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
134
18
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
18
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoconut plantationtuk tuksaffron roomdogs and catsjackfruit currysouthern highwaysri lankamonkeys swinginggalle fortcolonial gemrestored beautifullyabsolute paradiseother guestshome away from homecurriesperfect retreatpleasure of staying
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely visit and lunch today at Templeberg with fun manager Karin. It was a beautiful setting in the front garden surrounded by foliage and friendly wildlife. Delicious Sri Lankan lunch prepared and served by the friendly staff.

It’s highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Tempelerg is a gift from heaven, quiet, peaceful , comfortable, unique.
It is set in the hills 5 mins from Galle Fort, so close enough , but far enough too.
No TV, no bar, no noise , just comfort , good food, and surroundings to die for.
Heavenly big pool surrounded by jungle, birds , monkeys.
Nothing was too much trouble for Shane , the manager, and Karen the owner is charming.
A truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Great colonial architecture. Indoor and outdoor spaces are all connected together. Set on a hill and surrounded by jungle. Pool is great for swimming laps and has beautiful views.
Host was very nice.
House also has pets; both dogs and cats are very friendly to guests.
Breakfast setting is very nice and the food was delicious.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rhinorceros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

Very authentic with no evidence of superficial 'decorating' just comfortable, quiet and secluded. Geat size swimming pool for the serious swimmer and Shane the manager does an excellent curry - hightly recomended. A real treat to meet Karen the owner who was staying as well.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

We stayed at Templeberg Villa for 3 nights and enjoyed the fact it was only 10-15 minutes from Galle in a quite hillside location. We were however disappointment with the accommodations. We booked a Deluxe Villa room through Agoda and paid extra to have a larger room with A/C. When we arrived we were taken to a room that was very small and had just a ceiling fan with no A/C. We immediately raised this issue with Shane and we were taken to another room slightly bigger with A/C but had only a double bed with mosquito netting. The other thing we noticed was that the room was not completely sealed off up at the ceiling from the outside so mosquitoes could still get inside the room. We accepted this room thinking that it had A/C and was slightly bigger in size. It was only later on in our stay when we went over our paperwork that we realized that we were not given the room that we had booked on Agoda but rather a down graded room with a small double bed. For the price we paid ($340 Canadian) for 3 nights we were very disappointed we weren't given the room we booked on Agoda which should have been much larger in size with a king bed. We definitely felt that we had over paid for the type of accommodation we received and didn't like the fact they initially tried to give us a basic room with just a ceiling fan. If we had not brought this issue up with them we would have stayed the 3 nights in their most basic room with a ceiling fan.

We felt the resort in general could be maintained better for the price you pay...bathroom plumbing was basic and although the shower produced hot water there really wasn't much pressure. We only had cold water in the bathroom sink. Hot water tap didn't work at all.

The hilly stone and gravel pathway to the pool was difficult to walk on and although the pool was huge the water was very cloudy the entire 3 days and the patio furniture was literally falling apart. Two of the staff workers actually brought over another lounger for us as they noticed we were using one that was falling apart.

The pros: The location is quiet. The food was the highlight for us during our stay. Shane does a great job in the kitchen and produced some very good food.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melboi, Owner at Templeberg Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Thank you for your feedback.

We at Templeberg are always sorry to learn where customers expectations on some accounts have not been met post a stay.

I am disappointed that your checkin experience involved some confusion about what room you had booked but am pleased Shain righted it immediately by showing you to another room. I have been in contact with our partner organisation Agoda to make improvements about how are rooms are described across our online channels to improve the checkin process.

I am sorry that you felt that you would have been more comfortable in a king sized bed and that you found the overall bathroom facilities too basic. The hot water tap in the basin has been checked since your review and there is hot water in the bathroom. Had you mentioned it during your stay we would have also checked then too.

The Roman styled open air ventilation system is part of the property’s infrastructure and ensures temperatures in the room are moderated along with the Air conditioning units.

The single pool lounger that broke while being moved during your stay has since been removed. It was fortunate that staff could see what was happening and assisted you on to a different sun lounger. I am pleased to say we have immediately replaced the lounger with 3 new ones bringing the total to 6 new pool loungers.

We are happy that you found the quiet hillside location relaxing and chose to end your review on a more positive note by acknowledging the high standard of Shain’s cooking. Shain worked hard to cater to your tastes three times a day and personally is grateful for the recognition of his efforts.

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.


Brent Carey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews