We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$115
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
US$163
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$262
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$105
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Deco On 44(Galle)
US$85
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fortaleza(Galle)
US$147
US$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$245
US$201
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
112
10
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
10
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barfrothy milkstandard in sri lankashampoo and conditionerenjoyed staying heretuk tukresident doghome away from homepretty gardenegg hoppersgalle fortexcellent place to staymonth in sri lankaideal locationread a bookcooking classbreakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2018

This is definitely a homestay rather than a boutique B&B which is what my guide book intimated. The owners and staff are extremely welcoming and even tried to solve a technical problem with my phone. They all lend the place a very charming atmosphere. However, my room was quite small, rather dark and already crowded with a lot of things belonging to the house which made it seem more cramped. In the first 24 hours there was no hot water and only very low pressure on the cold water. The breakfast/dining room is quite small although this did not matter as very few people staying whilst I was there. I dislike having to criticise when the staff go out of their way to be helpful but feel reviews should be honest. When leaving I had asked for them to book me a car to Bentota : this was indicated to be around 4,000 rupees when I enquired but it was duly booked and added to my bill where it turned out to be 8,000 rupees. This is the generally quoted price for a car to Colombo which is twice as far. Unfortunately this left a rather bad taste on leaving.

Room Tip: Ask to see rooms if possible.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DougF45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

So much to like about this place. Good location about 15 minutes walk from the gate to the Fort, beautifully and quirkily decorated rooms and sitting areas, a variety of lovely places to sit and enjoy the peace and tranquility, delicious breakfast, and most of all the charming and helpful staff. You'll love it!

Stayed: February 2018
Thank MartinVictoriaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and were not disappointed. First night we arrived late due to trains having also climbed Adam’s peak during the night so were very exhausted. Koki showed us to our room to our room straight and allowed us to have dinner there which was a blessing.

The room is clean, perfect size and very lovely design. I loved the chicken theme and the rooms have everything you need. Shower is divine and bed is just perfect. We had been in Sri Lanka 8 days and by far this place was the best night sleep we’d had since arriving.

All the staff are a credit to this place. They are all so friendly, welcoming and attentive and they are due their credit. The breakfast has everything you need, variety and is delicious. Staff will help you with anything from tuk tuk to advice.

Throughly throughly enjoyed staying here. Loved the communal areas so you don’t always have to be in your room and it’s close enough but yet far enough from the city so you can relax but have fun too.

Absolute credit to Koki and Hen. They run an amazing place with amazing staff. Thank you for our memories of Sri Lanka.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Zoe_JL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

My partner and I recently stayed at Kikili House.

When we arrived, we found ourselves feeling very disappointed by the cleanliness of our room. Lots of dust had settled over the netting of our bed, dead bugs covered the bathroom windowsill and the bathroom lamp was covered in mould.

We decided to stay the night anyway but unfortunately things didn’t improve - the aircon wasn’t working properly so it was a struggle to sleep through the night.

In the morning, we decided to call it a day and leave early. We informed the staff we we’re checking out 1 day sooner, and to our surprise no one asked why! All of this was so disappointing.

We then emailed them directly about our complaint. They didn’t try to compensate anything, even for that one night we didn’t end up staying.

We’ve never had to write a review like this before but feel we need to tell people what happened before you decide to stay here.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank christie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

My wife and I stayed at Kikili house for three nights and loved it. Henri and her staff are fantastic hosts and make you feel at home.

We were provided a great breakfast every morning and local advice. We stayed in the budget room (2 single beds) and for what we paid we were happy.

The only down side was the lack of water pressure and hot water, though this seems pretty standard in Sri Lanka. There was also a damp smell to the room but for what we paid we can’t really complain.

Thanks for the stay.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Garth117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henri T, Owner at Kikili House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

We absolutely loved having you! Thank you so much for your kind review. Running a hotel in Sri Lanka has many challenges including the water pressure but we are constantly improving.

Hope to have you and your lovely family stay again.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews