We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful, spacious villa on the beach”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Moonstone Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxury interior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Luxury interior
Luxury lounge fully equip
Homely and comfortable
Elephants on our beach
Fitted to the highest standard throughout
High ceiling with high end decor
beautiful night lighting creating a wonderful magical atmosphere
Tasteful interior
On-suite master bathroom
luxurious bedrooms with wonderful soft mattress's
Italian inspired bathroom
Relax in the lounge in total luxury
Highly trained staff clean to the highest standards
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matt K
1 review
“Wonderful, spacious villa on the beach”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Surprisingly spacious 3 bedroom villa, polished concrete floors, 2 huge bathrooms and wonderful hosts. The chefs were happy to cook the adults a traditional Sri Lankan breakfast and our kids either eggs or pancakes. Lunches and dinners can be cooked in the villa for you too if you wish, Such a great location. Ask for Vinod from Galle Travels as your driver / tour guide and you can't go wrong!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayun K
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location and Villa. ”
Reviewed 12 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Amazing tall and airy Villa with an almost private beach (barely any people on it, so doesn't matter), decent sized lounge pool, fully stocked living room and spacious rooms. Great place Dom, keep it up and thanks for having us !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachpin99
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our best holiday”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Fantastic stay at Moonstone Villa. Amazingly private villa with its own secluded pool & then a few steps to a mostly-deserted beach. We travelled with 3 young kids who had a great time.
Dom & his staff were extremely friendly and helpful. While it has all the facilities to self-cater, we ended up using the chef every night who cooked amazing meals at very reasonable cost. We also used a tour company & tuktuk driver Dom had recommended for day trips & transport, all who were fantastic as well.
The only minor negative would be the proximity to & noise from the relatively busy Galle Road which the property was located on. However, while we noticed the noise, it was comparable to the noise from the waves crashing on the beach, so we didn't find it to be a huge problem for us.
I would highly recommend this villa & would love to stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2017
Thank you for such lovely comments we are delighted you enjoyed you stay with us and would love to host you again. Best Regards Dom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophandca...
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“amazing!!!”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

wonderful villa, wonderful staff on a lovely beach with a beautiful pool!!! can't fault this villa, only wish we could have stayed longer but we had an amazing time here & would highly recommend getting a tuk tuk (which they provide) to unawatuna beach as there is a lovely stretch of little shops and restaurants there and galle fort (another amazing place, full of lovely little lanes of cafes and shops) these are both so nearby, only a short tuk tuk ride away which makes the location of the villa. - the tuk tuk drivers we had, a father and son, we're so lovely and the english of the staff is exceptional !! you could easily never leave this villa and have a great holiday!! thank u so much to everyone who made our stay amazing (:

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameskitc...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed for 6 weeks over april and may 2016. Dom's communication whilst booking was excellent and he even helped to organise our transfers from the airport. The villa is lovely and sits on a fantastic quiet beach, the pool is relatively small, but is excellent for young children. Dom and all the staff were brilliant and made us feel incredibly welcome, chef in particular was great - especially with fussy children!
The villa is about 10 minutes in a tuktuk from galle and although you can hear the road, it didnt bother us at all. Buses are also every couple of minutes and incredibly cheap.
Overall, we had a fantastic stay and wouldn't hesitate to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location on the beach and the pool
Liked least: The road, but wasn't a particular problem
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$251
/ Night
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing