We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No airconditioning in the most expensive suite!”
Review of The Sun House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sun House
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2015

I was swept away by the review of the Cinnamon Suite on the hotel's website by Conde Nast Traveller as 'the most beautiful hotel room in the world'. That may be true, it is indeed beautiful, extremely romantic and huge with a gorgeous four poster bed, outdoor bath, and full library. Nowhere on the website does it mention that this stunning suite has no air-conditioning whatsoever however, and if we had known this in advance we would never had booked the room - especially as we were staying with our 18 month old son. When we checked in, we realised there was no a/c and asked if there was another room we could move to. It turns out that every other room in the hotel has a/c but the only one available was musty and smelt of mould so we thought we would try to stick it out. At midnight however, all three of us were still awake, sweating like mad and fighting off a constant swarm of mosquitos. We went downstairs and said to the staff we couldn't stay a moment longer in the room and we would try the other one. Turend out the a/c wasn't working in there - hence the musty smell. In desperation they showed us to a room that had just been vacated. It hadn't been cleaned and we were handed a pile of sheets and a couple of towels, and told to sort out the room ourselves. It was really quite revolting, and certainly unacceptable considering we were paying over USD$250 per night for our room. We were so overtired and our child was beyond hysterical at that point however so we just got on with it.
The next day, when we went to pay the bill, we voiced our disappointment, and were told sorry but too bad essentially. No discount, no promise of another night's stay in the future to make up for the terrible experience, nothing.
Very disappointing.
Food was good, and the hotel has a lovely oldie worldy feel to the place, but we would not stay there again after our experience.

Room Tip: Dumas Suite is the one to go for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexofhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2015

We stayed 3 nights and we're lucky enough to be upgraded to the Dumas suite, as it is off season. It's a lovely bedroom with balcony, great bathroom and little sitting room off to the side, with strong wifi signal. With no other guests, we got lots of attention, but not too much with Janaka particularly spot on. Food was delicious, and tuktuk driver Anande took us up and down the hill to Fort with plenty of stories. It would be a different place in the high season, but surely just as charming.

Room Tip: Cinnamon suite would be the pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2015

Our stay for 6nights at Sun house was a very relaxing one.The Hibiscus room has such a charming atmosphere .The hotel serves excellent food especially their curries.Small but beautiful garden and pool.the staff very helpful .the place does require some maintainence but if you look at that as rustic charm then it's great.No TV,wifi or telephone in room.......boon .
Highly recommend

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nili731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2015

Stayed two nights at start of Sri Lankan holiday with 11, 5 and 3yr-olds - an oasis but so close to the city centre. Very atmospheric colonial house - very spacious bedrooms which were actually suites. Lovely gardens, magnificent pool, monkeys and birds. Food very good an excellent place to chill but easy to walk into town. Great start to a great holiday.

Room Tip: Only has three rooms all overlooking the lovely courtyard and garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2015 via mobile

We stayed three nights in the Cinnamon Suite during our recent trip to Sri Lanka. It was amazing. The Sun House is beautiful, food superb and the staff were all fantastic. Our room was gorgeous; and although hot without air con we didn't mind a bit; the lovely room and outside bath more than made up for it.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
2.5 km away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
2.8 km away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 24 in Galle
1,799 reviews
1.3 km away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#6 of 24 in Galle
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 24 in Galle
242 reviews
4.5 km away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#7 of 24 in Galle
132 reviews
5.9 km away
Apa Villa Illuketia
Apa Villa Illuketia
#16 of 24 in Galle
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun House

Address: 18 Upper Dickson Rd, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#11 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range: RM815 - RM1,281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sun House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Sun House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sun House Hotel Galle
The Sun Hotel
Sun Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing