We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the place”

Lucky Fort Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 188 Restaurants in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are proudly invite you to get the wonderful experience of traditional Sri Lankan Rice and Ten(10) Different Curries from us.All for just 1800Rs( 12$)and ""It is enough for two hungry people."" Lucky Mama Made all this With Love and Care.We know You definitely feel it . If you really felt it, Mama Lucky willing to teach you about it..! Yes.we do cooking class too First we Meet then we decide . Tourists are welcome!
Reviewed 19 February 2018

They start serving dinner at 18.00 and when we arrived at 17.50 it was already quite full (it's small and they don't accept reservations). We had the set dinner of 9 vegetable curries and one chicken curry. All excellent (rtaditional Sri Lankan dishes, so quite spicy). Rp 750 per person for the food!!! The also serve local beer at an acceptable price.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 123 of 1,665 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

A fabulous little place surrounded with pretty lights. Basic tables and you get whatever the dishes of the day are which in our case was chicken curry, rice and a selection of ten different vegetable curries which included pumpkin, okra, dhal, radish and cucumber. Meal for two with two small Lion beers was about £12.50. Highly recommended!!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank slee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

The food was incredible, loved that there was only one thing on the menu as we wanted an authentic, well cooked Sri Lankan dish.

The curry was reasonably priced and spectacular! It came in 10 individual pots and a mound of rice, the flavours together were amazing.

The setting of the restaurant was also atmospheric and really relaxing.

Very friendly staff who explained the dishes and were very attentive, despite busy rush of customers. Note: try to go after 7:30 as the owner explained it is always rammed before this time.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank cftaylor93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Mother and Daughter team have created a lovely setting in Fort Galle. We were perusing the menu when our hostess explained that it is a set menu...1 chicken curry served with rice and 8 veggie curries! What a taste sensation! Perfect way to immerse yourself in the Sri Lankan way! Some very unusual veggies... lotus flower, 2 other veg that we don't know...but all were very good. Each curry had a different flavor, imagine 8 different flavors! Such a nice experience, we will be here for another week, so Lucky Fort will be seeing us again! Thank you so much for the REAL Sri Lankan experience!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 77DebbE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed the 10 curries at Lucky fort. We also liked the cute little court yard where it was all served.
The onion dish is still one of our highlights of the trip. Will be going home to make attempt to make this immediately

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Ltaylor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lucky Fort Restaurant also viewed

Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 
Galle, Galle District
 
Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 

Been to Lucky Fort Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing