We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waves striking the balcony: What an experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mihiripenna Beach Resort
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Galle
Reviewed 23 August 2017

A pleasant experience with room overseeing the violent waves of Indian ocean. A wonderful and sometimes scary experience of waves striking the balcony gave us a feeling of a completely different world. Homely atmosphere with good sea food and wonderful outdoor dining space. Its a family business with very nice owners who themselves take the responsibility of cooking the food in a clean and hygienic kitchen! Try this place to feel part of the wonderful India ocean :)

Room Tip: Choose a room overseeing the sea. Ground floor would be more ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Siddhartha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Stumbled across this amazing place with waves lapping and warm welcoming smiles all round. Cheap, clean rooms and bathrooms and value for money. Stayed much longer than expected. Food at attached restaurant surprisingly good.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Sasssyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Hotel owner asked me to cancel my booking due to room repair. I booked room few months ago, and now have to look for new hotel. I have 54 days before my booked date, but most hotels have no free rooms now

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Dmitro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Having travelled on short notice, we found that this place was very pleasant for a short stay. while the facilities weren't that great, it was great value for the amount that was charged. It's located right on the beach and is situated on the main road itself. The staff were very attentive and helpful and managed to accommodate each and every request of ours. Extremely good for a one night stay if you plan on being on the beach the whole day and just need a place to crash for the night

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sachira98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Our stay at MBR was for a total of 3 nights.

When we arrived we had just finished a trip through hill country; Ella, Nuwaraeliya etc. We were pretty tired after a long drive and as we drove up to the gate to MBR, we were surprised of how big it was. It consisted of two big wooden doors that lead to a sea-view villa with surrounding concrete walls which surround the premises and seal it of the busy road next to the place. It actually keeps the noise out by some way. The house/villa itself was about 2 stories high, with roughly 6-7 (not sure) rooms to stay in. The place is family-run with 3 brothers, mother and father who all are eager to make the most of it and are willing to do a lot for you. They prepare the breakfast and dinner, which are really good yet sometimes basic. The family also lives in the house which makes it feel like a home-stay rather than a hotel.

Our room would be on the ground floor directly next to the sea; Amazing! with sandy beaches and palm trees, it really gave a tropical feel to the place. The room itself was a bit of a disappointment and whilst reading the comments other people gave to them, there must be a big difference between the rooms when it comes to cleanliness and space.
Our room was spacious enough with a double bed, a small dining table with two seats and oddly enough beach lounge chairs in our room. There was no closet but that was no problem since we were living out of a backpack the whole trip. The disappointing part was the bed which was very uncomfortably and as by the looks of it served many years prior to our visit.. The sheets were somewhat clean with some old stains they probably couldn't get out. Only the bathroom was the worst i have ever been in. I don't know what other people experienced during stays, but the bad part was that it wasn't clean (a lot of clogged hair in the pit which made the place flood) and smelly (leaky toilet). Nicely enough they cleaned it up right away (only after asking).

When it came to trips to Galle or Unawatuna: the staff will have a tuktuk ride in no time for you and they also have their own taxi bus which they use for guests. Galle is about 20 minutes away, unawatuna about 10. Rides in a tuktuk cost about 300-500 RS. There isn't much to see in Thalpe (where MBR is), just a long stretch of busy road and some shops or ATM's.

Over the days i found the place great when it came to service and politeness of the staff, and location wise (every morning started with a dip in the Indian ocean, woohoo!) the food was great yet a bit overpriced compared to prices in Sri Lanka. The only thing that ached a bit was the bad bed and the terrible shower which really smelled at some points.

So comparing my visit to other's i wouldn't say the place is the worst you'll ever visit, yet it isn't the very best you'll get for your money. Our stay for 3 nights was $86 which made it actually pretty cheap, but comparing it to other budget places we've been in at the same price range, this one had some flaws (like the bad bathroom and bed). The staff is great with helping you out and aranging things for you, although sometimes it takes a while before they actually do it.

To conclude:
If you are a backpacking traveler (or two of you) and you really want to have a relaxing day at the beach with no time to spend in your hotel room, and want to stay close by for only one or two days, this is a fairly decent place for your money. If you are a traveler who wants to stay a week at the beach and will be using their room a lot hopefully with comfort and luxury, I would consider choosing a different place since the flaws will annoy you at some point, which would be a shame since the area is great.

Room Tip: During august-december, swimming is only possible in Unawatuna since the whole South-West sea is rou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
5.2 km away
Closenberg Hotel
Closenberg Hotel
#20 of 26 in Galle
350 reviews
6.6 km away
The Bartizan
The Bartizan
#11 of 26 in Galle
47 reviews
4.7 km away
Apa Villa Illuketia
Apa Villa Illuketia
#15 of 26 in Galle
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Villa Ocean Dew
Villa Ocean Dew
#22 of 26 in Galle
8 reviews
0.6 km away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#12 of 26 in Galle
280 reviews
11.4 km away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#5 of 26 in Galle
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mihiripenna Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mihiripenna Beach Resort

Address: No. 748 Marbowila, Mihitripenna, Thalpe, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Galle
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beachfront with views of the Indian Ocean, Mihiripenna Beach Resort offers simple accommodation in Mihiripenna, Unawatuna. Surrounded by coconut and almond trees, the property is 1.5 Km from Unawatuna Beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing