We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday in Sri Lanka with the help of Serendib Guest House.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Serendib Guest House
Ranked #8 of 269 Negombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2016

After a long and hard journey, we have a pleasant rest in the house, which is beautifully decorated with a beautiful garden with a swimming pool. The location is also very suitable for families. The pool is just the right size and clean.
Serendib G. H. is near the sea and close walking distance to nice restaurants, shops and a wellness center.
The breakfasts were great. The staff also. Many things about Sri Lanka we learned from them. We hired a van from them and their man took us almost to the north Sri Lanka and back. If you go to Sri Lanka you must select Serendib Guest House.

Room Tip: All rooms are OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jernej c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 32 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2016

Serendib Guest house is located one street back from the main beach road. It is very close walking distance to nice restaurants, supermarket and ATM. As arranged, i was met by Prabeep at Colombo train station and taken back to the guest house. My room was big and the aircon worked really well and it is needed as it is humid. The swimming pool area is very well maintained and being able to relax there in the peace and quiet is very enjoyable. Natasha is a great hostess who will assist you where ever she can.

The Guesthouse organised me a city tour with Lucky Tuk Tuk. Lakmal (Lucky) is more than a tuk tuk driver- he is also a great guide who can show you all the sights in Negombo. I also went on an amazing boat cruise around the harbour and lagoon with him and he took me to the airport at 1am. He is a very friendly, reliable and helpful guy!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeBZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for our first two nights, a lovely place the gut used to the Sri Lanka climate and culture.

As agreed they arranged an airport pickup what is really convenient! Serendib has a nice pool, bike for use to go to the beach and/or city when you do not want to walk, and the offer massages.

The ATM is on walking distance so do not get your money on the airport! Serendib has as well a tuctuc as a car with which they can bring you everywhere even to the next destination.

The breakfast the super and a western/Sri Lankan combination.
we like to eat in the guesthouse, so it was a pity they do not offer this, this would be the 5th star!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeroen_v_HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

I stayed in Serendib Guest House with my wife for 3 weeks starting from end of August 2016. The place is a bit inside (still very near from the beach) but it adds the advantage of noise free and calm atmosphere. The hotel has a nice, well maintained rooms and clean pool to enjoy. The management is run by a wonderful, highly cooperative, graceful & friendly lady Natasa & a very cooperative guy Pradeep. These guys alongwith 2 other staff members gave us immunities like a family. Natasa cooks herself a very tasty and huge breakfast. She provides complimentary ginger tea in evening too. You can use bicycle to go anywhere. As a matter of fact, this place is the best place to stay I found in my 2 tours in Sri Lanka. This place is highly recommended for short / long tour.

Room Tip: spacious A/C room, clean floors, hygienic bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Syed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Serendib is a quiet guesthouse with a small pool. No noise and nice beds are the best of this hotel. We made an error in booking one room with one bed instead of two for our teenage children. The owner fixed that quickly by putting a matrass on the floor.
The room is basic, bathroomlock was broken in both rooms and bathroom had had it's best time. There is a fridge at your disposal. Outside is not much light and place to sit. Owner and staff are nice.
It's actualy located at the wrong side of Negombo with not much restaurants around.
better find something near Lewis place.
price/quality is average for Sri Lanka

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank rob30berg2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.7 km away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 44 in Negombo
539 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#9 of 44 in Negombo
923 reviews
5.9 km away
Amagi Aria
Amagi Aria
#14 of 44 in Negombo
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#7 of 44 in Negombo
1,533 reviews
1.4 km away
Morning Star Guest House
Morning Star Guest House
#1 of 269 in Negombo
701 reviews
6.1 km away
Palms Villa Negombo
Palms Villa Negombo
#3 of 269 in Negombo
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendib Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendib Guest House

Address: No 83/1 St Joseph Street, Negombo 11540, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 269 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range: RM131 - RM208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Serendib Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ENJOY OUR PEACEFUL AND FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE Situated only 7 kilometres from the airport and a 5 minutes walk from the beach, Serendib Guest House has the perfect location for your holiday in Negombo. Enjoy the comfort of five individually decorated rooms with separate bathrooms, - and equipped with good beds, AC / fan, and mosquito nets. In the morning, we serve you the included generous breakfast with fresh fruits, eggs, bacon/sausages, and vegetables, plus toast with butter and jam and of course coffee/tea. Our peaceful garden invites you to relax under palms and mango trees and cool off in the pools. You are welcomed to use a spacious living room with TV and prepare your snacks and drinks in our guest kitchen, where you can store food/beverages in the refrigerator. You also have free access to our WiFi. Our reception will tend to your needs, if necessary all day around, to make sure your stay will be as satisfactory and pleasant as possible. EXTRAS: To make your holiday in Sri Lanka memorable, we are happy to offer the following extra services: Pick up and drop off the airport. Sightseeing in Negombo by bike or "Lucky tuk tuk" Planning and organizing your Sri Lankan day or round trip with our car and experienced English speaking driver cum guide. Ayurvedic massage by a professional masseur, according to your need, in our massage room. Special honeymoon arrangements ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Serendib Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serendib Guest House Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing