We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxing hotel,close to the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Reviewed 5 January 2015 via mobile

It is my first night here. Here are the positives
- rooms are clean and relatively new with normal size bathrooms.
- the rooms has nice outside sitting area with the pool view
-nice average size pool
- friendly and helpful staff
- the food in restaurant is nice and delicious
Negatives
- restaurant prices are bit high

Stayed: January 2015
Thank Goktug U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 172 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2015

My partner and I stayed at the Amagi Lagoon Spa recently in December for a couple of nights. We decided to choose full board as we had been travelling about a lot and wanted to stay in the hotel. The room was really nice, spacious and had a nice bathroom, tv and balcony with a view of the pool and some of the lagoon.

The weather was sadly not so good when we visited so the lagoon was looking rather grey and the pool was too cold to get in but i'd imagine in perfect weather it would look amazing.

The food was very average. Way too much salt in all of the meals we received and a lack of love had gone in to many of the dishes. Breakfast was also looking a bit sorry for itself with not so fresh fruit and a random selection of hot buffet items. However, the food we ordered for room service was a lot better than any of the set meals we received as part of the full board but still feel they need a lot of attention here as we didn't even bother eating the 2nd night's dinner.

Finally, the "spa" itself was a couple of rooms at the top floor. They had a great menu offering a lot of different massages, facials etc but when we asked about a few they didn't even have the correct facilities for them so we couldn't do many things and ended up just having a massage each. Great massage but shame about the lack of other items on the menu.

Overall very nice looking hotel and comfortable room. Just needs some attention regarding the food, staff and making it more luxury as their tagline states.

Room Tip: Try and get a lagoon view room as the balcony is beautiful for that view. Also, be careful when orde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JH416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2014

I have been staying at the Amagi Lagoon for a few times due to the convenience of it being close to the airport. Unfortunately, disappointed to see that service standards keep falling. While the hotel itself is a good value for money, seems like they have failed to invest in service delivery. Some of the issues during the last visit included lack of hot water (and took over an hour and five calls to front desk, and a personal visit to solve), lack of food being prepared as per menu (note that the food is seriously overpriced), and finally no ground transportation to meet me when I arrived at the airport. Worse, the staff just does not seem to care.

There are other similar options in the area, and I am going to exercise my vote by going somewhere else the next time.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2014

The Amigi Lagoon is certainly only a short drive from the airport, but it is the warm welcome, and the friendly service, which we shall remember. Our room was spacious ( 217) and the food was excellent. Lovely pool and a tranquil view of the lagoon.

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJBOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Amagi. it was very quiet and the rooms were comfortable. The only disappointment was that I asked reception to arrange a day tour for us and were told he would check with his boss and get back to me. He never did, which caused us to waste our last day in sri lanka. However, we enjoyed the pool and the gym instead!

Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
5.3 km away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
537 reviews
3.9 km away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 43 in Negombo
1,066 reviews
5.0 km away
Camelot Beach Hotel
Camelot Beach Hotel
#12 of 43 in Negombo
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#8 of 43 in Negombo
1,500 reviews
5.2 km away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#2 of 43 in Negombo
542 reviews
6.3 km away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#9 of 43 in Negombo
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa

Address: 640/82 Suhada Mawatha | Kurana, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Price Range: RM208 - RM782 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star boutique within 3km proximity from the Bandaranaike International Airport. Property consists of 20 standard rooms, 1 Superior and 1 Deluxe all lagoon facing. Extremely tranquil, quiet and a perfect holiday getaway for those who are looking for absolute luxury and of course pampering. The hotel consists of a main a la carte restaurant, 2 bars, gym, spa, open rooftop Jacuzzi, 40ft infinity pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing