We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Euro Star(Yatiyana)
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$16
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
41
151
87
29
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
151
87
29
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstamarind treeclose to the airportsri lankacolombo airportfirst nightliving roomlovely poolair conditionedtransit passengersrooms are largepleasant hotelreception staffbuffet stylebefore flying homebreakfast and dinnergroundsflight
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Tamarind Tree , the service was great, The location serene. The The food was great too. The accommodation was comfortable and cosy. The Hotel eludes an relaxed atmosphere amidst a coconut plantation. The hotel is located just an 60 min drive from Colombo. Unfortunately the property is not marketed to its true potential.
The service rendered by Senaka & Tuan need special mention The F & B guys along with the chefs.

Room Tip: The rooms close to the pool. especially the chalet type rooms are ideal for a family
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Suresh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2014

we stayed here for 1 night after arriving in Sri Lanka. Close to airport and set in it's own grounds, the rooms were very spacious but a little tired. Nice swimming pool and friendly staff. Buffet meals, dinner and breakfast were ok, but nothing spectacular. OK hotel for one night, but well away from anything worth visiting

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tesndes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2014

This hotel is very close to the airport in Columbo and makes the perfect place to rest after a 12 hour flight from the UK. At the end of your holiday it is also perfectly sighted to minimise all the stress in flying home. As a hotel it reaches back in time to when the British forces were based in Sri Lanka and my guess would be that this was an officers club or leave centre. Bungalows and rooms spread out around a lovely swimming pool and in the shade of some beautiful trees. The rooms are large and comfortable; equipped with television and coffee/tea making facilities. WiFi is available free in the bar/lounge area and can be purchased when needed in the rooms. Food was good and the staff friendly and efficient. We liked this hotel and the loss of one star is only because the hotel needs a bit of a face lift and it looks a little shabby in places. Overall a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2014

Our flight from maldives was delayed hence we missed the connecting flight to India. Srilankan airlines by which we arrived at Colombo made arrangements for a separate flight to India. For transit time they were sweet to book us Tamarind Tree Hotel . We reached there at 7.30 and left the hotel at 11. We had breakfast. The spread was less than ordinary. No Dosa, Idli etc. Service was poor maybe for transit passengers. The reception is very nice specially the huge wooden curtains. The rooms are very nice with a small lawn. Nice stay

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SUSHOVAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2014 via mobile

The tamarind tree was our fifth and last hotel in Sri Lanka. The hotel is nicely located, close to the airport for an early morning departure and not too fare away from the beaches of Negombo.

The hotel is quite big and organised in small villas that contain 3 rooms. The rooms are big and splitted in two parts, the main entrance with a couch, TV, table, cupboard and the second part with the actual room and bathroom. The bathroom is nice and new. The air conditioning in the room was a bit noisy, but very efficient.

The pool is very nice. The restaurant is fine as well.

If you stay or plan to stay in this hotel, try to get a ride to the fish market of Negombo. That's a once in a lifetime experience.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank FreditoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews