We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”
Review of Hotel Sunshine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sunshine
Ranked #44 of 319 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Reviewed 4 March 2015

My room was very spacious and very clean. It has a coffee machine, free wifi and some English TV channels. At least one of the reception staff spoke English which was very helpful. They have a free laundry room with modern equipment, although the instructions are all in Chinese so I had to guess about how to operate them. Free breakfast was included in the price, it is typical asian and a few more dishes that cater to westerns would have been nice but I didn't go hungry. The Love river, train station and shopping are an easy walk from the hotel. There are also many, many food outlets around every corner.
If I head back to Kaohsiung I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ScottSpiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sunshine
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 45 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2015

We stayed twice on this hotel of a 20 days trip. Beginning and at end of the trip. Two different rooms. Both were similar, they had all you need. Gym was clean and well set up. Laundry room was well equipped with new machines. With two kids and 20 days, we did several loads of laundry. Staff was always polite. breakfast was great, a lot choices, but we wished there were more daily products like yogurt and cheese. Room was always clean when we asked to be cleaned. Heated toilet sits. Multiple shower heads(choices of head, side, or handle). Entire city seems to have restaurants and 7-11. not exception here , there were four 7-11 stores about 2 blocks away. The night market was also two blocks away, several good restaurant also not far. so pretty of choices to eat. Train was also near by(Sago Station). Located near of shopping areas. Banks all over to exchange your money, we recommend to use Bank of Taiwan, no exchange fees there. Hotel has exchange service but exchange rate is lower. Room felt small with two queen size beds, but we just want to sleep after a long day in the city. those beds were perfect. They also provided Kimonos to wear, but we had our own pajamas. New set of sleepers everyday. WiFi connections on every level, strong and fast.
Two guest elevators in the back next to the restaurant, fast and clean. One elevator in the lobby.

Room Tip: we got the family executive room. good enough for a family of 4.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank All4Kids_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
陽光大飯店客房部副理, 客房部副理 at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2015

Thanks for always staying our hotel and your reply
We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2014

A friend was telling us how good is this hotel, I was attracted by the bright lobby and a crystal chandelier. There's only one elevator to serve whole hotel guests, we waited quite awhile to get into the elevator. The room is quite small and stuffy with 2 wooden chair just next to my bed which is so narrow for anyone to squeeze in to sit. There's no extra plugs for us to charge our cell phone and camera, so we use the plug for TV for all the charging. Many of us had problem looking for the water heater control, it's located at the extremely bottom of the shower, I heard some didn't take any shower as they couldn't find the control and the water is way too hot and the shower head is quite old and dirty. The breakfast was quite lousy, not much choices.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
陽光大飯店客房部副理, 陽光大飯店客房部副理 at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2015

Thanks for your suggestion
We will fix problems and make sure improved operations!
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel. We go back because staff are always friendly & smiling. They go out of their way to make your stay pleasant.
Our room was large & very clean. It has a coffee machine, free wifi & breakfast is included. Breakfast is Chinese style & could have a few more varieties of western drinks or yoghurt though but has a lot of choice. The laundry & gym is also free of charge to use.
Location is close to the metro station & Major shopping area, 5 min walk.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
陽光大飯店客房部副理, 陽光大飯店客房部副理 at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2015

Thanks for always staying our hotel and your reply
We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2014

typical local hotel quite clean, spacious room bed is comfortable, breakfast so so
it is quite close to our conference, within short walk to department store but Kaohsiung is
a small town, we cannot find any good restaurant near by

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank liu l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
2.5 km away
Hooray Boutique Hotel
Hooray Boutique Hotel
#21 of 319 in Kaohsiung
285 reviews
7.5 km away
The Riverside Hotel International
2.0 km away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Kaohsiung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Shihzuwan Hotel - Kaohsiung Station
0.4 km away
85 Sky Tower Hotel
85 Sky Tower Hotel
#28 of 319 in Kaohsiung
561 reviews
1.1 km away
Han Hsien International
Han Hsien International
#40 of 319 in Kaohsiung
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunshine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunshine

Address: No.75 Jhonghua Fouth Road, Lingya District, Kaohsiung 802, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 319 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range: RM122 - RM365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sunshine 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunshine was established in 1995 and opened at Jhonghua 4th Road. With elegant Chinese classic, the hotel uses valuable and rare rosewood furniture to blend with refined oriental culture and make innovative contemporary designs by unique Chinese culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunshine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing