We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried the rest? Now stay at the best.”
Review of Hotel Dua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dua
Ranked #17 of 319 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2015

Dua is the best boutique hotel in Kaohsiung. Clean rooms, delicious food, friendly staff, great downtown location and super comfortable beds all combine to make a stay in this uber stylish establishment one to remember. Another highlight is Etage 15 Kitchen and Bar. It offers unbeatable views of southern Taiwan’s biggest city, and is the perfect venue to enjoy a tasty beverage after a long day doing the rounds of the tourist attractions. Etage boasts a wide range of beer, whisky and wine, as well as English Harbour 5 Year Old, one of the finest rums in the world and a real rarity in Asia. Be sure to try resident mixologist Jack’s mojito – it is a definitely a good ‘un.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank jsmaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldua_Kaohsiung, 客戶關係經理 at Hotel Dua, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2015

Dear Guest,

Warmest greetings from Kaohsiung! We thank you for choosing Hotel dùa and your comments about the previous stay were greatly appreciated.

It is our pleasure to know that you are satisfied with our hotel design, room facilities, food quality, restaurant atmosphere and overall service. We will pass along your kind words to the rest of our staff members. Your compliments are our great inspiration to strive and serve our guests better in the future.

Thank you once again for your great support, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dua
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 126 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2015

Had to go to Taiwan for a couple of days and of course I needed a good hotel.
Looking on Tripadvisor Hotel Dua seemed highly recommended, so choice was easily made.

I can describe the entire hotel in one word: EXCELLENT!

But as people alwyas like a bit more details, here's some for you:

Exteriour:
From the outside the hotel looks very distinct; nice architecture with a very striking entry!

Lobby:
Very friendly staff that speaks very good english. Style of the lobby is very warm with nice lighting

Room:
I choose the 13-ping room. The space that this room offers is simply amazing! Enormous bed, club seat, seperate bench seat, nice big tv with many tv channels (not that many in english though), a VERY nice bathroom with shower (big), bathtub and toilet with with water jet. The materials used all feel very premium and because most of it is rather dark the directional lighting really helps to set a very special atmosphere. Oh, and you get free drinks in the mini bar (ok it's only a coke, sprite and OJ; no alcohol ;-)) but on top of that you get 2 bottles of water and the possibility to make your thee.

Breakfast:
If you're used to the european / UK type of breakfast you might be a bit surprised, but man is there a lot! Going from cereal, fruit, cold dishes, cold fish and meat to nice chinees hot dishes and custom omelets. Actually I can't ask for more.

Location:
The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the subway entry (Formosa Boulevard). This is actually the crosspoint of the 2 subway lines which actually enables you to quickly jump from one part of the city to another. The subway is very easy to use and the train sets are clean. at no moment does one feel unsafe so I would say that this is certainly the way to travel in Kaoshiung.

Price:
I paid 4200 Taiwan Dollar / night, which in my opinion is certainly a lot of value for the money!

I was only in Kaoshiung for 2 days so didn't have that much time to visit much, but I can say that the Lotus pond (Lianchi Lake) and the night markets are realy nice and something I would recommend (try the stinky tofu in the night market, along with the octopus balls).

All in all my first visit to Taiwan couldn't have been better: The people are very friendly and warm, there is a very vibrant atmosphere in the entire city and the climat is lovely this time of year (March). Combine that with a great hotel, what more can one ask for! Can you tell that I love this place / hotel?

Room Tip: My room had a view on the street but never had issues with noise.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gunnar d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldua_Kaohsiung, 客戶關係經理 at Hotel Dua, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel dùa and taking your precious time to share your comments with us!

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in Kaohsiung. It is always delightful to receive positive feedback from our guests and we have shared your satisfaction and kind words with all the associates. Your complete review and positive comments about our hotel design, room amenities, breakfast and overall service quality are greatly appreciated! With such generous encouragements like yours, we will be inspired to strive and serve our guests better in the future.

Once again, the entire team sincerely appreciates your patronage and support. And we are certainly looking forward to your next visit to Kaohsiung!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2015 via mobile

We were very impressed with the design and feel of this hotel. We've just a really relaxing weekend visit and the quality of the room, food and service were outstanding. It is centrally located with a large bedroom and roof top dining. We felt very much at home, especially after a long soak in the bath.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank starfishSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldua_Kaohsiung, 客戶關係經理 at Hotel Dua, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2015

Dear Guest,

Warmest greetings from Kaohsiung! We thank you for choosing Hotel dùa and your comments about the previous stay were greatly appreciated.

It is our pleasure to know that you are satisfied with our hotel design, room facilities, food quality and overall service. We will pass along your kind words to the rest of our staff members. Your compliments are our great inspiration to strive and serve our guests better in the future.

Thank you once again for your support, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2015

The hotel is very modern and clean. The rooms are large and comfortable. With all of the usual amenities

The rooms and corridors are really dark, but having visited a couple of hotels in Taiwan - this seems to be intentional. Meant I had to have all lights on all of the time.

There is no in room dining service, but the restaurant is nice enough.

Breakfast is good and varied

The soft drinks in the mini bar are free and there is a coffee area near reception with a help yourself coffee machine - free of charge - a nice touch - I made coffee to take back to my room

The staff are very helpful and friendly and booked all my taxis and translated addresses for me

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hellyb123red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldua_Kaohsiung, 客戶關係經理 at Hotel Dua, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2015

Dear Guest,

Warmest greetings from Kaohsiung! We thank you for choosing Hotel dùa and your comments about the previous stay were greatly appreciated.

It is our pleasure to know that you are satisfied with our hotel deco, room facilities, and overall quality of the restaurant. We will pass along your positive comments to the rest of our staff members, your encouragement will inspire us to strive and serve our guests better in the future.

Thank you once again for sharing your comments with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2015

As of early 2015, I think it's the best hotel i have ever stayed in Kaohsiung.
The decoration style is modern and chic and room is very spacious. And it's located in the prime area in Koahsiung beside the MRT station with 5-10 mins walk to the famous night market.
All amenities provided are at top quality brands.
The highlight of the hotel would be its breakfast buffet, second to none i have ever visited in Koahsiung or even comparing all other 5-star luxury hotels i have ever stayed, from food quality and varieties to the delicious taste.
The only minor withdraw is that there is no coffee maker in the room for a coffee lover like me.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chingyeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldua_Kaohsiung, 客戶關係經理 at Hotel Dua, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Hotel dùa and taking your precious time to share your comments with us.

We are very pleased to know that you are satisfied with our hotel location, room deco, bathroom amenities and breakfast quality. We will pass along your kind compliments to the rest of our staff members. As for your suggestion about coffee maker in the room, there is a certain room type which equipped such machine for a coffee lover like you. You may try staying in Executive Suite next time you are in town.

Thank you once again for your encouragement and great support. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kaohsiung in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
2.0 km away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Kaohsiung
1.5 km away
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung
#22 of 319 in Kaohsiung
722 reviews
2.9 km away
Just Sleep Kaohsiung Zhongzheng
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Indigo Kaohsiung Central Park
1.0 km away
The Lees Hotel Kaohsiung
The Lees Hotel Kaohsiung
#20 of 319 in Kaohsiung
896 reviews
0.9 km away
The Tree House
The Tree House
#13 of 319 in Kaohsiung
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dua

Address: No.165 Linsen First Road, Xinxing District, Kaohsiung 800, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 319 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range: RM441 - RM584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dua 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Dua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing