We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most convenient outlet of the chain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Group Hotel Chang Chien Branch
Ranked #92 of 319 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Reviewed 22 November 2014

the hotel is part of a hotel chain, and i find it the most convenient outlet of all- it is opposite the kao hsiung train station and mrt, a bus interchange and the coaches to kenting departs from the entrance of the hotel.
there's refreshment available 24/7, so no worries about being hungry in the middle of the night. breakfast is served til 1.30pm- that's the latest timing of all hotels i've ever stayed so far. staff at the breakfast/refreshment place are friendly. front desk crew are polite.
room is clean and you'll have to let the front desk know that you need your room to be cleaned. otherwise they will not go into your room. room comes with the most comprehensive set of toiletries i've ever seen as well- shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, facial wash, body lotion, shaving lotion, tooth brush, tooth paste, dental floss, comb, shower cap, razor.
there's a washing machine + dryer available on the top floor. that's something people who travel light or have traveled for a long period of time will appreciate.
something about the room- it stinks in the middle of the night because the smell of the sewage flows backwards up the piping. i suspect it is a structural issue, since the hotel is actually one that's been renovated from another very old hotel. the smell will be gone during the day, so what i did was just covered up all the holes in the toilet as much as possible, or better still, close the toilet door.
sound proofing is not very good, you can hear the conversations in the rooms when you're in the corridor. but between rooms wise, you can't hear a thing. so just don't shout your secrets across the room when you're in there and you'll be fine. stayed in a corner room, so wasn't disturbed much. but i didn't get much of a view though, but that didn't bother me much.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fridaywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Royal Group Hotel Chang Chien Branch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2014 via mobile

After an almost 6 hour train ride, I arrived in Kaohsiung and found a few hotels up the street. I walked in and asked if they had any openings. The staff was quick, helpful, and professional- having a key out and ready to go before I could ask the price, not that I cared too much at that point. This place would easily be $$$ in Europe or America, but ended up costing $52 after taxes. I had to double check my math and even went to currency converter to be sure I wasn't insane. The room is small, equipped with all the toiletries needed, clean, and contemporary. I would recommend this place to anyone, especially if a train/MRT/bus is needed the next day. Also, free breakfast from 7-10am. I'm impressed!

Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank slidermuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2014

Located right in front of Kaohsiung Main Station, this hotel has very good location for moving around Kaohsiung by MRT. Room is small but clean. Staffs are helpful & they can speak English. There are many restaurants around this hotel. Good to stay with its price.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ThienNguyen1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Located near Kaohsiung train station. Convenient for us to transit to Kenting by buses or go to Liohe night market and other shopping area if interested. Nice hotel interior and room clean and comfortable. Great TV, but aware of the adult channels if with children. Request to lock while check-in.

Helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast with great variety of choices. My elderly showed satisfaction after her stay in this hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank unochau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

One of the many hotels that is near to the Kaohsiung Station that make travelling by bus or train very convenient.
The name card shows at least 14 hotels of such same name in Kaohsiung and not many can pronounce the name correctly as many taxi driver have problem knowing the location if you mention Royal.Just mention opposite Kaohsiung Train Station will be more easy if you are staying in this Jian Guo 2nd Road branch and cannot remember the name.Or just mention YeeShoo/Yishu Li Kuan...
Only thing I do not understand is why the check in time must be late afternoon,though they are helpful to allow guest to leave their luggage at the lobby .Nevertheless the room was great .


Friendly staff and breakfast is acceptable to me .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agongkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
2.9 km away
Royal Group Hotel - Ming Hua Branch
0.1 km away
Kindness Hotel - Kaohsiung Main Station Front
0.3 km away
Kindness Hotel - Xiongzhong
Kindness Hotel - Xiongzhong
#12 of 319 in Kaohsiung
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Royal Group Hotel - Boai
Royal Group Hotel - Boai
#109 of 319 in Kaohsiung
11 reviews
0.1 km away
Shihzuwan Hotel - Kaohsiung Station
0.2 km away
Airline Inn - Kaohsiung Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Group Hotel Chang Chien Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Group Hotel Chang Chien Branch

Address: No.283 Jianguo 2nd Rd., Kaohsiung 807, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 319 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range: RM143 - RM235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Group Hotel Chang Chien Branch 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Royal Group Hotel Chang Chien Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing