We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Luxury at throwaway prices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung
Ranked #25 of 309 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Luxury at throwaway prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

It was my first visit to Kaohsiung and when our local partner mentioned that he would book me in this Hotel costing only $70 a night. I wasn't sure what was in store till I turned up at the Hotel. It was a 5 star hotel at the price of a 2 star. Rooms were functional and cozy. Morning buffet breakfast was sumptuous. Enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — Price
  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sachinmalik3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    178
    34
    4
    2
See reviews for
95
61
38
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

I stayed at the Howard for two night for business. The hotel was nice and centrally located. There are 5 restaurants in the hotel which make eating very convenient. The rooftop pool and spa were very nice and provided a nice place to beat the heat of the days. Bar/lounge located on the top of the hotel provides great views of the city and has night piano music. The rooms are a little outdated but were really big with a separate sitting area. I would stay at the Howard again when visiting Kaohsiung. The staff were great and were very helpful though not all speak English. Good breakfast buffet included in the price of the room.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryDPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

We stayed in this hotel in april last year, but we didn't like the hotel at all.
Checking in took a while because they gave us at first a room with two small single beds, although we booked a family room. With a lot of complain we got a comfortable room.
The room was okay. The pool was nice. The breakkfast looked very good, very much to eat... BUT !!! On the breakfast buffet there were walking cock-roach ! I told the staff but they didn't care. HORRIBLE!
Kaohsiung is a wonderful place to visit, but not the hotel !!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

The room is nice. Furnitures are more on wood hence feels cozy.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaFeiChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
2.0 km away
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung
#24 of 309 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
2.1 km away
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
#32 of 309 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.0 km away
The Lees Hotel
The Lees Hotel
#21 of 309 in Kaohsiung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Kaohsiung
2.6 km away
85 Sky Tower Hotel
85 Sky Tower Hotel
#26 of 309 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.7 km away
Han Hsien International
Han Hsien International
#42 of 309 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung

Property: Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung
Address: No.311 Chi Hsien First Road, Kaohsiung 800, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kaohsiung
#5 Business Hotel in Kaohsiung
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price range (per night): RM357 - RM723
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the business district with easy access to the railway station and major highway.Also,with the Liuho Tourist Night Market and other shopping areas nearby, plus convenient transportation,your business trips and traveling plans are all within reach.305cozy and classic guest rooms are matched with prestigious wooden furniture and artworks bearing intense Chinese classical tone and reflecting the extraordinary taste of distinguished guests.Providing six fine restaurants, our professional chefs together prepare delicious Chinese and Western cuisine with each being an inspiring enjoyment of the taste and texture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, AAE Travel Pte Ltd, Fastbooking and ACCOR so you can book your Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Plaza Kaohsiung
Kaohsiung Howard Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing