We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxuriously Comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung
Ranked #22 of 319 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2015

I came here in January with my family on a short trip. Overall I did enjoy this hotel since its very nicely situated and can be very convenient.

The Room
Our rooms were very nice and simple. The décor is definitely a little out dated but it goes well with the theme of the hotel. The restrooms consisted of a large soaking tub. I loved that the sink/vanity had every item you could possible ask for in a restroom and it was a nice size as well. The bed was very comfortable and the view was AMAZING! I feel like it would be very hard to find a room with a bad view though just because of the size of the hotel.

The Food
I stayed there for only 1 night so had dinner and breakfast at the hotel, both buffet style. I highly recommend it. I love their spread and the different types of foods that they offered. Many countries are represented in their selections but the best was their seafood. There was unlimited sashimi, crab, and many different types of noodles. Their hot foods were also very good and they had different kinds of fresh made dishes available between the 2 meals. What's really interesting is that if you go about 30 min before closing, they ring a bell that allows you to come in on at a discounted rate.

Special Features
Coming up the drive way of the hotel, you're greeted by huge lions guarding the doors. There's a some what grand entrance that is sadly cut off by a café/lounge. To the left is the check in/out and luggage holding area which is quite small for such a large hotel. If you follow the left hall you pass by small kiosk stores including a jade/jewelry store, a hello kitty store, and a wedding planning facility. Near the end you'll hit the guest elevators.
If you go to the right of the entrance you'll hit another jewelry store, a large brand store, mall customer elevators, the front entrance, and the mall entrance which is a very interesting spiral stair case going down to the cosmetic floor of the mall. I loved this feature because the mall closed relatively late and has an insane number of floors for you to shop. don't be fooled by the hotel's exterior, I think I went down about 4 floors and still didn't get to everything they had to offer.
Another nice attribute of the hotel is that its near Love River. My mom took me on a walk on the town up the river and back to the hotel. Do make sure you have someone with you that knows the city well if you're going to do this since the city can be VERY hard to navigate with all the small roads and nothing is parallel or perpendicular to each other.

My final opinion is that this is a nice hotel, great view, and the service is, in general, very good. If I were in the area I would definitely stay here again just to go shopping and enjoy the scenery.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Momoko714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (722)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 167 of 722 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2015

Still the best in Kaohsiung Taiwan
The rooms are dated but very clean and everything working properly. Nice pool ( 25 meters) and very good locker rooms. The sauna , steam room, and service all top notch with plunge pools and very Japanese in style. Usual buffet breakfast with many choices. This hotel is well run with all details taken care of and excellent service from the front desk on. Always stay here and will continue place to stay in Kaohsiung

Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
Thank ROADBIKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2015 via mobile

Just there earlier in the week. Large hotel, many floors. Tons of restatutants. Good location to go out and venture. Good service, nice rooms. Did not have chance to see pool. Breakfast is not the best. Lots of variety, but taste was not all that. Still recommend.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2015

Stayed in the hotel for one night in Dec 2014. Rooms are spacious and with the upgrade, our room has a small balcony overlooking the river. Free parking for hotel guests and free wifi inside the room. Breakfast was good with great variety of food including fresh fruits at good quality. There are plenty of restaurants including Chinese, Western and Japanese restaurants inside the hotel but they usually accept last order before 9pm. Tried their steak house on the night of arrival and the steak and green salads were of excellent quality at reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank THo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Came here to stay for one night with my wife for our Valentine's day and was pleasantly surprised with how much we enjoyed it.

Service - Impeccable. From the moment we arrived to the moment we checked out, everyone was great in their service. Friendly and very helpful. We were also given a bottle of red wine and a box of chocolate as compliments from the hotel as it was our 5th year wedding anniversary. This was definitely a very good and personal touch from them.

Cleanliness - Solid hotel with good cleanliness.

Room - Comfortable queen bed with amenities fitting of a business hotel. The room was of a good size and definitely a comfortable room for two of us. There's a table for business use and a tv with about 50 channels to watch. The bathroom is well fitted with a bath tub and a separate shower while the toiletries was of decent quality.

Food - The room service menu was adequate and its taste was surprisingly okay to eat. Not too shabby actually and was prompt in their delivery. Unfortunately, their breakfast was of standard Asian hotel fare and was nothing special. Probably would avoid it as it does cost significantly more than buying some fare from the next door departmental store.

Value - It is definitely worth its money. Its also next to a nice departmental store so lots of shopping was done. Free wifi was quick as well.

Overall - A good place to stay in Kaohshiung and from what I gather, one of the better ones as well.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJJC_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
1.2 km away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Kaohsiung
0.9 km away
85 Sky Tower Hotel
85 Sky Tower Hotel
#28 of 319 in Kaohsiung
561 reviews
0.8 km away
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
#35 of 319 in Kaohsiung
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
The Lees Hotel Kaohsiung
The Lees Hotel Kaohsiung
#20 of 319 in Kaohsiung
896 reviews
2.1 km away
Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung
Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung
#27 of 319 in Kaohsiung
368 reviews
0.8 km away
Fullon Hotel Kaohsiung
Fullon Hotel Kaohsiung
#58 of 319 in Kaohsiung
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung

Address: No.266 chenggong First Road, Qianjin District, Kaohsiung 801, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kaohsiung
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kaohsiung
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range: RM474 - RM932 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hi Lai Hotel
Grand Hi Lai Kaohsiung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing