We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plaza International Hotel
Ranked #208 of 288 Hotels in Taichung
Reviewed 10 January 2015

Our family stayed there one night, in two rooms, booked by the touring agency. The lobby was elegant but the rooms were very outdated. Poor lighting in the bathroom. Towels were cheap. No electrical outlet in the bathroom. Space was adequate. Doors used an old-fashioned key instead of a programmable card. One bright spot was the buffet breakfast. Very large dining room with large selection of above average quality food.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank wens2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Waaaaaaay too outdated hotel. Grubby, grimy, antiquated. Smells in places. Carpets are disgusting. Food is bizarre. Can't handle large conferences for meal (had to eat on the "banquet hall" stage. Needs to be stripped down and totally refurbished. Won't be back.

Stayed: April 2014
5  Thank global_teach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Plaza International Hotel Taichung is just another hotel. The lobby of this hotel is quite impressive, though the rooms are not. The rooms are simple and clean, the bathroom very dated.

Free internet is available in the room though very slow. The buffet breakfast was held in one of the Ballrooms - acceptable though for some reason very disappointing.

As for location, there is shopping in walking distance, though that is all you will find in this locale.

Would we return: I don't think so.

Would we recommend: If we return to this area we would try another hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divevoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I had a night in this hotel, but was actually supposed to stay at other places due to peak period and the other hotels were fully booked. This hotel is located not near to any big shopping malls. The lobby looks a little old but when I check-in to my room, it was old and the toilets were dirty. The walls seemed yellowish and there is a water-cooler that was not in use. The electric socket seems loose and may fall off anytime as it was not stable. Shower curtains for the bathtub are old and it was dirty and made me change my decision of having a dip in the tub. The bed sheets feels dusty and did not have me a comfortable night as I felt uncomfortable moving around. The breakfast was okay, but it was really simple and old. I will not visit the place again!! Once is more than enough. It's not worth paying such amount for poor quality.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a night. Actually we were supposed to stay at Maison de Chine hotel but it was fulled. This hotel is close to central station and not far from shopping street. The building look quite old as well as the room but the room are really clean. The breakfast is so so. Not much variety of food to choose from.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itthinan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taichung hotels
0.6 km away
C U Taichung
C U Taichung
#63 of 288 in Taichung
63 reviews
1.1 km away
Link World Hotel Taichung
Link World Hotel Taichung
#142 of 288 in Taichung
28 reviews
1.1 km away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#234 of 288 in Taichung
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
He Ti Hotel
He Ti Hotel
#149 of 288 in Taichung
4 reviews
2 km away
Taichung Charming City Hotel
Taichung Charming City Hotel
#83 of 288 in Taichung
107 reviews
3.4 km away
Mini Hotels Fengjia Branch
Mini Hotels Fengjia Branch
#18 of 288 in Taichung
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza International Hotel

Address: No.521 Sec.1, Zhongqing Road, North District, Taichung 404, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 288 Hotels in Taichung
Price Range: RM 230 - RM 588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza International Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The International Plaza, a 24-story world-class hotel located at the heart of Taichung City has 228 luxurious rooms and suites providing absolute comfort, a home away from home. The authentic Western and Chinese restaurants, large banquet halls, sky swimming pool, sauna, gym, and children's playroom, makes the International Plaza your best choice for sightseeing and business trips around central T ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing