We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night stay in an average place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plaza International Hotel
Ranked #208 of 284 Hotels in Taichung
Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Check-in staff in the afternoon were friendly and helpful. A lady at the front desk was snappy and grumpy even though I was polite the whole time when asking her a question. Not a single smile. And she wasnt having a bad day. Encountered this both mornings.

The hotel itself tried to have a european theme going and im sure it was lovely once upon a time.

Dinner buffet looked appetizing with an array of food even though we didnt eat there. Breakfast tries to have food for every taste. Breads, juices (too sweet) , coffees, teas, eggs 2 ways, bacon, mini sausages, chinese style, vegetarian bfast, japanese bfast, 3 types of fruit which consisted of grape fruit, guavas and oranges which had many pips and a salad bar with 4 to 5 different dressings. Not a bad spread.

Our room was on the 21st floor and had a view of the city. Too bad most houses and buildings were tin shack roofs. It was clean and comfortable complimentary water, coffee and tea. Website says there was complimentary fruit but they were no where to be seen. No room service menu. Fresh towels daily and the cleaning lady was super friendly. She should be working at front desk instead. The shower was very weak and shower head was spritzing water all over the place. If you want to charge your phone, you need to crawl under tables and unplug fridges and tvs to find an available outlet. No wall socket by the bed either.

Room and hotel is clean on the surface but wouldnt pass the white glove test. Hasnt had any thorough cleaning or renovations in some time.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Eunice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2015

I was booked into this hotel because it was my partners idea. HORRIBLE!!! Very old style. Like 1972 style. Not suitable for any kind of business. Not all that cheap. Not central. Lobby awful. It was so terrible I checked out early just so I can escape to another hotel in town. Thanks to TA I moved into the Number One hotel listed here and I was VERY happy I did.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2015

Our family stayed there one night, in two rooms, booked by the touring agency. The lobby was elegant but the rooms were very outdated. Poor lighting in the bathroom. Towels were cheap. No electrical outlet in the bathroom. Space was adequate. Doors used an old-fashioned key instead of a programmable card. One bright spot was the buffet breakfast. Very large dining room with large selection of above average quality food.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank wens2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Waaaaaaay too outdated hotel. Grubby, grimy, antiquated. Smells in places. Carpets are disgusting. Food is bizarre. Can't handle large conferences for meal (had to eat on the "banquet hall" stage. Needs to be stripped down and totally refurbished. Won't be back.

Stayed: April 2014
5  Thank global_teach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Plaza International Hotel Taichung is just another hotel. The lobby of this hotel is quite impressive, though the rooms are not. The rooms are simple and clean, the bathroom very dated.

Free internet is available in the room though very slow. The buffet breakfast was held in one of the Ballrooms - acceptable though for some reason very disappointing.

As for location, there is shopping in walking distance, though that is all you will find in this locale.

Would we return: I don't think so.

Would we recommend: If we return to this area we would try another hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divevoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taichung hotels
0.6 km away
C U Taichung
C U Taichung
#62 of 284 in Taichung
63 reviews
1.1 km away
Link World Hotel Taichung
Link World Hotel Taichung
#141 of 284 in Taichung
28 reviews
1.1 km away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#111 of 284 in Taichung
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Taichung Charming City Hotel
Taichung Charming City Hotel
#83 of 284 in Taichung
107 reviews
1.6 km away
Zhong Ke Hotel
Zhong Ke Hotel
#69 of 284 in Taichung
83 reviews
4.6 km away
He Ti Hotel
He Ti Hotel
#117 of 284 in Taichung
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza International Hotel

Address: No.521 Sec.1, Zhongqing Road, North District, Taichung 404, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 284 Hotels in Taichung
Price Range: RM276 - RM552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza International Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The International Plaza, a 24-story world-class hotel located at the heart of Taichung City has 228 luxurious rooms and suites providing absolute comfort, a home away from home. The authentic Western and Chinese restaurants, large banquet halls, sky swimming pool, sauna, gym, and children's playroom, makes the International Plaza your best choice for sightseeing and business trips around central T ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Plaza International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing