We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great host but it needs updating”
Review of Amsterdam Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam Resort
Ranked #12 of 52 Khao Lak B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here for three nights about a week ago ( booked in advance).

Good points - the owner Kees is very helpful and friendly. It is only a few minutes to the beach, which is a nice beach, check out Lay restaurant on the other side of the channel.

Bad points - we were in the main building and our room was very hot. The bed and the pillows were too hard, the walls were dirty and had not been decorated very well at all. I am afraid out of 4 people no one had a good nights sleep for almost three days.

I got the feeling that Khoa Lak was quite expensive as there were quite a few resorts so you could argue that Amsterdam is good value for money, but I have stayed in much nicer places for less than 500 baht a night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sirtravellotLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdamresort, Owner at Amsterdam Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

First of all, I would like to thank the reviewer for her input.

The reviewer and her party wanted the cheapest possible accommodation by all means, so they really couldn’t expect so much. Nowhere in the Khao Lak beach area they could have found anything cheaper.
We have a range of different rooms and bungalows, and of course the rooms in the main building, which are under the restaurant, can get a bit hot and stuffy, but you get what you pay for.
As far as the beds being hard, we use spring mattrasses, which cost more then any other type of mattress you can get in Thailand. Besides that, a hotel mattress will always be too hard for one person, and too soft for somebody else.
Khao Lak is an extremely humid area, so especially outside walls will show marks left by the climate. We will give them a new lick of paint though, thanks for the suggestion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

Our little bungalow was quite spacious, private bathroom, no air-conditioning but mosquito nets, little terrace, all in all pretty clean; it's very close to the beach and little restaurants.
The owner will help find you anything you need and you can reach most of the places with a rented bike!
For us, it was perfect!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed in Amsterdam resort for two nights in early Oct. Owner Kees was very helpful, gave us a home made guide book with descriptions of local sites with detailed directions. Also sorted us out scooter rental and gave us a lift to the bus stop when we left.
The bungalows are spacious with all you need (double bed, a/c or fan, hot shower, etc) but although the bedding was clean, the whole place felt like it needed a good deep clean. Room was dusty, bathroom grubby and didn't smell too sweet. Also needed re grouting as worms came up from the spaces between the floor tiles after using the shower. During our stay bar was closed, looked like some work was being done on it. Can probably put some of these negatives down to it being off season, but at 600B a night for an a/c room and 150B a day for scooter hire its hard to complain.
Being on a tight budget, for us price came first and unless we came into some money I would stay at the Amsterdam resort again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK_couple2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The owner is very helpful and friendly. The rooms are reasonably spacious, clean and well-equipped. Honestly, in terms of the price, the place is steal! At the end of the lane, just round the corner, you even have the option of hiring bicycles and roaming the town...was a lot of fun! There is also a queue of bars and restaurants along the beach, barely a 10min walk...I would strongly recommend this place to anyone who intends to stay at Khao lak..

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrupaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

It's ten minutes walk from the beach, and ten minutes from the main strip, but it's simple clean and nice. The best bit is definitely the helpful owner who can tell you lots. Rooms are good value, but you get what you pay for! They are a bit dark and hot, but there is a verandah with chairs.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
3.9 km away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
0.5 km away
Ayara Villas
Ayara Villas
#42 of 70 in Khao Lak
169 reviews
6.3 km away
Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
KhaoLak Blue Lagoon Resort
4.5 km away
Lake View Bungalows
Lake View Bungalows
#3 of 52 in Khao Lak
101 reviews
2.6 km away
Khaolak Yama Resort
Khaolak Yama Resort
#4 of 52 in Khao Lak
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Resort

Address: 56/6 Moo5, Tambon Khukkhak | Amper Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Khao Lak
Price Range: RM58 - RM125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low budget resort 200 meters from Bang Niang Beach. The resort features a variety of bungalows, and rooms in the main building. There is a breezy open air restaurant on the second floor, which offers Thai and international food. There is an attached travel agency, and there are motorcycles for rent. Free wireless internet, or the internet room can be used for a charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing