We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$77
View deal
Expedia.com
US$105
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/12/21
Agoda.com
US$71
View deal
Hotels.comUS$105
PricelineUS$89
Destinia.comUS$149
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,240)
Filter reviews
3,240 results
Traveller rating
2,014
930
196
58
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,014
930
196
58
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews floating market family room pool access family resort beach side sandals gym aqua pools khao thailand cocktails wing sunbeds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,136 - 1,141 of 3,240 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We read the Trip Advisor reviews and expected this to be a real luxury hotel.
It was fine, but not exceptions.

The good things were:
- rooms are spacious
- rooms are clean
- rooms are air conditioned.
- two pools

The disappointing things are:
- staff attentiveness is lacking
- food is repetitive
- entertainment can be poor

The evening meals are fine, but it is the same menu day after day. We were staying for 10 days. After 3 days the food was the same and we were feeling underwhelmed, so despite being half board we ate out in Khao Lak (which we'd recommend) for the remaining days.

The staff again were fine, but not great. We had to wait 40 minutes at one evening meal from ordering to food. I appreciate not many people will be in a great rush, but with two small children, this type of wait can be a problem.

One evening we tried the second restaurant near the beach, but were told that it was booked up. Now we attended in low season, there were plenty of tables. So likely there were not enough staff on, which suggest bad planning.

There is entertainment in the evening, Some of this is good (fire jugglers and band) but there was frequently a single thai elderly gentleman singing pop songs, reminiscent of Vic & Bob singing in the 'club style'.

The lady sat at reception was always on her mobile phone - in 10 days I never saw her without it.

Truthfully, this place could be outstanding if the service was improved.

At present it is average. Think a 'thomson-style' family holiday in Thailand, rather than out and out luxury.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CTMcCullough
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

Dear Sir or Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani.
Thank you very much for taking your time to review here on TripAdvisor.com.
We are glad to hear that you had with little exceptions an overall relaxing stay with our services.

With regards to your experiences and feedback we like to thank you.
Your points about attentiveness of the staff and the food variety is noted and will be taken into consideration for further improvements. Thank you very much for bringing up this points to our attention and we are looking forward to welcome you again.

Warm regards from Khao Lak,

Alexander Hopf
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We had two double rooms for our family and we bought an upgrade for a room with pool acces, which was not really cheap, but worth the money. Rooms were clean and big enough. Coffeemaker and complimentary water, umbrella and flip flops in the room.
Breakfast was okay, pool snacks not really good. my daughter got sick from a hamburger...
pools are okay, Massage and spa are okay, fitness room is well equipped and you have beach access (not for wheelchair).
we were there in the raintime and it rained every day, but - we also got a nice tan ;-)

Room tip: ask for the pool rooms
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Dear Sir or Madam,

The team of The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, sincerely thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time here.

We are looking forward to welcome you again, and wish you and your family all the best. Warm greetings from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Alexander Hopf
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

My wife and I recently spent 8 nights at the resort booking an upgrade package through luxury escape. Even though we didm;t take advantage of all the options we were both very happy with all aspects of the resort. Food and drink prices are very reasonable and it is conveniently located to many other restaurants if you don't just want to eat at the resort.
The nightly cocktail list could be a bit more extensive in the package but with regular happy hour at 110 baht there are plenty of options.
Massages were great and the staff couldn't have been nicer.
Even though it was monsoon season they put on extra activities when it rains but it never rains for long.
Would definitely consider returning again.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidcN3173KA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Dear Sir or Madam,

The team of The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, sincerely thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time here.

Your point about the cocktail variety of the package is noted and will be taken as idea for further considerations.

We are looking forward to welcome you again, and wish you and your family all the best. Warm greetings from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Alexander Hopf
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Very good room near reception. Large rooms with a balcony, room 3031 a bit far from the pools but closer to the entrance and a short walk up to the town. I thought the resort spa prices were a bit pricey but probably on par with a 4 and 1/2 star resort. A separate adults pool was very good and pool bar staff very nice and cheerful.
English for some is a bit of a problem but they will only improve. All in all a very relaxing time away from Patong and Phuket crowds. Would recommend for a nice relaxing break from work. Restaurant for breakfast was terrific with a good range of options. Would recommend smile restaurant up in the main street for a terrific meal and terrific service. free garlic breads and a free shot at the end of the meal was a nice touch.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warwick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Dear Sir or Madam,

The team of The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, sincerely thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time here and enjoyed the breakfast bufett very much.

We hope to welcome you again soon, and wish you and your family all the best. Warm greetings from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Alexander Hopf
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We stayed for a week and purchased an upgraded Luxury Escapes package deal that included daily massages, drinks, breakfast ect.
Overall this was a Very Good resort and we would be back again. (In fact we're about to stay at the Katahani in Puket for a week)

Our room was in a good location overlooking the Adult pool on the bottom floor which meant whilst our young children were sleeping we could chill out on the balcony and go off for a swim or food ect whilst the other stayed on the balcony. If you've got children that sleep during the day I recommend requesting a bottom floor room for this purpose.
The location is right on the beach that is however a little dangerous if you're not an experienced swimmer.

The food was also very good, our package included buffet breakfast which was changing daily and was always a good mix of food for different tastes. We did dine in the Italian restaurant (I think it was) right on the beach however we thought it was pretty average.
Our package included a few dinners also which we chose the buffet option which was very good and the theme of the food changes each night so there is also a very good variety to choose from.
The service in the restaurant was excellent however sometimes a little slow if you wanted another drink.

There were 2 pools an adult pool and also a family pool. The adult pool was for over 15yr olds or similar age and children were not allowed in there so was nice to escape and go in there. The pool is however heated which is absolutely stupid. Apparently the older people prefer it that way however you're left literally sweating in there after a while which sucks!
The family pool has a slide that goes into the pool and also water features that squir into different areas of the pool. There's also a shallow wading pool for younger kids and then also a smaller pool off to the side for toddlers.

The kids club was awesome and one older Thai lady in there spoke perfect English and just loves her job and the kids. If you're children are over 4 you can leave them in the kids club while you go and adult for the day. (Can't wait!)

The resort also offers baby sitting services which are either the room service girls or the waitresses from the restaurants. This wasn't too expensive however we only did it on the one night so that we could eat with 2 hands at the restaurant instead of children hanging off us.
Our package also included cocktails however after a couple we didn't even bother getting them anymore they weren't very nice at all and i'm not usually one to turn down free alcohol.
They do have a happy hour daily which ran for 2 hours I think so we got our drinks then and used the fridge in the room to keep other drinks we purchased from the convenience store that were to our taste.

We got massages daily in our package and they were a bit hit and miss once I found a good massage therapist i'd request her which happened after a few days. However some massages I had weren't very good. The setting for the massages is very nice in the corner of the resort on the beach overlooking the water.

The room was spacious and included a lounge. The bathroom was big and had a bath tub in their which was good for the kids and then a soaking for the adults of a night.
We did look at a family room thinking of moving in their however it was pretty much identical to the room we had minus a dividing screen across one section where the kids slept. You couldn't watch TV without the kids also watching in this room so we cancelled that idea.

The location is good a little set back from the road but an easy walk which we did a few times a day. There is a pancake shop just past the top of the driveway which comes alive of a night as well as numerous other shops and restaurants which are a lot more active of a night time.

The fitness centre is good with a heap of equipment similar standard to what your own gym would have which was good to have.

There is a good restaurant to the right of the resort if you're on the beach called Peter Bar you can eat dinner on the beach and is very well priced we ate here a fair bit and got takeaway a few nights as well to eat back at the room.

We also did a cocktail class which was one cocktail and one mocktail i'm glad this was included in our package as I would have been disappointed if i'd paid for it.

The resort is about an 1.5hr drive from Phuket airport we had transfers included one way and then arranged the others once we were in Khao Lak through a company in town which was much cheaper then hotel transfers
There were a few downfalls of the resort but nothing major such as getting woken up at 0545 by the phone in the room and then it hanging up (with young kids our sleep is precious) this woke our children up which meant an early start to the day.

Overall we did love our time here and would definitely back to stay again.
We're about to visit their other resort in Phuket in a few days for a week.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twindadtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Dear Sir or Madam,

we, the team of The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, sincerely thank you for your good and comprehensive review. We are very glad to hear that you had an overall relaxing stay in our hotel.

I thank you very much for your entire feedback.
Regarding to your feedback about the temperature of the pool i like to tell that we don't use a heater. The temperature is naturally influenced. Your feedback about the nightly cocktails and the cocktail lessen is documented and will be taken into consideration for further improvement.

We are looking forward to welcome you again and wish you all the best.
Warm greetings from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Alexander Hopf
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews