We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem in an outskirt”
Review of The Fish Kitchen

The Fish Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 273 Restaurants in Hat Yai
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Please check our facebook site for events and holidays!! We offer authentic Thai and Isan cuisine at very reasonable prices. All dishes are prepared fresh, or as you may say " a la minute". We specialize in the preparation of snapper and sea bass. Our restaurant is a little bit away from the noisy down town of Hat Yai. You can order by phone as well, and pick up your food a little later. We are very happy, that our customers keep on coming back. They must have a reason to do so. If you come to buy your food "to go" bring - if you can - your own tupper ware just to avoid more waste.
Reviewed 27 December 2016

you need to chart a tuttut for a return trip and ask the driver to call the restaurant ahead as the location is way out of town, the eatery is a few kilometres away, the route is quite bumpy, but the food is excellent: my personal rating-the best tomyam in Hatyai, with at least 4 types of chilli, not chilli paste, fresh fish prawn and squid and without stinging hot, other dishes are deep fried 'tilapia' fish and three flavoured fried fish, the only letdown is the local cooking of vegetables doesn't suite our Malaysian taste, the lady proprietor A Zhen is sweet, and she can speak fluent Mandarin (she has been in Taiwan)

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lianhuamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2016

The food was very good indeed. Unfortunately they can only serve us one fish as they running out of stock. Very friendly and worth the driving!

Will highly recommend for their fried pork and steam fish.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WeiL194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suphalak, Owner at The Fish Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Thank you for your comment. I am sorry, that we ran out of stock this day. It normally happens rarely. Sometimes we have a lot of guests ordering fish. But we rather run out of fish, than keep it overnight, as we buy our fish on the market ever morning fresh. If you come with a group, please give us a call a day ahead, and will have enough fresh fish for you. You are mostly welcome to come back, and we will have enough fish stocked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

It is a little out of the way, I got to know this place through Trip Advisor , because the rating is 5 star. So I give it a try.

Generally food is Average, and not cheap, u can get same type of food in city area.

It will be cheaper and no need to take a tuk tuk there which cost a additional 350 baths round trip.

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank patrickpY8226WK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suphalak, Owner at The Fish Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

You can take the local Song taeo to Big C Extra and from there a motorcycle taxi. That would be 60THB, one way. For the way back we can arrange transportation. When you have a look at the other comments, I wonder how you can consider our food as average and not cheap. May be it was just your mood this day, caused by the loss of 350 THB for the Tuk Tuk. Welcome back for another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

This place basically is out from busy town, a place where you can have a relaxing minds and apetite to dine with.

Food are tasty and fresh with friendly boss and staff. The lady boss speaks well mandarin. I was amazed by the local LEO beer being served come with a chill mug... what a heaven !!

It's highly recommended and give yourself a chance to experience this restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2016
2  Thank henzingc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suphalak, Owner at The Fish Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Thank you for your comment, and welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

Excellent Thai food...esp Tom Yam...authentic taste...place was nice with bamboo style table and chairs.. Staff was very friendly

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank 95ashutoshg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fish Kitchen also viewed

Hat Yai, Songkhla Province
Hat Yai, Songkhla Province
 
Hat Yai, Songkhla Province
Hat Yai, Songkhla Province
 

Been to The Fish Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.