We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful”
Review of Maharaja

Maharaja
Ranked #530 of 814 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Indian & Thai food restauarr near Hilton Hotel
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

Ate at this restaurant last night & have nothing positive to say about it. The service was cold, to say the least. Entree was served AFTER our main courses which was just as well, as the mains were full of meat we would not even feed our dog. 90% fatty rubbish. Inedible. My night was finished off with a food poisoning type reaction a couple of hours later - violent vomiting and stomach cramps. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Bearza76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2017

Last year 2016 we had a meal at the Maharaja restaurant and we were a table of 8 people. The menu was quite extensive and the service and the time to present the meal was reasonable, but was surprising that the restaurant was quite empty even though it was approximately 2000 hours.
This year 2017 we the group do like Indian cuisine and decided to try the Maharaja restaurant once again. However on hind sight we should have left as firstly there were no other patrons in the restaurant and only when we found out that the waiter who served us and we had placed our order was also the chef and I presume the chief bottle washer as well. Basically two of us had the Curry meal which was OK but unfortunately the other three had a mediocre meal and one of the group having ordered a chicken dish was dry and tasteless.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank 128howard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Should have know better as the place was almost empty and it was a Saturday night that is not a good sign for obvious reasons. Naans not cooked in a tandoor very thin and almost cracker like, ordered tikka masala not sure what we got but was definately not tikka masala, rice was over cooked & local rice not basmati, tandoori chicken overcooked and dry. If this is the best they can do they should close.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Located near the beach, the restaurant is decorated in traditional Indian style and serves Indian Food and drinks.

Service is good and prices are reasonable.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TAIN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Return visit was a disappointment.On arrival only 3 other tables taken and no one seemed rushed. It took 20 minutes to get 2 beers, a diet drink and a bottle of water.
Ordering the meal was also painfully slow with the waiter seemingly not able to understand English and even when ordering by numbers from the menu could offer little or no guidance as to availability of accompanying sauces or side dishes.
On the plus side 2 of us had a very nice Chicken Masala ordered as medium spicy and that is what we got but the two Chiken Tandori meals with no available accompaniments was try and not nice.
The overall meal took nearly 45 minutes to arrive and considering how quiet the restaurant was I could not recommend this if you visit at a busy weekend time

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GVC1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maharaja also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Maharaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing