We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel for Backpackers!”
Review of Pak-Up Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pak-Up Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The best thing about Krabbi was this hostel! As much as i didn't enjoy the town i thoroughly enjoyed staying at Pak-up. Nice chilled out, clean and good washing facilities. The beds were a little hard but you get a good nights sleep. Very secure with under bed lockers. Great place to meet other travelers and good location to the pier and town. Non air-con rooms get extremely hot so would definitely stay in an air con room next time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gizzigog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 743 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

Just staying here for to nights. Arrived from Phuket yesterday, that I didn't like at all. This place is amazing, friendly staff, nice atmosphere, cheap food and probably the best hostel I could ever imagine! I'm here alone backpacking and actually I've talked to about twenty people the first night here - all in the same boat as myself. At the top of the building they have a night bar with cheap beers for about 70 Bath each. So what's more to say - cheap accommodation and probably the best place for a backpacker here! Just visit this place!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kasper-Hz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Just stayed one night here as i missed a ferry out of krabi town. Im glad i did because krabi town is quite nice for food, meeting people and this hostel. I walked around for quite some time at around 7pm trying to find a hostel but most were booked. I came across this place and book a room pronto. comfy bed and clean rooms. great showers too. A nice rooftop bar where you can mingle and meet other solo'ers. Its a shame i only had 1 night here but i was short on time.

Room Tip: All rooms are themed and each bed has a different theme name. nerdy but cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakeIsaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This is a great Hostel! Now, I'm not a hostel person - I've only ever stayed in hotels before this. I like had the opinion that hostels were all dirty dumps full of grubby little teenage travelers making a load of noise but this hostel changed my mind!

The reception and open plan area downstairs was modern, cool and open plan. The staff spoke english and were helpful. Computer terminals were available downstairs. Out the back was a patio area with bar and a pool table. This was closed however when we were there which was a shame but I again put that down to us traveling in the low season. There is a roof terrace bar which was really good! They had live music on and it was open late. Nicer than some of the bars on the street!

My friends and I were in a 4 bed dorm and it was really big! The beds were good quality, strong and didn't squeak when you turned over. Our room was at the side and we didn't hear any noise from outside. The bathrooms and toilet areas were spotless and there was a little laundry at the back to wash and dry your clothes! 40 Baht for 6kg of washing which is brilliant for backpackers.

My only gripes are that they charged you for use of the computer terminals which was a shame because the WiFi wasn't working. It cost me an extra 100 baht to use the computers over my stay. Also, no breakfast included but there was a little cafe place 1 minute walk away which was nice and cheap enough. Overall, I enjoyed it there and have stayed in hostels after this throughout my trip so thanks PAK UP!

Room Tip: Look before you pay.. and a large dorm doesn't mean less room - you sometimes get more space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This was my first experience of a hostel so although I wasn't expecting much i was very pleasantly surprised. The reception is quite modern - with friendly staff who were really helpful. There are beanbags and a tv so you can chill, as well as internet which you have to pay for. The decor is really nice and modern. Each dorm has a 'theme' and each bed has a name, ours was places in Thailand. The room was a reasonable size with a big lockable cupboard underneath. They were 10 bed dorms but it didn't feel cramped and they weren't all full when we stayed - and you could pick whatever bed you wanted to sleep in! There were english plugs right by the beds which was really handy for charging. And FREE WIFI! which makes all the difference when your travelling.
The bathrooms were minimal but clean and quite funky, and some even had free shampoo and conditioner to use. There a terrace where you could chill and a bar with a pool table, it was pretty quiet when we went but i'm sure in peak season there would be some cool nights.
Overall it was beyond what I had imagined I would 100% recommend it and would definitely stay there again! There are loads of nice places to eat reasonably close, as well as a night market with loads of funky stalls and cheap food. There are travel agents all over the place, within walking distance although you can get all your information and even book at reception!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knowltona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krabi Town hotels
0.4 km away
Hop Inn Krabi
Hop Inn Krabi
#46 of 185 in Krabi Town
140 reviews
9.7 km away
Slumber Party Hostel and Bar
0.0 km away
Slumber Party at The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
K-Bunk Hostel
K-Bunk Hostel
#4 of 144 in Ao Nang
209 reviews
10.1 km away
Pop-In Hostel
Pop-In Hostel
#3 of 144 in Ao Nang
163 reviews
0.4 km away
Hogwarts Hostel
Hogwarts Hostel
#8 of 28 in Pak Nam
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pak-Up Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pak-Up Hostel

Address: 87 Utarakit Rd. | Paknam Subdistrict, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 337 Speciality Lodging in Krabi Town
Price Range: RM62 - RM175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pak-Up Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thousands of real reviews with a consistently high rating and numerous features in travel blogs around the world recommend us as a top global hostel suggests you are in the right place. Since opening, we have won many an award such as voted ‘Top 3 Hostels in Asia’ by hostelbookers. Book now to see why and experience what we are about: Pak Up quickly created a reputation for being where the buzz is, the most energetic and dynamic place in the area. Our lobby is normally full of backpackers making plans and forging new friendships. Since opening in 2010, Pak Up is the biggest in Krabi. It was the first hostel to open in Krabi Province and remains to this day as the ultimate place to stay. Pak Up could not be better located occupying the main corner in the heart of Krabi Town surrounded by various local markets. Pak Up is a point of transfer including local buses and a boat service to Railey. What more could you want! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Pak-Up Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pak-Up Hotel Krabi Town
Pak-Up Hostel Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing