We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Khao Khanap Nam Cave
from US$101.39
More Info
from US$74.35
More Info
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
36
21
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
36
21
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews krabi river worth a visit rock formations chao symbol fa caves sunset
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Mr J took me, my husband and two sons in his long tail boat from the pier with the large crab sculpture, to the caves which were fascinating and his knowledge of their history made the visit extra special. He also took us into the mangroves where we saw a family of monkeys close up. Half way through the trip he provided us with water, beer and fruit before taking us to a floating fishery and restaurant where we feasted on an absolutely delicious meal including fresh fish straight from the river. Everyone was polite, warm and friendly. The two hour trip (which was actually more like 3) cost 1200 baht for 4 and I would highly recommend this trip

Date of experience: June 2016
2  Thank Kath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016

We had no idea of what we were going to see when the boatman told us he would take us in his Longtail boat up the river to caves, into the mangroves and to a fish farm for 500 bahts for both of us for an hour. The trip was actually quite a bit longer than that.

There is a wooden landing stage and walkway yo a little kiosk where you pay 30 bahts (I think) for your ticket. The wooden walkway continues over the hot sands but stops some distance short rather inexplicably. There is a quite steep staircase up to the cave but it's worth the climb. The rock formations were very impressive. We could hear bats, but didn't see any. Take care on the surfaces because the sand on rock can be slippy.

There are some cavemen tableaux showing how the caves used to be used, some skeletons and a Soldier scene reminiscent of Indiana Jones and the Raiders of the Lost Ark.

The trip continued through the mangroves and we popped out opposite a floating fish farm and restaurant, and a stilt village. Very good trip.

Date of experience: March 2016
2  Thank DebsTravels123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2015

We stayed a night in Krabi town and walked along the river to the hills (didn't go in the cave unfortunately). The walk from the main part of Krabi town is along a well made footpath with sculptures and lovely views of the river. It took maybe 20 minutes to get there, but you can also hire a longtail which would take you right to the base of the hills. Its a very scenic outlook and unique view of Krabi.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank KGB_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

There seems to be two spellings for these caves one being Khanab and one being Khanap. The only way to reach these caves are by hiring a Longtail Boat at the Krabi Towns Chao Fa Pier and the trip takes about 15 minutes. You disembark at a wooden pier and there is a paved pathway which runs through mangroves up to the entrance of the Eco Park. Regarded as the symbol of Krabi, Khao Khanab Nam are two karsts that are roughly 100 meters tall, separated by the Maenam Krabi River (Shortest River in Thailand) and which are located at the entrance to Krabi Town. The caves are found at the base of the right hand karst and has the same name. The Eco park has some interesting formations with one looking exactly like a skull. The caves are located high above ground level and there is a man made staggered staircase which gives access to the caves. There are large stalactites and stalagmites to be found within the caves in addition to exhibits of Japanese soldiers and equipment (These caves were used during the war as a base) and also some of the archaeological finds and cave paintings that have been discovered here from ancient settlements. A large number of human skeletons have been found in these caves and it is thought that they are the remains of people who lived here at one time but were cut of by flooding and perished. This trip can be combined with a visit by boat to the adjacent mangrove forests where there is abundant bird life and macaque monkeys and the Ko Klang fishing village where one can see, feed and hold turtles and puffer fish. Fishing in the estuary can also be arranged. An interesting worthwhile half day visit

Date of experience: September 2015
7  Thank J0hnWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2020 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews