We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
31
15
10
3
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
15
10
3
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chalong pier peace and tranquility long tail boat high tide hammocks bungalow beachside thailand mosquitoes patong
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

We first visited Baan Mai in 2011 with a group of friends and liked it so much we returned seven years later with a smaller group. Unfortunately, the place has had no up keep in that time. We had booked for seven nights and ended up only staying three as it was intolerable. It was disappointing that we forfeited $160/night. The beachfront rooms were riddled with termites with their dust settling over everything including our toothbrushes. The door and fly screen door do not open and close without significant effort, the curtains are so old they are almost brittle and do not close properly, the mosquito net was so dusty we had to tuck it away as the smell was terrible. On our second day we were asked if we wanted the room cleaned, we said just towels will do which we never got and we weren’t asked again. There are cats everywhere and whilst they help with the rat population they laze in the restaurant including on the tables that you eat from (and in the kitchen). The pool is green. Yes, it has green tiles but there is visible algae settled on the steps and sides. It is not properly maintained as they suggest. It was the same in 2011 though. The pool lounges are so old and dirty they are unusable. There are coconut trees everywhere which look nice but they do not remove the coconuts so they drop sporadically posing a serious safety issue. The worst thing however is that they turn the power off just after breakfast each day to save money on generator fuel ,about 9am, and don’t turn it on again until 5pm. Therefore no aircon and no fridge AND no running water as the water pump needs power. When we were there the pump broke so we had no water in the evening. They let the guests share a shower which somehow still had some water. My husband and I take regular medicine which all went soft as it was so humid and no aircon or fridge to keep it cool. One of our friends had their aircon break down in the middle of the night. After sweating all night they were moved the next day. They claim to be 4 star, I think 1 star is being generous. On a positive note, the food is nice home cooking. Maow (one of the two sisters operating the place) does a commendable effort in preparing and cooking the food. The beds are very comfortable. Lone Island is very quiet and untouched so great if that’s what you want. Just make sure you don’t pay more than about $60-$80, as that’s all it’s worth and be prepared to rough it a bit. Don’t forget your beach shoes as there is a lot of dead coral. The place needs some serious money spent on it to bring it up to even a three star standard. They also need to monitor and respond to emails.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

The location of the hotel is superb, it is very nicely integrated into the area so it does not feel as a mass concrete resort (compared to the other hotel option available on this island where we visited just to have a lunch).

The standard beach bungalow has a working air con, fridge and the "interesting" bathroom outside where you will get lots of mosquitoes - so bring the anti-insect spray or you can also ask at the reception for the smoking anti-insect - which helps a lot. In general there are a lot of insects, birds, some cats around so if that is not your thing do not go here.

The food is very good and the price is around 1.5x compared to Phuket (e.g. Pad Thai 180 / 300 / 450 THB depending on size but the smallest was fairly sufficient for us).
For us the surprise was the price on the final receipt of items where we did not ask for the price upfront and which are not listed in the menu (e.g. all beverages) where price was around 2-2.5x compared to Phuket (1.5l water 80 THB / coconut 100 THB). Also we had the suspicious that some other guests were charged less for the same unlisted items - so if you want to be sure how much you are going to spend ask for the price upfront.

There is a 3 times a day free boat to Chalong Pier. You can swim in the sea when there is a high tide (from 6 PM to 1 PM +/-) .

Room Tip: if you do not like insects, choose the bungalow or villa which has the covered bathroom
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

We stayed in The beachfront Vila, super , two deckchairs and a hammock outside on the beach, the room was clean and fresh water in bottles was left with tea and coffee. Food at the restaurant plenty and beautifully prepared and the staff friendly, especially Dennie, the swimming pool is in a delightful tropical garden setting. one thing to be aware of, although the hotel said it had free transport from the pier, we were approached by a man saying, were we going to Baan mai hotel, we said yes, and he said he would take us there for 1800B , not so the transfer was free from the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank globetrotter820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

we booked same day as we arrived late to the hotel around 19.00 and we called the hotel multiple Times to arrange the boat trip to the hotel. once we arrive the receptionist tell us we can Only stay one night even tho we had Hotel confirmation for 2 nights... she could have said anything while we were on our way but she would rather trick us out to the Island stay there for 3 hours go to sleep and then check out and end up on the streets. we however slept in the big villa wich was dirty overall. expensive food and mediocre food. terrible service from reception. after this nightmare experience we were glad we only stayed 1 night...

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaanMaiPhuket, ผู้จัดการ at Baan Mai Beachfront Lone Island, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear Edward Sundell and Friends

Thank you for your reviewed

Regarding to Booking ID 253880645 Check in 12 - 14 February 2018 by Agoda

First of all , We do apologize for any inconvenience from reception because she just informed you that

Normally We provide free shuttle boat transfer everyday at Chalong pier

from mainland to resort (9.00,12.00,15.00) or latest time 17.00 hrs

from resort to mainland (8.00,11.00,14.00)

out of schedule time we do extra charge 500 THB/way/person

Your booking was made on 17.00 hrs 12 Feb 2018 and you called us need pick up time around 18.30 hrs.

So the boat will take a bit time to be there because it's out of schedule time

However we do not charge for boat transfer from them anymore

Secondly , We do apologize for misunderstanding from our reception because you made booking 2 nights not 1 night

We would love to informed you that our resort is on the island , All of ingredients have to be brought from mainland. In addition we cooked fresh foods by fresh seafood , Vegetable everyday not made from Frozen food.

Food safety is an important part of our kitchen. Cleanliness and Sanitation of the kitchen is the most priority of our restaurant

We also have Housekeeping department who checked the room before guest arrival. if it's not acceptable please let our staff know before you slept overnight.


Thank you and Best Regards
Baan Mai Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

A place with huge potential for those seeking the easy life on a secluded beach (note: stones, not sand), but there's a mix of tired management and rude tourists that occasionally gives an unwelcoming vibe. The only option for a restaurant is crazy expensive compared to normal prices in Thailand, 2-300% of normal prices. The average 120 BHT curry will cost you 400 BHT. A bottle of water 120 BHT, a big Chang 230 BHT. The food is ok, but you have to see past the fact that you are being ripped off once you a trapped on the island.

The staff is friendly and helpful, but the service at the restaurant needs some improvement.

There's something about the boat, your connection to the outside world. There's a free boat 3 times a day (both back and forth), last one going to the island at 5 pm. It's a bit unclear whether you can ask for boats at other time and at what cost. The announced cost is 500 BHT per person per way.

The silence on the island at night is lovely. As the last free boat goes to the island at 5 pm you are also forced to stay at the island every night - and dine at the restaurant.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Traveller_365247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews