We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view but the rest is horrible”
Review of Boardwalk Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alexandria Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boardwalk Motel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Reviewed 29 July 2012

First thought was a possible bate-and-switch when in the middle of booking the room, the woman said she was sorry, what she described wasn't $120, but $190. Well, we were last minute and it was my birthday so we took it. The location was great, a direct view of Boldt Castle and all the activities of the excursion boats, and from our "private dock" on our end unit (#9) we enjoyed the activities of all the boats and even live music from the Riveredge nextdoor. I the unheated pool was clean and perfect for cooling off (no towels provided) That's about all we enjoyed. The jacuzzi - an ancient jetted tub oddly squeezed into the bathroom; the fridge was frosted over. The bed was soft and dipped in the middle, the sheets were not fitted and came off all night; I sat in the sofa and sunk down about 2 ft, the floor was on a major tilt. NO toiletries but a waxy little wafer of soap, no extra toilet paper. No hairdryer, no iron. Coffee was in a ziploc bag. Worst yet - the sliding door did not lock and the chain lock screws were falling out of the frame. The door is jalousied glass with an unattractive plywood backing. Yeah, we feel very ripped off. No money or care is put back into this place. The shame is it has this great location with dockage and it is a dump.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whirlaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 125 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

My wife and I stayed there with 6 other couples. It's not the Ritz,but we didn't pay for the Ritz.The rooms were clean and the staff was pleasant.If anyone needed extra towels etc they were provided quickly. My wife has a bad back and the bed was a bit hard for her they brought us extra comforters and blankets so she could sleep better. We could hear people coming in late,but there was no loud parties. It was quite quiet after 11. The location is great, you can walk to most resturants and nightlife. They provide grills if you wish to cook out and docks if you come by boat. I feel it was very good value. It's not for snobs,but bang for the buck it's hard to beat.

Room Tip: Room number 9 has a deck overlooking the river. Its a bit bigger as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob_Cody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

07/15/12: Just got home from a four day stay at the Boardwalk. Rooms are old and worn. Beds are soft. Furniture totally outdated. Really needs a total rehab. Went of owner looking for ice-bucket and was told they do not supply, but we could walk down the street and buy a cooler. Asked about ice machine and was told they did not have one, BUT: we could buy ice from him. Gee, isn't that interesting......
Owner charged credit card for four nights stay five hours before we even arrived. Not very professional as I see it. Made is sound like he was doing us a favor. Rooms are overpriced. Would recommend looking at The Ship Motel or Otter Creek Inn or if you would like something better; seek the Thompson.
Bottom line, serves me right for not taking an overnight ride and inspecting this place before my group made our reservations.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jp3026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Never would stay again- Ah where to begin.
The bed is as hard as a rock you wont sleep- The drunks outside on the deck and swimming until 3am will also keep you awake.
This motel is such a piece of crap you think the staff would be nice- They are completely rude every last one of them. $120 a night is a joke.
The bathroom kept backing up and overflowing, The water in the shower sucked it kept going from hot to freezing every other minute.
Big big nasty black spiders in the room bugs everywhere Can you say bed bugs- Bring your own sheets and blankets and then burn them afterwards
Tiny tiny tv
It was just a bad experience all around thank god we only stayed for 1 night
STAY FAR AWAY

Room Tip: Go to the Riversedge seriously its right next door to this bug invested dump so much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki2793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

This was my husbands and my first trip to alex bay we went with friends who have been going to the board walk motel for years. It was okay were going to stay again next year. Not a bad price to stay. And we enjoyed the time we spent there we didn't spend alot of time in the room. but hey were on vaction why spend to much time on the room. If you want to stay in your room stay home.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank relaxed32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria Bay
0.1 km away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#6 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
580 reviews
17.1 km away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
0.4 km away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Rock Ledge Motel
Rock Ledge Motel
#1 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
212 reviews
0.2 km away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
396 reviews
0.5 km away
Otter Creek Inn
Otter Creek Inn
#2 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Motel

Address: 41 Walton St, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607-1404
Region: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Price Range: RM 235 - RM 1,370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Hotel Alexandria Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing