We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Otter Creek Inn
Nearby Hotels
Bonnie Castle Resort(Alexandria Bay)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riveredge Resort(Alexandria Bay)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rock Ledge Motel(Alexandria Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capt. Thomson's Resort(Alexandria Bay)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ship Motel(Alexandria Bay)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capt.'s Inn & Suites(Alexandria Bay)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveller rating
253
110
28
12
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
253
110
28
12
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalex bayrooms are cleanquiet locationgreat hostsoff the beaten pathpleasant staygreat place to staythe riverwalking distancesmall refrigeratorclose to downtownlocation is greatboldt castledebbieottersdockboat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 421 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017

This was a repeat performance - I’ve stayed there before and it’s always been great. Clean room, great hosts, most reasonable room prices in A-Bay itself. It’s right on the water, there’s plenty of parking. It’s only three blocks from the downtown center; close enough to walk, far enough way to be peaceful and quiet when it’s bed time. What’s not to love???

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wmorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCIABay, Owner at Otter Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Recently stayed here for one night. The owner was friendly and helpful, giving us a map and noting things in the area we might be interested in. The location is great, an easy walk to the main street where the restaurants and shops are, and the boat tours are right there, too.. If not for the owner's advice, we would have missed our favorite part of the visit -- a nice-sized riverfront park just beyond the downtown and next to the hospital. It is gorgeous, especially in the evening with all the colors of the sunset displayed over the river. And it was just as nice the next morning, when we went back for another look. The hotel room is very basic, but also spotlessly clean and comfortable enough for a night or two. It does have a small refrigerator which was appreciated, and coffee was available at the office. This is not a luxury hotel, but a solid choice for $90 a night. One warning, the waterfront area at the Inn is not as scenic as pictures might lead you to believe. For scenic views, just walk on over to the park.

Stayed: September 2017
2  Thank nannyg264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

THIS IS A WARNING ABOUT OTTER CREEK'S CANCELLATION POLICY: YOU WILL BE CHARGED $20 EACH FOR EVERY ROOM FOR EVERY CANCELLATION NO MATTER WHAT! IF YOU CANCEL WITHIN SEVEN DAYS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FULL PRICE FOR EVERY ROOM. THAT MEANS THE FACILITIES RECEIVES DOUBLE PAYMENT IF THEY BOOK THE ROOMS AGAIN. Due to illness we had to cancel our reservations for three rooms, which we did more than a week in advance. When I made the reservations, they're wording was rather unclear, especially since I had never encountered such a policy in all the years of making hotel reservations. In the E-mail the wording was equally unclear. They claim that it's a long standing policy. I don't know about you, but I see nothing fair about paying $60 for a 5 minute interaction. I was willing to pay $10 for their inconvenience, but they still charged me $60.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank tiogactc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCIABay, Owner at Otter Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

When this man made reservations for three (3) rooms. He was asked if he really wanted to do that, as we would hold the rooms for the other two parties to make their own reservations. He said yes, he would be responsible for all three rooms. Our policies are simple and stated below. We have had tens of thousands of guests over the years that have had no difficulty with our policies. When he cancelled the reservations, he said he couldn't get his friends to agree on a date. As it turns out, we were unable to fill all three rooms that were cancelled (we turned potential guests away as we were fully booked with this reservation). According to our policy, stated on our website, as well as Booking.com and Expedia, he could have been charged for the one night deposit (not the full price) on all three rooms with no refunds totalling $299.70. Our policies are nothing unusual. We did the best we could for this cancelled reservation.

Otter Creek Inn Policies:
Otter Creek Inn offers a AAA and Senior Discount as well as a long term discount that will be applied at check-in (please indicate in message area). Any discounts will be applied to direct bookings only.
Children 12 years old and younger stay free. Price will be adjusted on arrival.
We have a 2-3 night minimum on weekends in our High Season (mid-June thru mid-Sept), ie. Th-Fri, Fri-Sat or Sat-Sun.
If you are bringing a boat, please indicate in message area the total length of the boat. Dockage or storage fees will be applied at check-in. We will contact you if we can't accommodate the boat.
Sorry, but we do not allow pets.
Check-in is from 1 PM - 9 PM unless other arrangements have been made with management.
A one night deposit is required per room with the balance due on arrival.
A $20 administration/cancellation fee will be applied to each room reservation up to 7 days prior. For cancellations made inside the 7 days, the required 1 night deposit per room is non-refundable.
If you are booking more than 3 rooms, a 2 week cancellation notice is required along with a non-refundable deposit on each room.
We only accept cancellations by telephone, 315-482-5248.
Our facilities are for registered and paid guests only.
No visitors between 10 PM and 8 AM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights while doing a local antique show. The motel has pluses and minuses. The rooms are spotlessly clean but very plain. The motel is very conveniently located just a short 5 minute walk to the town center. The TV had a good selection of cable or satellite channels. The big plus is the staff. We were checked in by a lovely young lady and the owner was super friendly and helpful. The motel is basic but comfortable.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Bermudaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Very clean hotel. Very nice owner and enjoyed our time there. Very close to downtown but far enough away that it is quiet. Uncle Sam's Boat Tour and Boldt Castle are the two things you must do while you are there.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mirandalcollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews