We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ship Motel
Nearby Hotels
Bonnie Castle Resort(Alexandria Bay)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otter Creek Inn(Alexandria Bay)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riveredge Resort(Alexandria Bay)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
36
21
6
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
21
6
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalking distancebars and restaurantsgreat locationdidnt carerooms are cleanalex baycoffee maker in the roomevery summerno frillsresort townblow dryerriver runwould definitely stay here againbit datedbed was comfortableboat tourlawrence river
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2017

The Ship Motel is not a family friendly place. It's location is a magnet for customers who want to be close to the bars and be able to stagger back to their room. While the rooms are "no smoking" ashtrays are lined up on each window sill just outside the doors and are heavily in use. Walls and ceilings are paper thin so you can hear everything going on in the rooms around and above you. I would not recommend this place unless that is the atmosphere you are looking for. One customer decided to stay an extra night but was told he had to switch rooms and that he would have our room. The customer then informed us the night before he was taking our room at 8:30 am. He continued to harass us the next morning even trying to enter our room while management made minimal steps to stop him. Check out time was not until 11:00 and the harassment continued until we left. We will never go back.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Thank jwheele3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

We rented a room for our friends who were visiting for the night. The room was clean and great furniture. The staff were all so friendly and accommodating. It is close to all restaurants and activities. They had a great stay and we would definitely recommend this hotel for future visits to Alex Bay

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank kathleenmulcahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

This is a great little motel. Clean, affordable and location is great. Ice is available at the front desk, or for purchase, no hair dryers in the rooms but available at the front desk. A little annoying but nothing that would prevent me from going back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Karrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

If it wasn't for the great location to Main Street Alexandria Bay and the easy access to the Boat Cruises we would not recommend this motel. They offered wifi but we never were able to connect on any of our devices. Tiny room, tiny bathroom...no fridge, no microwave, no blow dryer, both beds against the walls the room is so small. It was clean, though.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We have stayed at the Ship during the River Run for the past ten years and already have our reservations for next year. The best location in town for any event. Easy walking distance to restaurants, bars, shops, boat tours etc. Dean and all of the staff are always extremely friendly and helpful. I have recommended the ship to friends and relatives over the years and look forward to staying at the ship for years to come. Clean and comfortable rooms at an affordable price.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _grychpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews