We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveller rating
199
186
116
79
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
186
116
79
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacques cartier boldt castle alex bay the river loft room hotel restaurant off season get away beautiful view outdoor pool nice balcony the wait staff many years the staff was great uncle sam boat tours bistro tiki
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 632 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Riveredge is a great place to have a reception or a corporate meeting. Our coordinator was awesome and very accommodating. It was obvious she has done many many weddings and knew how to make sure everything went off without a hitch. It has great views! However, the rooms need to be renovated. Beds need to updated. We had a great time at our wedding reception. Beautiful views!!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

This was our third time staying at the Riveredge over the past 15 years. The location can't be beat, although if you have a problem with noisily partying guests and loud music outside in the bay, this is probably not the place for you. In the past, we really enjoyed ourselves there, but the Riveredge has not aged well. We had a room on the 4th floor in what is known as the concierge section of the hotel, although there was no concierge and no extra amenities that I could see, except for the lovely stained glass ceiling in the hallway. First, the good aspects: it was spotlessly clean when we arrived; the towels were thick and plentiful; there were extra pillows; the bed was comfortable; there were plenty of mirrors to help get ready in the morning; the wet bar was a nice touch; the furniture was in good shape; the water pressure was fine; the shower gel smelled wonderful; the high ceiling made the room seem airy. Next, the bad: the carpet was stained to the point where I didn't feel comfortable walking in bare feet; the walls were painted-over wallpaper, which was pulling up in spots; the black-out drapes on the window were cracked; the soundproofing was nonexistent (we kept the bathroom fan on all night to help block out the noise from the room next door and hallway); the tile was stained in the bathroom so that it looked dirty even though it wasn't; the air conditioning seemed to have two temperatures--cold and colder--so, not wanting to bury myself under the comforter (which looked a bit seedy), I ended up wearing two layers of clothing and huddling under the one thin extra fleece blanket I found in the closet; and the balcony was not private--there was no gate to separate our balcony from the room next door, which felt really weird and uncomfortable considering that someone was renting that room. One other thing: There was a happy hour in the lounge from 4 to 6, and we arrived downstairs to grab a drink at the lounge at 6:02 precisely. You would think that at a place charging that much for rooms, they would be willing to overlook the two minutes and let us buy a drink, if nothing else than for the sake of good customer relations. But the bartender said that the computers were set up to not allow that and she would get in trouble if she let us buy two drinks two minutes late. So that was kind of tacky--certainly not the kind of thing to leave your guests with warm fuzzies when, with tax, those guests are paying over $300 a night to stay there. So like I said, the location is great. But the resort itself seems stuck in the early 1990s style-wise, and feels more like a Quality Inn than an upscale hotel. It was disappointing overall.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pamela225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

Very beautiful resort, our room however could have used some new carpet & updated plumbing! 4th floor balcony with awesome views. The hotel restaurant was outstanding! Tiki bar a nice touch. This resort overlooks the town, but off that main area, so you have a bit to room to breath. I would recommend staying here.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billie C, Manager at Riveredge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of updating all guest rooms with new flooring, paint, beds, Tv's, ect. and hope to be complete soon. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

My fiancé and I are planning our wedding at Boldt Castle in Alexandria Bay, and we recently visited Riveredge as it is where we will be holding our other wedding events. The staff is friendly and helpful. The event coordinator, Justin Mann, is particularly wonderful and has given us nothing but excellent service since we began working with him almost a year ago. The resort is clean with a beautiful view and within walking distance of the rest of Alex Bay. Some of the facility is a bit dated, but I can tell that improvements and updates are being made. The room for our reception, the Jacques Cartier room, is the most beautiful on the property. The hotel bar stocks several local beers and the bar and even rooms are in the process of being updated and are looking very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billie C, Manager at Riveredge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

My husband and I enjoyed our stay. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Had a 4th floor room overlooking Uncle Sam's boat tours, pool and bay. Loved watching the ships and sunsets on the river. The room could use some updating...but it has old fashion charm...

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LauraC14200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billie C, Manager at Riveredge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews