We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent price/ quality and certainly outstanding service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palace Royal Garden
Ranked #5 of 105 Hotels in Djerba Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2015

this was not our first stay in this hotel and we went back this time because of our good expereinces in the past and because, in this time of the year, Djerba has a nice weather, compared to Europe. The staff at the reception desk was of an utmost kindness and efficiency.
The room was, with seasight, of the superior type and excellent. Well kept, clean, noiceless and comfortable.
The food, although one does not epect gastronomic miracles, was of good standing quality. A nice varietyof easy and simple dishes was more than sufficient to calm hungry eople , lazy after a day of sunbathing. The staff was of an outstanding kindness.
The manager, whom we met, really manages his team and is omnipresent.

Although a holiday resort can never be compared with business hotels, this Riu hotel deserves a five star amongst the holiday resorts we visited all over the world. Moreover, the hotel is still in the original Riu style and not yet in the ridiculous, unpersonal, style you find in the renewed Riu's, mainly on the american continent.

Room Tip: ask a superior room with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank albertbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 947 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2014

Old hotel. Rooms are big and ok. In bathroom only soap in dispenser. No shower gel, no body lotion no sewing kit. Deep bath (dangerous for older people) and very bad shower in bath. We had a superior room with view on the golf. Far away we had a glimpse of the golf court but first we had a view on a roof.
You can take breakfast outside. There are only 8 tables outside. And when the waiter decides you can't eat anymore outside, that's it for that day. Coffee is bad and the bread is also of low quality. The kinds of jam they serve are not good at all.
You can take lunch near the swimming pool or in the buffetrestaurant. We ate every day near the swimming pool and ate almost every day the same. The variation is minimal. Pizza, hamburgers, sandwiches, spaghetti ....
Dinner you can take at the buffetrestaurant or the italian, the Tunisian or fish restaurant. The food in the buffetrestaurant is ok. You have to eat in 2 shifts. We took the second shift but sometimes some dishes cannot be served anymore (not available anymore). For drinking you can choose red, white or rosé wine, water, soda or beer. There is only one brand of wine. We tried one time the Tunisian restaurant. The first dish (typically Tunisian food) was very good but the second dish was not for eating (salmon). Because you have to make reservation (sometimes 2 days before) we were not in the possibility to try the other restaurants. And when we had a look the days we wanted to go, the restaurants were not plenty (lot of tables were free).
Animation team are doing their best.
Reception team = ok but not very helpful. We had a lot of problems with the doorkey and the only thing the said : come back after one hour, and after hour the same thing .....
Not at all a 5 star hotel for me, only a 4 star and not more. Very disappointing hotel and certainly not a PALACE

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Christophe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Was my second stay in this hotel.
Welcome and services are top, rooms are large but some amenities are missing to be really at 5 stars level.
As it is all inclusive and according to Tunisia the food is good with variety and real efforts to improve from Chief. You have also to eat in 3 different restaurants but the Italian one is really poor.
It is a Hotel not a Club, don't look for animations which are very light.
Finally rating coold be 5 but only 4 due to low level of:
Orange juice at breakfast and missing local pastries for lunch or dinner.
You can also forget the allinclusive windsurf.

Room Tip: See view are good but you have to avoid those above reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank frenchtra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I've stayed for a week in this hotel and it was a very nice holidays.

Rooms / Services - Very good and clean. Mini bar everyday refueled.

Food / restaurants - I didn't visited the three thematic restaurants (tunisin, italian and fish) but the main restaurant it was very good, with variety and quantity of food. Good taste, waiters very well educated and attentive, not working for the tip.

Beach - absolutely amazing, with warm water. The weather was very good, with some wind. Near the water, there are some tunisians with horses and camels, for a walk on the beach (they do not bother too much....)

Animation - There isn't too much animation in the hotel neither on the beach contributing to a calm and relaxing environment.

Globally i liked very much this hotel and if i come back to Djerba, for sure, i will stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tiquiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

+ Perfect for a calm vacation at the pool/beach in a tropical climate
+ Very clean rooms, well maintained garden
+ Very, very nice pool area
+ Wide variety kitchen, no "turista"
+ Friendly and helpfull staff, although a lot of tips are given it is not obliged
+ All-in = all-in (even bottles of water which is very good!)

- Although the beach is close, there is not a lot of view on the sea from the hotel premises
- There is not a lot to see in the amenities of the hotel/Djerba (but this was fine for us, we didn't expect it!). Try to book a guided visit to the Sahara with your travel agency, it's well worth visiting the Tunisia main land.

PS: There are a lot of sellers at the beach but luckilly "no" means "no" so they don't bother you any further.

We spoke to a lot of people who where there for the 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th,... time and we can see why.

In general: very good value for money!

From the Djerba Zarzis Aiport: approx. 40 minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ERTMSPRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Djerba Island hotels
1 km away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
3.4 km away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 47 in Midoun
2,337 reviews
2.4 km away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#2 of 47 in Midoun
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba
5 km away
Hasdrubal Prestige Thalassa & Spa Djerba
2.2 km away
Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa Djerba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace Royal Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Royal Garden

Address: Zone Touristique Sidi Akkour P.B.83, Djerba Island 04116, Tunisia (Formerly Hotel Riu Palace Royal Garden)
Region: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Djerba Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Djerba Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Djerba Island
Price Range: RM 263 - RM 1,046 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palace Royal Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the island of Djerba * 3-storey building, oriental style architecture * Surrounded by 20,000 m2 of garden * Opposite the "Djerba" 27-hole golf course * 200 m from the beach * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach * 6 km from downtown Midoun * 18 km from downtown Houmt Souk * 6 km from various shops * 25 km from the Djerba airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Palace Royal Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Palace Royal Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing