We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome change in Djerba!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Djerba Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Flamingo Beach
Ranked #72 of 104 Hotels in Djerba Island
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Hotel Flamingo Beach, prompted by the suggestion of a friend who as stayed there on multiple occasions. I have been going to the beautiful island of Djerba (also spelled: Jerba) for many years. If one wants to stay along the seaside, the choices are usually among the large hotels, and LARGER! The Flamingo Beach provides a nice alternative. True, you won't get the amenities of a spa, fitness room, indoor pool or multiple restaurants, but the owners, Nabil and Hela Bouabid offer something else: a warm welcome and the atmosphere of a small, personal hotel. The employees are all very welcoming, from the front desk to the waiters. "Service" is frequently lacking in Tunisian hotels, or at least, good service with a smile. It is in good form at Flamingo Beach and after having had an opportunity to meet the owners, I understood how important this is for them. Nabil attended the Cornell University school of hospitality, certainly one of the most internationally recognized universities for hotel and restaurant management. But attending and putting these standards into practice among the help is not always the result. Nabil and Hela succeed!

The location is right along the seaside, so one simply walks across the street to use this quiet stretch of beach. The hotel offers lunch and dinner, which is also very well prepared. If your palette simply calls for a pizza, this option exists less than five minutes away at a nearby pizzaria/sandwich shop.

If you can forsake the amenities of a large spa hotel and would like to have good value and the atmosphere of a small property that believes in service. Hotel Flamingo Beach deserves your booking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea. The views out the back are far less appealing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JerryTheRugGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. It is a great location on the beach between Houmt Souk and Midoun. Taxis are plentiful and a bargain. The owners, Nabil and Hela, are very welcoming and hospitable. I stayed in my favorite room, #202 with a balcony overlooking the beach. The hotel is very clean. The people of Djerba are very friendly and I felt very safe and secure. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms at the front of the second floor with balconys overlooking the beach. The rooms...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
10  Thank Felix P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Flamingo Beach hotel was one of the friendliest, and accommodating hotels that I have ever visited. Nothing was to much trouble, and their hospitality was exceptional. The location was beautiful, quiet, and located right next to the beach which was clean, and I've never seen such calm, lovely water. The accommodation was comfortable and very clean. The food was presented extremely well and our likes and dislikes were taken into account for all of our meals. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice, relaxing, peaceful holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Whilst researching hotels in Djerba i came accross this charming hotel, well what a wonderful find,
small & friendly hotel. just steps away from the beach, rooms were clean & comfortable,
this hotel is owned by Nabil & his wife Hela,, they welcomed us with such hospitality, gave us lifts in to town,
even visited their house & met their 2 lovely sons, this was such a lovely experience, we had many good
conversations & learnt a lot about the culture past & present ,the staff at this hotel are just delightful,
all including Nabil & Hela have a good sense of humour , we had a lot of laughs with them all.
We stayed half board, breakfast was a light continental style, which was fine, for our evening meal
we had delicious fresh home cooked Tunisian food, cooked by the lovely chef, he always came out to see us
& ask if the food was ok. The weather was beautiful, & Hela had 2 sunbeds put on the roof terrace for us
where we spent lazy days sunbathing & enjoying the views, we ate breakfast on one of the terraces overlooking the sea, there was also a choice of dining areas. We did an island tour & they arranged for an english speaking taxi driver, we thoroughly enjoyed the day & Shukri the taxi driver was amazing, Djerba is a lovely island , i will definately be returning here & staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lunadoodle58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Coming to Tunisia from the US and from France, we decided to re-discover Djerba one year after the Jasmine Revolution. We chose to stay in the Flamingo Beach Hotel, a very nice family-run human sized hotel overlooking the sea, located right above the beach, far from the hustle and the bustle of big resorts. The owners and managers of the Flamingo Beach, the charming Hela and Nabil Bouabid, offered us the friendliest hospitality and we enjoyed very interesting conversations with them about the situation and the perspectives in Tunisia and in Djerba one year after the revolution. The hotel is very well kept, decorated with simplicity and taste and the whole staff is dedicated and extremely kind. As far as the safety in Djerba is concerned, we found the island very alive and totally peaceful and we absolutely never felt unsafe. Yes, tourists can come back to Tunisia and even more so to Djerba, and we can only recommend you to stay in the Flamingo Beach hotel, perfectly located to explore the beauties of the island and to enjoy your stay in Djerba.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank gdar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Djerba Island hotels
0 km away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
0 km away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#2 of 47 in Midoun
1,756 reviews
0 km away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 47 in Midoun
2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Residence Chahd
Residence Chahd
#1 of 1 in Mezraia
11 reviews
0 km away
Djerba-Erriadh
Djerba-Erriadh
#1 of 4 in Houmt Souk
19 reviews
0 km away
Dar Elbidha
Dar Elbidha
#20 of 49 in Djerba Island
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flamingo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flamingo Beach

Address: Plage Sidi Mahrez, Djerba Island 4179, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Djerba Island
Price Range: RM121 - RM305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel
Flamingo Beach Djerba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing