We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cachet(Kas)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
US$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Payam Hotel(Kas)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sonne(Kas)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mare Nostrum Apart(Kas)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Gardenia Boutique Hotel(Kas)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$92
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mavilim Hotel(Kas)
US$113
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kas Artemis Hotel(Kas)(Great Value!)
US$62
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
8 Pension(Kas)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$70
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Erdem City Hotel(Kas)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
144
34
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
34
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerpool areaamazing viewssea viewilhanswim
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My fiance and I tried to read all reviews before going to Kas to find the right hotel for a relaxing couple days, we could not have made a better choice.
The Amphora hotel is located on the peninsula of Kas, approximately 7 km from the city (nice walk along the water, good exercise) for our trip it was nice to be away from the shops and restaurants for some quiet when we wanted it. Getting to the town is very accessible either by foot which is about an hour walk, or there is a bus that runs every 30 mins during high season that you can pick up on the ring road that passes all the hotels on the peninsula. The bus ride in is approx 2.25 TL and picks you up right outside your hotel on the side of the road and drops you in the city square about 7 mins depending where you are located. One day we walked to the city, with a pit stop at a beach (both sides of the road) one side across from marina and the other open to the sea. We took the bus back to the hotel.
Our trip was right at the beginning of holiday season May 14-17 and the hotels in the area were just setting up. Both the GM Ziya and Restaurant manager Saffet were amazing and made our trip unforgettable. The food was great as we would have a great breakfast spread and then would usually have an appetizer meze for lunch with wine and beer. Very reasonable and very tasty. We had dinner one of the nights for a great fish dish that was also very good.
Both Ziya and Saffet were very helpful with suggesting other restaurants in the city, one of them being köşk which was amazing. Hot hummas dip and pepper steak very recommended.
We also set up paragliding with a breathtaking sail overlooking the town of Kas and the peninsula as well as the Greek Island of Meis.
The hotel was very clean and the pool was a nice option when we didnt feel like walking down to the private beach patio that the hotel has set up about 100 meters from the hotel. As the hotel is located up from the rocky seaside, they have built a very comfortable sitting/laying area with a little place to eat and drink.

All in all a very great experience and would recommend to any couple or families.

Room Tip: You want to ask for a sea view and as most rooms are on the smallish side, time spent in the room is very minimal (sleeping) and was not an issue at all!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayHotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My son and I stayed at Amphora last year and had a wonderful time. We were given a very comfortable, clean and decent size room with a lovely balcony. Ilhan, Ziya and other staff were attentive and friendly. The pool and its surroundings were adorned with bougainvilleas, jasmin and honeysuckles and had a wonderful sea view. The hotel is a short walk from its private rock side beach where one can order food and drinks from the cafe, lounge on big cushions and watch the sunset, magical! A peaceful hotel just 10 minutes minibus ride away from the beautiful town of Kas. Oh, and the breakfast was delicious.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ayse F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Amphora is on the peninsula down a steep hill. When we arrived, we met the owner who is very friendly. He upgraded us to the honeymoon suite for free and carried our bags up for us.

The room was nice, which a big bed, sofas, satellite TV, decent bathroom with a real shower, and two balconies looking over the water.

The rest of the hotel is nice too, with an outdoor pool, bar, dining room, and pool table. It also has a private beach area just a short walk down the hill to the water. They have bar and food service at the beach, as well as a lot of lounging chairs.

They didn't have much vegetarian food in the hotel restaurant, but they tried, which we appreciated.

Tip: This is not a sandy beach. There's a ladder to go right into the water and some floating platforms a bit away from the rocks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

The Amphora Hotel was a lovely, small lodging with its own Mediterranean “beach,” pool and rooms with amazing views on the Peninsula outside of the small city of Kas. We made our reservation via one of the on-line booking companies about a day before our arrival, and what a deal it was. As luck (and global warming) would have it, the weather during our mid-October stay in the southernmost location of our Turkey trip was well into the 80s. After we arrived in the early evening at the hotel, we raced down to the water for our first swim of our vacation. How refreshing! There are few sandy beaches in the area, so all the small hotels on the Peninsula outside the city of Kas have built lounging areas on the rocks above the water with various amenities. Ours had a perfectly adequate, comfortable area for relaxing by the water, and a ladder for climbing into the famous turquoise water. What more do you need (in season, they serve refreshments as well).

In October there is absolutely no trouble getting a room on the Mediterranean coast of Turkey at the last minute. As it turns out, all these seaside hotels close by Nov. 1 and by mid-October they are almost deserted. That is a plus for the foreign traveler looking for flexibility in travel arrangements and a quiet place to stay. Although reduced to a skeleton crew, they still had a cook for dinner and enough staff to make our stay very comfortable. What they lacked in their command of the English language they made-up with friendliness. They always got their point across when it came to essential information (like bus schedules or booking trips).

We knew that we wanted to book a day boat tour of the surrounding areas, and the staff of Amphora had that arranged for us soon after our arrival. It was about 10tl a person cheaper than the trip we priced at one of the travel agencies in town. This included pick up and drop off to the hotel which makes the whole experience relaxing and carefree. As an aside, tours in Turkey are cheap and plentiful, and tour guides are professionally trained. We took 3 day tours in Turkey and they were especially useful for my husband and I as we traveled almost exclusively by public transportation. It was an efficient way to see several sites especially if it involved some distance.

Getting to and from Amphora, or any of the other peninsula hotels, involves a 10-15 minute bus ride from town that runs about every 30 minutes. It would take a good hour to walk downtown, which was even too far for us! We had a very tasty, well prepared dinner at their poolside dining area on the evening of our arrival. It probably came to less than $30 total. On the final night of our stay here, we had a delicious dinner, one of our best in Turkey, a short distance away (about a 15 minute walk) at the Manzara Restaurant at the Cache Hotel. This was easy to get to without relying on the bus.

As we were preparing to leave, the manager of the hotel surprised us by offering to drive us to the bus station. I think his name was Ilhan Akkaya, and he and his nephew, Yasin, were most kind and helpful during our stay. Since most of our trip was in the more cultural and busy downtowns, having a few days of at this perfect refuge was a great decision. The views of the Greek Island of Meis and the beautiful blue waters were truly memorable. I highly recommend a stay at this comfortable and affordable hotel.

Room Tip: You'll need a car, a taxi or the public bus that runs every 30 minutes to get to a from the city center.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTVer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Amphora hotel while on a tour of Western Turkey in June 2012. The Amphora was a fantastic small hotel in an idyllic location. Our room was small but comfortable for sleeping with effective air conditioning we had a terrace style balcony fabulous for drying swimwear and towels. The room and hotel in general was comfortable, spotless and very well kept. The breakfast room was located by the pool area the selection of food was fabulous with ample choice. The pool area was very inviting at all hours however the beach access was an added bonus. A divinely secluded area with sun lounges and shade cover on offer. There was a staffed bar and tables to dine right on the waterfront. We relaxed swam and lazed away the afternoon at the private beach. The only negative I can think of is that the hotel is located on the outskirts of the town of Kas. This was not a problem for us as we had a driver and guide with our tour group ( total of four passengers - spoilt). We had dinner the first night in the town of Kas arriving in time to watch the sunset from a rooftop bar - sensational. The second night we enjoyed dinner at the hotel on the roof top terrace with an amazing view of the mediterranean and close by Greek island a truly beautiful evening with incredible food and service. Kas and hotel Amphora were favoroutes on our Turkey itinerary.

Room Tip: there would not be too many bad rooms at this hotel
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Europe2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews