We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome...”
Review of Amphora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amphora Hotel
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Kas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2013

we booked a sea view room. Never had a view like this (please see pictures). Clean and confortable rooms (not that big, but absolutly enough) with air condition. Never met a stuff like this. before you want something, they are providing it to you. they are always asking what you need, what you wannt, how they can help you. We were so much impressed, this was like wow! The hotel it self is wonderfull. a small boutique hotel where you feel like home. the way to the beach is handsome. a lot of flowers and the sea view. you need approx. 2 min to the unbelievable nice beach (see pictures) and it's very nice. The stuff is very very nice as well. the water is more than clean and the wheather was perfect (mid. June).
Kas in general is a wonderfull place. Amphora hotel is located approx. 6km from the center of kas. you need to drive by car or with the dolmus. (takes 5 minutes). If you're there by car, visit Saklikent Canyon and Xantos. The Parata Beach and Kaputas Beach (20km) is a must as well. Speak to the stuff if you e.g. want to make a private boat tour, that was like wow as well. we were 4 persons made a private boat trip. we were more than 10 hours on the sea and we saw so nice places and swimming in that clear nice water was an adventure...

all in one, it was one of the best vacations ever, thanks to the owner Mr. Ilhan und the the nice stuff Yasin, Kudret, Saffet, Umut and Ziya... they've acted like friends and we will definately come again to see our friends in turkey/kas.

Wish you the best!!!

Room Tip: Please book a room with sea view. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AkeShul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

My fiance and I tried to read all reviews before going to Kas to find the right hotel for a relaxing couple days, we could not have made a better choice.
The Amphora hotel is located on the peninsula of Kas, approximately 7 km from the city (nice walk along the water, good exercise) for our trip it was nice to be away from the shops and restaurants for some quiet when we wanted it. Getting to the town is very accessible either by foot which is about an hour walk, or there is a bus that runs every 30 mins during high season that you can pick up on the ring road that passes all the hotels on the peninsula. The bus ride in is approx 2.25 TL and picks you up right outside your hotel on the side of the road and drops you in the city square about 7 mins depending where you are located. One day we walked to the city, with a pit stop at a beach (both sides of the road) one side across from marina and the other open to the sea. We took the bus back to the hotel.
Our trip was right at the beginning of holiday season May 14-17 and the hotels in the area were just setting up. Both the GM Ziya and Restaurant manager Saffet were amazing and made our trip unforgettable. The food was great as we would have a great breakfast spread and then would usually have an appetizer meze for lunch with wine and beer. Very reasonable and very tasty. We had dinner one of the nights for a great fish dish that was also very good.
Both Ziya and Saffet were very helpful with suggesting other restaurants in the city, one of them being köşk which was amazing. Hot hummas dip and pepper steak very recommended.
We also set up paragliding with a breathtaking sail overlooking the town of Kas and the peninsula as well as the Greek Island of Meis.
The hotel was very clean and the pool was a nice option when we didnt feel like walking down to the private beach patio that the hotel has set up about 100 meters from the hotel. As the hotel is located up from the rocky seaside, they have built a very comfortable sitting/laying area with a little place to eat and drink.

All in all a very great experience and would recommend to any couple or families.

Room Tip: You want to ask for a sea view and as most rooms are on the smallish side, time spent in the room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayHotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My son and I stayed at Amphora last year and had a wonderful time. We were given a very comfortable, clean and decent size room with a lovely balcony. Ilhan, Ziya and other staff were attentive and friendly. The pool and its surroundings were adorned with bougainvilleas, jasmin and honeysuckles and had a wonderful sea view. The hotel is a short walk from its private rock side beach where one can order food and drinks from the cafe, lounge on big cushions and watch the sunset, magical! A peaceful hotel just 10 minutes minibus ride away from the beautiful town of Kas. Oh, and the breakfast was delicious.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ayse F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Amphora is on the peninsula down a steep hill. When we arrived, we met the owner who is very friendly. He upgraded us to the honeymoon suite for free and carried our bags up for us.

The room was nice, which a big bed, sofas, satellite TV, decent bathroom with a real shower, and two balconies looking over the water.

The rest of the hotel is nice too, with an outdoor pool, bar, dining room, and pool table. It also has a private beach area just a short walk down the hill to the water. They have bar and food service at the beach, as well as a lot of lounging chairs.

They didn't have much vegetarian food in the hotel restaurant, but they tried, which we appreciated.

Tip: This is not a sandy beach. There's a ladder to go right into the water and some floating platforms a bit away from the rocks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

The Amphora Hotel was a lovely, small lodging with its own Mediterranean “beach,” pool and rooms with amazing views on the Peninsula outside of the small city of Kas. We made our reservation via one of the on-line booking companies about a day before our arrival, and what a deal it was. As luck (and global warming) would have it, the weather during our mid-October stay in the southernmost location of our Turkey trip was well into the 80s. After we arrived in the early evening at the hotel, we raced down to the water for our first swim of our vacation. How refreshing! There are few sandy beaches in the area, so all the small hotels on the Peninsula outside the city of Kas have built lounging areas on the rocks above the water with various amenities. Ours had a perfectly adequate, comfortable area for relaxing by the water, and a ladder for climbing into the famous turquoise water. What more do you need (in season, they serve refreshments as well).

In October there is absolutely no trouble getting a room on the Mediterranean coast of Turkey at the last minute. As it turns out, all these seaside hotels close by Nov. 1 and by mid-October they are almost deserted. That is a plus for the foreign traveler looking for flexibility in travel arrangements and a quiet place to stay. Although reduced to a skeleton crew, they still had a cook for dinner and enough staff to make our stay very comfortable. What they lacked in their command of the English language they made-up with friendliness. They always got their point across when it came to essential information (like bus schedules or booking trips).

We knew that we wanted to book a day boat tour of the surrounding areas, and the staff of Amphora had that arranged for us soon after our arrival. It was about 10tl a person cheaper than the trip we priced at one of the travel agencies in town. This included pick up and drop off to the hotel which makes the whole experience relaxing and carefree. As an aside, tours in Turkey are cheap and plentiful, and tour guides are professionally trained. We took 3 day tours in Turkey and they were especially useful for my husband and I as we traveled almost exclusively by public transportation. It was an efficient way to see several sites especially if it involved some distance.

Getting to and from Amphora, or any of the other peninsula hotels, involves a 10-15 minute bus ride from town that runs about every 30 minutes. It would take a good hour to walk downtown, which was even too far for us! We had a very tasty, well prepared dinner at their poolside dining area on the evening of our arrival. It probably came to less than $30 total. On the final night of our stay here, we had a delicious dinner, one of our best in Turkey, a short distance away (about a 15 minute walk) at the Manzara Restaurant at the Cache Hotel. This was easy to get to without relying on the bus.

As we were preparing to leave, the manager of the hotel surprised us by offering to drive us to the bus station. I think his name was Ilhan Akkaya, and he and his nephew, Yasin, were most kind and helpful during our stay. Since most of our trip was in the more cultural and busy downtowns, having a few days of at this perfect refuge was a great decision. The views of the Greek Island of Meis and the beautiful blue waters were truly memorable. I highly recommend a stay at this comfortable and affordable hotel.

Room Tip: You'll need a car, a taxi or the public bus that runs every 30 minutes to get to a from the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTVer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kas hotels
0.7 km away
Lukka Exclusive Hotel
0.6 km away
Hotel Club Barbarossa
4 km away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 49 in Kas
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Payam Hotel
Payam Hotel
#6 of 49 in Kas
101 reviews
0.5 km away
Mavilim Hotel
Mavilim Hotel
#3 of 49 in Kas
206 reviews
4.6 km away
Medusa Hotel
Medusa Hotel
#27 of 49 in Kas
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Hotel

Address: Cukurbag Yarimadasi Dogan Kasaroglu Sokak No:4, Kas 07580, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Kas
Price Range: RM229 - RM564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amphora Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Amphora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing