We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
David L
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom

For $350/night I expected more/higher levels of service

Review of MDC Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Sept 2023via mobile
There are some maintenance issues with the site/hotel. For U$350/night B&B I expected higher standards/quality. Staff were hard to find. Pool area not tidied during the day.
Spacious rooms but cheap poor quality furniture. Room safe didn’t work
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
RM 614
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 614
0.8 km from MDC Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 522
RM 466
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 466
0.8 km from MDC Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 546
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from MDC Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 227
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 227
  • Agoda.com
0.3 km from MDC Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    RM 932
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,126
1.1 km from MDC Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    RM 741
  • Priceline
0.4 km from MDC Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 548
  • eDreams
0.7 km from MDC Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 301
  • Priceline
1.2 km from MDC Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 329
  • eDreams
4.9 km from MDC Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 842
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,191
9.4 km from MDC Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Urgup
Reviews (1,546)
Filter reviews
1,546 results
Traveller rating
1,341
168
27
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,341
168
27
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cave hotel turkey beautiful hotel turkish bath huge bathroom heated floors memorable stay cappadocia region unique experience would highly recommend this hotel great hospitality hot air balloon jacuzzi mr tour cheese warmth
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,546 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2023

We stayed 3 nights in the MDC Cave Hotel in Cappadocia. We were allocated a room with Hamam at the highest point in the hotel. As a couple of a certain age, we were a little concerned about a climb up several sets of steps to our room but we persevered and were actually delighted with our accommodation. The room was huge and the bathroom with Hamam was large and well appointed. It also had a jacuzzi. The view from our room and balcony was impressive. Because the hotel was some way from the town, we decided to eat there every evening. There was an extensive menu and the quality of the food was first class. The breakfast menu was also very good. There are no lifts because of the nature of the hotel but the staff transported cases to and from rooms as necessary. All the staff were very welcoming and helpful. This hotel is different from any that we have used previously and we thoroughly recommend it. We would certainly stay there again if we were in the area.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 70gemini46
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 July 2023 via mobile

What a majestic place! We stayed in a family room (405). My wife and I had a large room with a king size bed that opened to a small balcony and our teenage daughters had their own beds in a separate little cave room. The bathroom was huge and included a large whirlpool tub. (Only caution is that there were a few stairs up to the bedroom and down to the bathroom that were hard to see at night if you didn’t want to wake others up by turning on the lights.) We had a huge private area in front of our room with a table and chairs and a wicker chair swing that had a breathtaking view of the mountains. The entire grounds were gorgeous with a beautiful and peaceful pool. Delicious complementary buffet breakfast had everything from made to order omelets, sausages, fruits , yogurt, breads, and pastries. All service was very friendly and helpful, particularly Muhammed who waited on us for dinner each of our 3 nights. He was very friendly, efficient and accommodating. The location was quiet and peaceful and about a 10-15 minute walk a central area with shops and restaurants. Overall a wonderful stay. I highly recommend MDC Cave. Hotel.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank tfluegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 July 2023

The best hotel experience we had in Cappadocia was definetely Mdc Cave Hotel. Because of my job , i know almost all hotels around Cappadocia. This was my first stay there and absolutely amazing.
First day, we stayed in a standart room , which was above all standarts; huge room with huge beds, extremely comfortable pillows and blankets, a huge , shining, clean bathroom with a jakuzi. We slept so well, but next day they upgraded us with king suit that was the biggest room ever. The decoration of the cave room was unvelievable. Double beds, without exaggeration , 4 adults can fit size.
The location of the hotel is slighlty outside the town, around tiny fairy chimneys, but town center is maximum 10 minutes walking distance. My nephew lives in big city, and he kept saying " the stars look amazing here, the birds sound is so relaxing "
Food was variable, breakfast was quite good, but Littlestar restorant was the best. Delicious apetizers, fresh salads and the best kebaps ever.
We also enjoyed the pool 4 days. Normally i dont like pools, but this time i felt the quality. Not crowded, water is very clean, they warm it up. More then chemicals , they use filter system wihch is always working. Nonslippery surface around the pool. We felt safe with the kids.
The stuff is so kind,helpful always, Mr. Muhammed , Mrs. Cansu , Mrs. Özge doing their job perfectly. But also Sonay could be the sweetest receptionist in the world.
If you want the best accomodation in Cappadocia, don't hesitate to stay here.

Room tip: Remember always , Cappadocia is a continental climate, might be windy at nights, even in summer.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kapkarabirkedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2023

Cats flood the eating room, almost 6 or 7. Wood floor is creaky and broke. The air conditioning is bad and the air quality is horrible. The room design is nice but has stone for walls which make it extremely dusty. Staff take 20 - 30 minutes to make the food. Almost all the time the restaurant is empty.

Room tip: When coming here do not take downstairs rooms, as it gets hard to breath. Instead take rooms close to the top.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Odyssey32814617990
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AHMET KUCUKYILDIZ, Genel Müdür at MDC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2023

Dear Guest;

First of all, thank you for your visit to our hotel and your feedback. We attach importance to the criticisms of our guests and we try to improve our service quality thanks to our valuable guests like you. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the information you provided. All of your complaints have been taken seriously and necessary steps have been taken.

We are aware of the discomfort caused by cats in our restaurant and we deal with this issue with a solution-oriented approach. Our hotel has an area of 15.000 m² and it is very difficult to keep cats away from the hotel's surroundings since it is located in nature and is not in a courtyard. Since our cat-loving guests feed the cats, the cats own the hotel.

Our teams also conduct regular inspections on cracked ground. In such cases, when the floor needs to be repaired or replaced, we take care to perform these operations as soon as possible. Except for our 2 rooms, all of our rooms in our hotel are marble floors, but we apologize if you had such a problem on the floor of the wooden rooms. If you had informed our staff at our hotel, they would have helped you by changing the room.

Best regards,
MDC Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2023 via mobile

Overall it’s ok if you think of the price you get everything what you expect. It’s a great affordable stay! Especially the location is great very centered just a walk away from ürgüp. Architectural it’s the typical cave design you would expect from Cappadocia and the rooms are spacious. The biggest plus is the garden it is quiet, peaceful and big you can enjoy the evenings sitting outside. We walked through a lot of hotels in ürgüp and no hotel had this spacious rooms and garden and every hotel had a lot of stairs you have to climb! So if you have kids it’s perfect because you don’t have to climb. There’s a nice small pool enough for kids to enjoy. Breakfast was good if you are super picky you won’t be satisfied but you find healthy options like fresh fruits olives, tomatoes and cheese. For me it was enough. The restaurant was ok better than the most restaurants in ürgüp. Overall I would come back for o affordable stay in Cappadocia. Especially Sonay hanım was so welcoming heartwarming and open to everything we said. Such a friendly stuff is more worth than anything!

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SARAHandLeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews