We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return to the Era”
Review of Hotel Era

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Era
Ranked #46 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Reviewed 21 September 2016

i booked Era through Friendship Travel who organise solo traveller holidays. I've been to this area of Turkey many times but not stayed here so was a bit apprehensive about it. I need not have worried. Apart from a lovely lot of people in my group, the owners Ergun and Raziye along with chef Ali were the most warm and wonderful hosts you could meet. My room was on the lower ground floor so no need to use the air con as it was fairly cool most of the time. Size of the room was large and lots of space, lots of plug sockets, loads of hanger in the double closet. The pool is a great size, plenty of sun loungers. The food was good although i didn't make the most of the all inclusive option i was more than happy with both food and drinks available. It's a 10-15 min stroll down the hill into Hisaronu where most of the night life happens along with shops and plenty of restaurants.
All in all i had a wonderful week there (wish it was longer!) and will definitely be staying there again next year...if you want local charm, wonderful hosts and great views then i would not hesitate to recommend the Era. (I hate to give a fab review for fear they will be booked up next year!!)

Room Tip: Quieter and cooler rooms are on the lower garden/terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank soho-70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2016

The hotel Era is a small family run hotel with the most welcoming staff. The food was out of this world and the facilities excellent. The owners Ergin and Raziye can't do enough for you. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk to the centre and is surrounded by the most amazing views. I can't wait to go back next year and I would encourage everyone to go Turkey..

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Hotel Era is a small 20 room family run hotel. Ideal location whilst only15 minute walk from Hisaronu village it is towards the mountains and therefore cooler. The rooms are typical Turkish style with plenty of room for all your holiday clothes etc. Fabulous large swimming pool which is kep immaculate by Ergun the owner. Food was amazing - lots of variety and served piping hot & very well presented & lots of it. Have just returned after 3 weeks and will be going again in September.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Just returned from spending a week in the Era Hotel and I can confirm that I have never experienced such poor quality food.
I am primarily vegetarian ,but will eat fish and on seven previous gulet trips in Turkey I have only ever had the best, freshest food served , prepared by the cooks in a small galley.
There is therefore no excuse for the management at this hotel to provide such terrible food.
For example, the olives provided at breakfast were small, bitter and in my opinion inedible - the cheapest of the cheap. Salads were non existent. - a plate of tomatoes and cucumber does not constitute a salad.
The fruit bowl consisted of a few apples , grapes and local oranges that were so bitter to be almost inedible.
Poor quality honey came in mini packs - no fresh honey served from the jar / jug as is usual in Turkey and Greece.
One type of jam (cherry) only, again in mini packs - no marmalade.
The cheap toaster provided is dangerous as it is difficult to retrieve the bread from same and could result in burning if not careful.
Cheeses on offer were of poor quality.
"Lunch " consisted of a bland white bread roll with filling , or salad - I ordered the Chefs Tuna Salad and was presented with a small portion of shredded lettuce, tomato and dry tinned tuna... best described as bland and not an adequate lunch.
The dinner servings were inadequate, and choice limited.
I ceased availing of the evening meals in the hotel when I was presented with a plate of cheap, dry tinned anchovies with a slice of tomato as a main course.
The desserts were all pre-bought and servings were miniscule.
In my opinion, it would appear that the kitchen in this hotel is operated in such a way as to maximise profit at the expense of quantity and quality.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank dan1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

Had a lovely week here, staff were very friendly and came out to greet us all as we arrived. The pool was great with plenty of sun beds and umbrellas to go round.
Rooms were basic, but it's all you need as you'll spend so little time in it. Aircon was extra, you definitely need it on the top floor, it did get very hot. Lovely mountain views.
Bedding was changed regularly , and rooms cleaned, though they could do with a more thorough clean occasionally. Dubious looking stain on side of bed base and floor.
Food was fresh and ample. At dinner on the last day they dressed the tables up beautifully .
Friendship reps were fantastic !

Stayed: August 2015
1  Thank Hyper32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fethiye
0.5 km away
Forever Hotel
Forever Hotel
#1 of 7 in Ovacik
174 reviews
1.2 km away
Garcia Resort & Spa
Garcia Resort & Spa
#22 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,373 reviews
12.4 km away
Jiva Beach Resort
Jiva Beach Resort
#4 of 102 in Fethiye
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Letoonia Club & Hotel
Letoonia Club & Hotel
#11 of 102 in Fethiye
2,375 reviews
7.3 km away
Fethiye Guest House
Fethiye Guest House
#7 of 97 in Fethiye
225 reviews
0.1 km away
Antas Deluxe Aparts
Antas Deluxe Aparts
#56 of 102 in Fethiye
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Era? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Era

Address: Ovacik Mah. 121.sok No:8 | Oludeniz, Fethiye 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Price Range: RM181 - RM560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive three-star Hotel Era in Hisaronu Turkey is a small, family-run hotel exclusively for single travellers. It has just 20 en suite rooms and guests enjoy sole occupancy of a double room. It has a relaxed and friendly atmosphere and the focus of the hotel is the super swimming pool, surrounded by good-sized terraces with sun-beds for everyone. Authentic Turkish touches include the wood panelling in the bar, the hubble bubble pipe and the hammocks hanging in the gardens. A short stroll leads to small shops, bars and restaurants and a short dolmus ride leads to the Blue Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Era reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Era Hotel Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing