We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sur Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Ayres Hotel(Colonia del Sacramento)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Days Inn Casa Del Sol Colonia(Colonia del Sacramento)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites(Colonia del Sacramento)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El Mirador Hotel and Spa(Colonia del Sacramento)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Italiano(Colonia del Sacramento)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel ROMI(Colonia del Sacramento)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Leoncia(Colonia del Sacramento)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Perla del Plata Hotel(Colonia del Sacramento)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Dazzler Colonia(Colonia del Sacramento)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mision(Colonia del Sacramento)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
54
68
32
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
68
32
14
7
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Colonia is only a small town, but nonetheless, Sur Hostel was very conveniently located, being close to the main shopping strip, and only a short walk to the beach, the old town and the bus/ferry terminal.

The room had heating which made it very comfortable. The twin bunk beds had no safety rail or access ladder, so the top mattresses on the floor made a bed for the adults, and the kids slept on the lower bunks, which did compromise space. Lockers were provided but padlocks were required.

The kitchen was large and equipped for cooking; the breakfast was basic but welcome. The bathrooms were clean, and the showers were hot and strong.

The staff were always friendly and helpful.

An added bonus was the very welcoming log fire in the lounge room making it a great place to socialise and chat with new found friends.

Our brief stay in Colonia was made all the more pleasant by our stay at Sur Hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnAEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

A hostel with welcoming staff, a nice open hearth and a big kitchen for guests to use. There is a slooow computer and okay wifi. Hostel was clean, our bed was comfy. Location is good, but Colonia is very small so everything is close to the historic centre here.

You have to put the linnen on the bed yourself, and towels are for hire for 2usd. These things are quite sad for this price. Down stairs one of the toilets had a toilet seat that was too small, which is pretty much very stupid. We were the first to have breakfast and there were 5 (!) pieces of bread in a basket. That's not very much for a hostel. Breakfast came with fruit and free tea / coffee.

All in all not bad but neither it is great value for money.

We paid 720 for a matrimonial room, price on arrival, breakfast included.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jelmer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Excellent location in Colonia and helpful and welcoming staff at hostel. You can find restaurants, groceries, banks some blocks away and you can rent a bike at hostel or in some places that rent bicycles by the hour. Cycling around Colonia was an amazing experience! It's beautiful riding though the coastline.
The hostel offers a great breakfast and the staff organizes a welcoming and classic "asado uruguayo" (you pay a modest sum and eat your fill). This is a special moment to meet others guests from anywhere in the world. It's worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The location is great, just a short walk from the old town. The bed in our private room was average; you need to make your own bed and towels are not provided. We did not like the shades in the room; we were on street level and they are metal rolling shutters on the outside of the street.
Breakfast is great, nice fresh bread (with the standard jam & dulce de leche) but also with fresh fruit - great plus. The kitchen is large, but with one stove. If the hostel is busy, there is not much seating in the living room for dinner - if you have nice weather you can sit on the roof terrace though.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeroen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

Although the staff were lovely and helpful we were left a little disappointed... We are usually happy to pay slightly more for a nice hostel but found it rather overpriced, although this maybe the going rate in colonia. After a warm welcome we were taken to our private room and given our sheets to make the bed, very lazy of the staff/management system. This was not a major problem but there was no mattress protector and plenty of stains on the matress which is not a good start. Secondly the floor couldn't have been sweeped, let alone mopped for days. It was all a liitle run down and dingy. Bathrooms were worse nevertheless. We actually even avoided taking a shower on our last day. Apart from some tidying in the kitchen and a bathroom rota we didn't notice any other cleaning during our 3 days. Having managed hostels around the world this is something we find a little disturbing given the price. With a little maintenance work in rooms and bathrooms this hostel would be ideal but it you are to charge high prices you have got to meet expectations, and we are not the picky traveller. Overall I wouldn't say don't go but would urge the owners to invest in some refurbishments given the price of rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Engo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews