We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilltop House Bed & Breakfast
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Interlaken Inn(Lakeville)
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
White Hart Inn(Salisbury)
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BW Premier Collection The Litchfield Inn(Litchfield)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Carpet Inn(New Milford)
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rocky River Inn(New Milford)(Great Value!)
US$98
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roosevelt Inn(Hyde Park)
US$105
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
86
8
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb brail trailwrap around porchhilltop housebed and breakfastbreakfast was deliciouswashington roomprivate bathroom was beautifully decoratedgreat getawayother guestsperfect staysitting areaair conditioningfirst floortwo nightslinens
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Beautifully restored and charming inn. Sandy is a gracious innkeeper and wonderful breakfast chef. Loved the blueberry pancakes! For dinner, Sandy recommended a superb local restaurant called Serevan, which we highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopHouseAmenia, Owner at Hilltop House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

Thanks for the review Terry! I miss your car ;) We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Upon arrival we were greeted by Sandy, who we found to be such a generous host. She showed us our room (which was immaculate, very comfortable and inviting) What a beautiful home!! My husband and I made time to sit on the porch and have tea, and spend time together. We met friends there and all enjoyed dinner down the street at a local restaurant. Our entire stay was wonderful. Oh, and the breakfast - so amazing and delicious!! We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank merrilylacombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopHouseAmenia, Owner at Hilltop House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Thank you Merrily! We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

My husband and I spent one night at this charming B&B located just up the hill from the Harlem Valley Rail Trail. We had done a very long bike ride the day we arrived and were very happy to have booked a night here. Beautiful, clean, well kept house, lovely room tastefully decorated, beautiful bathroom, and a delicious breakfast the next morning on a large, sunny screened-in porch.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank bethbrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopHouseAmenia, Owner at Hilltop House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Thanks so much Beth! We appreciate your nice review. Come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

A desire to ride the Harlem Valley Rail Trail led us to book This delightful Bed & Breakfast.

I'm not big on B&B's, due to past experiences with dusty antiques and squabbling hosts, but the Hilltop House had many positive reviews and is down the street from the bike path. Our room and bathroom were attractive, comfortable and clean. It was nice to have quiet, central A/C instead of loud window air conditioners that are typical in older homes. The innkeeper, Sandy, was friendly and helpful. Her homemade breakfasts are served buffet style and in good weather, seating is on a beautiful porch.
I would definitely go back! The rail trail is #flatandeasy, about 8 miles from Amenia to Millerton. In Amenia, try Montes Kitchen and visit the drive-in movie. Other activities close-by include wineries, the Orvis store with shooting and fly-fishing lessons as well as the Innisfree and Wethersfield gardens.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Judi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopHouseAmenia, Owner at Hilltop House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

Thank you Judi! Glad you two decided to give our B&B a try! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

We came up here for the weekend to get away from the city and this quiet little oasis provided just that. The hostess Sandy was incredibly warm and gracious and bakes the most delicious blueberry scones you've ever tasted in your life. My friend and I were trying to celebrate and all of the liquor stores in town were closed so Sandy gave us a bottle of French champagne - gratis. Phenomenal customer service.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopHouseAmenia, Owner at Hilltop House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Thanks Josh! I'm glad you found us and so glad you liked the blueberry scones. Scones and pie crust.......they are tough cookies to master. Pun intended :) Come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews