We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good family-friendly resort with an average beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cliff Resort & Residences

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cliff Resort & Residences
Ranked #10 of 122 Hotels in Phan Thiet
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very good family-friendly resort with an average beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I think the title of my review sums up our experience pretty well. As a family of three (including a two year old boy), we felt this was a nice and practical resort that offered an excellent room for the price. However, if we were just traveling as a couple, I would have booked a smaller room at the Princess Annam or Anantara instead.

Check in at the hotel was easy and efficient. And although there were some minor hiccups at restaurant, we felt the overall standard of service was good here.

We stayed in an ocean-view room with outdoor bath and balcony, and we were very pleased with the value for the money. Besides a great view of the ocean, the room was very spacious and decently appointed with a full kitchen.

Its a bit unfortunate that the design of the resort is rather sterile, with a "modern" theme that makes no attempt to incorporate traditional Vietnamese culture or aesthetics. Nevertheless, it is built to a pretty high standard and has good facilities and amenities (large pool, kids playground, game room, spa, and jet ski rental).

Unlike many other resorts in this area, the Cliff caters to Vietnamese guests more than Russians. This may explain why the restaurant has better than average food (for a beach resort at least). Obviously, cheaper and better meals can be had in "no frills" local eateries outside the resort, but the Vietnamese food here was decent (my Vietnamese wife can vouch for it) and the food & beverages here were not a total rip off. For example, cocktails were around $6.

The big letdown here is the beach. I have been to Mui Ne/Phan Thiet before so I knew not to expect world-beating beaches with fine white sand. Because the beaches here aren't fantastic to begin with (Da Nang and Nha Trang are better, to say nothing of Thai, Malaysian or Philippine beaches) but I expect the resorts to do a better job keeping the beaches clean. I know there are fishing villages nearby, but every resort in Vietnam has to deal with that, so its no excuse for the considerable litter and debris I found while taking a dip with my son.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammo2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Cliff_Mgmt, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliff Resort & Residences, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Sammo2005,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at The Cliff Resort & Residences and we are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the recognition of our value. 

We deeply apologize if you felt our beach wasn’t kept as clean as it should have been but I can ensure you that a daily cleaning is organized early morning. Despite our efforts, depending on the wind and the current, we sometimes have a lot of debris coming from the sea. I also would like to inform you that a lot of resorts in the area are participating to “ Keep Mui Ne Clean” campaign, which is a massive beach and street cleaning, once per month. So, as you can appreciate, hoteliers are well aware and deeply concerned about keeping our beaches and Mui Ne as clean as possible. I wish everybody would feel the same way.

Thank you for your understanding. We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and provide you and your family with a better beach experience.

Best regards,

Marie-Charlotte,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    165
    39
    10
    8
See reviews for
200
223
19
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went there for 3 days to celebrate my friend's birthday. I contacted the hotel and asked them could anything be done for my friend. They sent us a birthday cake at the night of her birthday. We couldn't be happier as the cake was delicious, everyone love it so much that we didn't the cake we brought with ourselves.

The staff are nice and friendly. We don't have to reach our for their help as they always seem to be eager to attend our needs.

Enjoy!

Stayed March 2017, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Cliff_Mgmt, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliff Resort & Residences, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Nam L,

Thank you for choosing The Cliff Resort & Residences to celebrate this special occasion with us. We are very happy that you and your friend had a positive experience and that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your good words.

I am delighted to read that you particularly appreciated the birthday cake, we are all going out of our way to make sure all our guests have a wonderful time.

Thank you also for your mention about the hotel staff. I have shared your kind words with them.

We would like to thank you again and we do hope you will allow us the opportunity to accommodate you again on some future occasion;

Faithfully yours,

Marie-Charlotte,
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vietnam
Level Contributor
97 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Come back again after 4 years. Stayed 2 nights at Azul pool view which was nice decoration and comfortable bed.
The year end party was full of guests and many activities during a night
Services was good and breakfast with many choice from Asian foods.

Stayed January 2017, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank thaiminhson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Cliff_Mgmt, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliff Resort & Residences, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Thaiminhson,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your 2nd visit at The Cliff Resort & Residences.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay, you appreciated the service and all our
facilities and that we met all your expectations.

I must agree with you: our bedding is a pure delight! I am happy to inform you that our pillows are available for sell at our shop.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back in the
near future.

Kind regards,

Marie-Charlotte,
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 8 days after a 2 night stop at Ho Chi Minh. 4 hour transfer from Airport. Beautiful Hotel, very friendly and welcoming staff. Beach Front Setting, Pool and well manicured gardens. We had an apartment suite without views, but very large suite with kitchen area, lounge area, large bed, with a put up single for our son and bathroom with separate shower. Very quiet and peaceful and very close to the town of Mu Ine less than 2k and very cheap Taxi ride. We did not hire mopeds, which is the predominant means for transport. The taxi rides are interesting and something we had to get used to, very erratic especially with mopeds everywhere, literally! Sadly our son sustained a leg injury at the previous hotel but the Nurse was extremely helpful and tended to his wound every day, for which we are very thankful. We had Breakfast only which was the usual western variety and Vietnamese and very good. We ate out most nights in the local town but the food at the hotel was very good and well presented but cost more than in town. They also offered themed nights in the restaurant. On the whole a lovely resort. Check in and out was easy and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Cliff_Mgmt, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliff Resort & Residences, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
February 24, 2017

Dear Nicola L,

Thank you so much for choosing to share your holiday experience at The Cliff Resort & Residences with other travelers.

It makes us feel very happy to know that you and your family had a wonderful time here
and that our hotel succeeded on meeting your needs and standards despite your son’s
injury. I am very pleased to read you enjoyed the service provided by our nurse and all
our staff which is what we work hardest at.

It will be a big pleasure for us if we had the chance to accommodate you again and we
promise to offer you and your family a wonderful time to remember!

Warmest regards,

Marie-Charlotte,
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2017

If Mui Ne is the chosen destination for a holiday stay, this hotel is a good choice. Location is very good, direct at a nice part of the sandy beach, yet a bit away from the tourist street noise, but still not too far away. It needs a 1,5-2 km walk, local bus (Euro 0,50 per person), or a cab (Euro 2), to get to the the good restaurants and Lounge bars. Good location for walks along the beach, each direction.

The Cliff Resort staff service is great (all departments), nice staff, well trained. Pleasant, and visible hotel management.

Possibly a fresh up (deep clean enough) of bathrooms and especially showers and floor (painting is ok), would lift the room feel even more (no capex needed for achieving this, just some hard work on elbows and knees). No critics, just a tip.

Room Tip: There are rooms, bungalows and villas for each pocket (budget)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Cliff_Mgmt, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliff Resort & Residences, responded to this review, 18 February 2017
Dear Michael H,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at The Cliff Resort & Residences and we are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I am very pleased that you found the location suitable for beach walks but most
importantly I am pleased that our staff left you a lasting impression as we work
diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know
when we have succeeded.

Thank you very much for your remark which constantly help us in improving our standards.

We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Marie-Charlotte,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phan Thiet hotels
1.4 km away
Anantara Mui Ne Resort
Anantara Mui Ne Resort
#11 of 122 in Phan Thiet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
1.9 km away
Mia Resort Mui Ne
Mia Resort Mui Ne
#3 of 122 in Phan Thiet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
2.2 km away
Bamboo Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Cham Villas
Cham Villas
#1 of 122 in Phan Thiet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
13.0 km away
Pandanus Resort
Pandanus Resort
#1 of 20 in Mui Ne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
18.8 km away
Full Moon Village
Full Moon Village
#2 of 20 in Mui Ne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Resort & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Resort & Residences

Property: The Cliff Resort & Residences
Address: Zone 5 | Phu Hai Ward, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 122 Hotels in Phan Thiet
Price range (per night): RM301 - RM957
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Cliff Resort & Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the prime location of Mui Ne, The Cliff Resort & Residences is a brand new 4-star plus resort complex offering a majestic oceanfront setting with breathtaking views and sophisticated services. Situated on a 3-hectare picturesque piece of land, The Cliff consists of: 128 rooms with 95% sea view (beachfront bungalows, panoramic sea view condos & penthouse, beachfront villas with private swimming pool) - meeting room for up to 200 people - Vista Restaurant managed by famous Hoang Yen Restaurant Group - luxurious Zest Spa - The Den Entertainment: mini-cinema, karaoke, billiards, ping-pong... - Recreational facilities include 2 outdoor swimming pools, fitness center and a variety of beach sports: jetski, kayak, kite surfing, wind surfing...Business category: 4-star plus Resort & Residences. Employees in Vietnam: 250 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your The Cliff Resort & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing