We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$283
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort(Livingstone)
US$269
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Livingstone Backpackers(Livingstone)(Great Value!)
US$6
US$5
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chanters Lodge(Livingstone)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabonina Guesthouse(Livingstone)(Great Value!)
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zig Zag(Livingstone)
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bushfront Lodge(Livingstone)
US$99
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Asante Apartments(Livingstone)
US$103
US$91
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Bongwe Guesthouse and Camp(Livingstone)(Great Value!)
US$10
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
US$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
170
33
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
33
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite rhinogame drivesfamily tentarmed guardszambezi rivervic fallstented rooms arebig porchwildlife experienceregular visitsgreat boat ridenational parkpizza ovensliding glassspent two wonderful nightsexcursions includingfirst stop
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2017

I spent three amazing nights in this stunning safari lodge in the middle of Mosi-oa-Tunya N.P. This lodge combines all the attributes that make for a perfect safari camp. 1) Location: It is close to Victoria Falls (the Zambian side), and Mosi-oa-Tunya is the only park in Zambia where one is guaranteed to see white rhinos, a well-guarded, but endangered species.
2) Excellent service and a well-trained staff that takes pride in anticipating their guests' needs. 3) Beautifully decorated and spacious tents that rival the best accommodations anywhere on the African continent. Very romantic! Perfect for a honeymoon, but also great for a solo traveler who enjoys moments of quiet reflection. 4) Great guides and activities on the Zambezi River. 5) Amazing food.

What else is there to add? Perhaps the word PERFECTION says it all. After going on our morning and afternoon game drives or visiting Livingstone, it was such a great pleasure to return to Toka Leya Camp, which felt like home away from home from day one. There were little touches that made my stay special, such as getting a surprise gift of Amarula, my favorite South African liqueur, as a night cap when I returned from dinner. It was accompanied by a jar of delicious, home-baked cookies. Hmmm!

It was wonderful to lounge in my beautiful sofa on my spacious porch facing the mighty Zambezi River every afternoon after a mouth watering lunch. I almost didn't want to leave my cabin sometimes because I felt so happy and peaceful in my wonderful surroundings. I just wish that I'd had an extra day to myself to use the pool and just soak in the ambiance without having to adhere to a group schedule.

I can unconditionally recommend Toka Leya Camp to anyone visiting Livingstone. You will be pampered beyond your wildest dreams and won't want to go back home for a while.

Room Tip: My cabin was #11, which was a little far to walk to the Reception area. Ask for cabins numbered below #6 if you're concerned about walking.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecilia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Cecilia,

Thank you for your amazing review and phenomenal high praises. We hope you will come back and visit us soon and for a couple of days so that we can show you the full glory Toka Leya and the Mosi-oa-Tunya has to offer. We have a brochure full of activities to show you including the relaxation of the day Spa in camp. The Wellness Centre is a haven of tranquillity with a variety of spa treatments, such as massages, facials and nail care, while the gym and its panoramic deck is the ideal spot to practice inspired yoga or pilates.

Until we meet again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Toka Leya was a great way to start our safari experience in Africa. They have a great location in the park right next to the Great Zambezi River. We were there 3 nights and stayed busy the entire time. Great food and staff and everyone was so friendly. Especially thanks to Amon for working a logistics issue for us when we were due to transfer to the next camp and Houston our guide for great experiences in the vehicle and in the boat. Seeing the white rhinos were amazing. If you are going to the Victoria Falls area you are missing a great experience for you do not stay at Toka Leya.

Room Tip: Tent 12 has great view of the river and animals outside your door.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you Sam for the wonderful review, we are glad to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and delighted to have been able to share all these great experiences with you. We will be sure to share your kind words with Amon, Histon and all the staff in camp. Tracking rhino at Toka Leya is an exciting way of getting up close and personal with these Endangered animals. The Department of National Parks and Wildlife (previously ZAWA) scouts monitor the rhino 24 hours a day and therefore the animals’ whereabouts are always known.

We hope you will visit us again soon.
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Amazing service, food, and wildlife. This is the place is see hippos and likely some protected rhinos! Day we were leaving, we ran into a giant herd of elephants grazing. LOVED THIS CAMP!

They made our stay extremely special, and the air conditioning was a nice touch you don't get at many camps. Only hassle was border control, but that is to be expected in Africa.

Can't wait to return!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you Kim for your fabulous review, we are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and will be sure to share your kind words with all the staff in camp. Our location on the banks of the Zambezi offers regular sightings of elephant and hippo who often walk through camp too.

We hope you will visit us again soon
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Absolutely loved the setting, accommodations, staff and food at Toka Leya. The staff went out of their way to learn and use your name and provide you with everything they were able to. They were so attentive. The setting was phenomenal and what I call rustic elegance. Loved the animals, the feel and the location!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 10....but you must like to walk....it is far from the main area. Great views!!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you Ozzles for your wonderful review, we are delighted to read all your happy memories and will be sure to share your kind words with all our staff in camp. More than 85% of our camp staff come from remote, rural communities and for no less than 63% of them a job with Wilderness Safaris represents their first-ever formal employment. We feel this is the major contributor to our staff's ever present passion and commitment to what they do and also feeds into the Wilderness Safaris belief that, "Our journeys change lives".

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

It was a great time to be in Toka Leya in March. Although we stayed there for a night, we did a lot. We saw the African Finfoot in a boating trip, walked with white rhinos and a dream come true visit to the Vic falls. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joycane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Toka Leya Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Joycane,

We are glad to see you were able to squeeze so much into your short stay with us and such great sightings to boot. We hope you will come back for a longer stay.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews