We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great getaway from noisy popular tourist attractions”
Review of Gamagori Takeshima

Gamagori Takeshima
Ranked #2 of 30 things to do in Gamagori
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 19 April 2016

A hidden germ. My Japanese friend took me to this place when I visited her in Nagoya. The island was not crowed with usual groups of tourists. I enjoyed walking around Takeshima island and admiring its pretty sea, sky and calm atmosphere. A great place to take photos or just simply take a troll.

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank ourhour123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
Filter

6 - 10 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2016

Went there with my friend, Ryo after visiting the Laguna Beach. The island is accessible via a long walkway bridge. It is basically a shrine and we walked round the Island. The views are fantastic.

Date of experience: November 2015
2  Thank Thuku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016

Great island to walk over too, there is a long bridge crossing over to the island that has a temple built on it.
There is also a huge Buddha like statue on the mainland that can been seen from the island.
The statue is situated on a small hill, easy to get too by car but difficult to get there by foot.

Date of experience: March 2015
1  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2014 via mobile

We went here after reading about it on TripAdvisor, since it isn't mentioned in tourist guides. The small island is a perfect location for this temple and was visited by people from all ages.
If you take a walk around the island, you can enjoy some pretty views.
Since it is not so touristic and overcrowded, I liked it better than the shrines in Nikko.

2  Thank Janine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

It was agreeable to walk on the bridge over Mikawa bay. As you go over the bridge, you can climb the rock stairs go to the shrine built hundreds of years ago. It is one of seven biggest shrine of Benten, the Goddess of good fortune, in Japan. It was small site, but enjoyable for those who like walking in natural environment or looking at beautiful scenery.

Date of experience: August 2013
2  Thank ayazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gamagori Takeshima also viewed

Gamagori, Aichi Prefecture
Gamagori, Aichi Prefecture
 
Gamagori, Aichi Prefecture
Gamagori, Aichi Prefecture
 

Been to Gamagori Takeshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing