We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place with amazing food and service”
Review of Oyado Koto no Yume

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oyado Koto no Yume
Ranked #4 of 177 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2017

We stayed in a traditional room for 2 nights. The service was incredible and our room was fantastic.....very clean and the Ryokan staff will set up your bed while you are at dinner and vice versa when at Breakfast. The highlight of this place was certainly the food - everything was delicious and the experience of dressing up was just awesome!
Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Must try the traditional rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lejla8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 43 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

My girlfriend and I spent an amazing night together at this gorgous hotel. Magic! Service is way above average for Japan, price is reasonable for the quality and service you get. You wont find any better easily. Food is above average as well, we had amazing dinner and breakfast. We totally recommend the half board option for a small extra: you NEED to do this.

Easy walk to the old town and station. An oasis in the city!!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Giovanni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Excellent ryokan service with delicious breakfast and dinner kaiseki meals. Free summer yukata rental and aroma oill burner service, free coat to borrow for cold evening walks around town and umbrella if it rains. Very polite and helpful staff . Rooms are small though but staff speaks good English and are very welcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Violet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. The presentation and service was amazing. All the detailing, the interiors, the food was fantastic.
Matsuki and everyone at the ryokan was very kind and spoke good English.
I would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 136brettd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Came to this Rayokan after reading reviews on trip advisor, we ordered the one suite in this hotel, when arriving to the reception we figure up that it's very hard to communicate in English, when we asked to have milk for our coffee ( you have coffee machine in the room) they answered : "we have milk only in the morning".. when we asked to order a taxi they answer that we can take a bus...
we wanted to use the privet bath that they have in the hotel we needed to pay $10 after paying $500 a night!!!!!!
All the pictures they are posting in their website don't reflect the reality , it's ok to have an old 1950 rotary phone in your room to feel tradition but it's not ok to have only two towels per room that is old and needs long ago to be changed for new ones .
I must mention that the food in breakfast was very good and the service too .
If I need to summaries my review I would say
Come to Takayama it's amazing but choose another hotel it is not worth the money.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Navit Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#11 of 177 in Takayama
829 reviews
Best Western Hotel Takayama
#14 of 177 in Takayama
556 reviews
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#12 of 177 in Takayama
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hidatakayama Onsen
Ryokan Asunaro
Ryokan Asunaro
#3 of 177 in Takayama
274 reviews
Oyado Yamakyu
#1 of 177 in Takayama
326 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Honjin Hiranoya Kachoan
Honjin Hiranoya Kachoan
#6 of 177 in Takayama
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyado Koto no Yume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyado Koto no Yume

Address: 6-11 Hanasatomachi, Takayama 506-0026, Gifu Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Hidatakayama Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Takayama
#1 Spa Hotel in Takayama
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Takayama
Price Range: RM649 - RM1,314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oyado Koto no Yume 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koto no Yume is only 3minutes walk from Takayama Train Station. We are also within walking distance to old town district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Oyado Koto no Yume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyado Koto No Yume Hotel Takayama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing