We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
73
30
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
30
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuspension bridgetraditional japanese foodlock the doorenglish speaking staffhot springsspecial placeluxury ryokanjapanese ryokansmall townbreakfast and dinnerprivate onsencoastlinebathstokyoamenitiesprivacycottage
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Modern Ryokan nearby Izukogen station.
• The staff are friendly and the owner can speak good english so it won’t be problem.
• Breakfast and Dinner are delicious, it worth 4 stars. And, they serve western style breakfast too.
• Room is good size but the view is not that good. And the toilet and small hand washing sink are inside of room but the shower you need go to private hot spring area.
• Hot Spring, 7 private hot springs with locks are available 24 hours to enjoy in full privacy. I have to say it only two private hot springs are good but it always occupy. And other five hot spring place, it just like big bathroom. And the quality of hot spring water just in standard.
• Neighbourhood is very interesting. Coffee shop , Small museum,Teddy Bear museum, small restaurants nearby.

If you are first time to try Japanese Ryokan, I think you will feel good.
And they won't pick you up at station so you need to carry your own bag and walk 10 min. to there or Take taxi.
Overall , I think it is nice Ryokan if you want to stay nearby Izukogen Station.

Room Tip: Better to book 101 or 102. Bigger room and better view.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

From the moment we arrived we knew this would be an experience. We were treated to a warm welcome, and showed to our spacious rooms in the Rabbit Forest Villa where we were instructed on how to wear the yukata, and encouraged to remain in them for the duration of our stay. The setting was very peaceful and beautiful, with footpaths and walkways connecting the rooms and onsen. Being able to enjoy the onsen at any time of the day or night was a treat, and as a family we loved being able to have privacy.
Although we knew the kaiseki menu would be a challenge for the children, with the atmosphere of this special place they were quite willing to go along and try all the new experiences on offer here. We found everyone to be very friendly and the service was warm and attentive. All the amenities were thoughtfully considered, and the ryokan in general was very clean and well maintained, feeling very authentic. In the morning, there was time to do the short hike to the breathtaking coast and suspension bridge. Not to be missed! A lovely way to escape for a night or two from the bustle of Tokyo and the big city life.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

We went here for three things: escape, luxury and relaxation.

Escape: 2.5/5
While somewhat secluded in a wooded area, this ryokan is in the middle of a small town. We had to cross a road that runs between the main hotel grounds and our room. While it's a small-occupancy place, you're packed tightly together. The baths are underneath the rooms, so you can hear people while they're in there.

Luxury: 3/5
The grounds are beautiful, especially at night. The food is well-presented and seems luxurious, but as traditional Japanese food it might leave Western palettes desiring more. The service was fine. The staff was very nice, but weren't really striving to be top notch service. It reminded me more of a Best Western hotel.

The biggest problem is the condition of some of the baths. Two are disgusting and worn down, with the pavement turned black and bath tiles totally missing. I can't believe these are even open; I saw better conditions at a public bath house that cost 500 yen. Others are also worn down, with wood chipped and peeling away and other problems.

Relaxation: 4/5
Ignoring the condition of the baths themselves, they are extremely relaxing. In a normal onsen you have a cold bath nearby, which is my favorite part. No such cold bath here, but we got by.

The noise from other rooms, and the proximity of other buildings/cars, makes it difficult to fully escape. But it wasn't so bad. Also, there were several babies here. Why people bring their children to a quiet ryokan is beyond me.

A big awesome surprise was the walk to the cliffs and waterfall! You must do this.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ostentatiousboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights here and it was great. The cottage was spacious and cool, food very good, and the onsen baths are wonderful. The hike to the suspension bridge was very picturesque and we even swam in a Pacific lagoon on the way there. The coast is beautiful!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FranzPihl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We have been in this ryokan for our honeymoon travel.
After an inconvenience with our agency, we arrived in late, but immediately the lady at check in made us feel at ease and provided us with a room upgrade and hand-made candy sweets.
For both days they treated us king and queen with their usual kindness and with fantastic vegan dishes specially prepared for us only. Really recommended even for a vegan couple like us.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Davide L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews