We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
181
74
13
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
74
13
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese restaurant great hotel afternoon tea mount fuji shuttle bus nice view yen per person course menu nice park area amazing views twin room recommend this hotel clouds balcony lounge pricing drawback
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2018

About 30 minutes from Shizuoka station, we came to this hotel with elevated expectations. As per all other reviews, the view is magnificent (esp on a clear day) and the grounds amazing. Though rooms are on the smaller end, it was clean, functional and comfortable. We however felt the service to be lacking and if compared to the usual Japanese standards, severely underwhelming. With the influx of Chinese tourists, its foolhardy for some of the staff to apply the same brush of preconceptions to foreign guests. This is evident at check-in and breakfast service. We had dinner at the Japanese restaurant as we arrived late and enjoyed our experience. However, its one establishment we would give a miss the next time we pass by - in spite of the amazing views it holds.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank glnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

We spent nearly 2 weeks in Japan and i’m glad we chose to spend 2 days here to end our trip. It was so peaceful. Weather was beautiful, even though it was quite cloudy on the second day, we still enjoyed the views there. Breakfast is free and really good, I especially love their options for fresh fruits, fresh squeezed juice and their exclusive matcha jam ( omg i’m craving ). For lunch and dinner, we went to Terrace, which is the restaurant inside the hotel. Buffet lunch was amazing, side dishes were very unique and nice, i had the fish choice and loved it. Dinner was good, however, a bit too overpriced! We couldn’t get to try the Japanese restaurant bc we didn’t have reservation and at the time we came, it was packed.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Vy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Even better without clouds to hide mt. Fuji but the view is extremely beautiful.
Nice park area around. We have been here from the breakfast buffet, lunch, afternoon tea till dinner. Here comes the drawback. It was presented very decoratively. The ingredients were fresh and the location offered a nice view into the kitchen.
We enjoyed the afternoon tea by Mt. Fuji and take a walk into the garden for Fuji pictures of view.
Last thing, there is the shuttle bus from Shizuoka Station to hotel, so don't worry if you don't know how to get there.

Room tip: Best Fuji View.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

We booked through Agoda and had of course good pricing, but not the best category in the Hotel - so our room was super luxury but small - internet was super and breakfast was at the best in the wide-open-window-super-view-area of the hotel overlooking Shizuoka and if lucky get a glimpse of Mount Fuji at it s best !

Room tip: try to get room with view to Shizuoka and Fuji !
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juergen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

We visited Nippondaira for the second time now, and the hotel charmed me again just as much as the first time.
This time we were lucky not to start the weekend with a typhon, so Fuji-san was there in all beauty.
The architecture of the hotel is just magnificent. The rooms are so clean, bog, and amazing with that view from your bed! Windows from ceiling to floor, crisp clean. A stylish room, lovely bathroom, silent corridors, simple beauty.
We had dinner at The Terrace, and enjoyed a perfect course menu. The maitre d’hotel was very attentive yet discrete. Excellent chef they have!
Breakfast is fresh, not crowded, good coffee, smiling staff.
Apart from the ropeway, there might not really be much to do in the neighbourhood, but to stroll in the garden absorbing the view on a beautiful day. But really this hotel is a oase away from the busy daily life.
We stayed 1 night only, and returned home so relaxed and totally recharged.
Top score for Nippondaira!!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank karenabroad2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews