We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Toyoko Inn Hakodate-ekimae Asaichi
Nearby Hotels
US$148
US$79
FourPoints.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel WBF Grande Hakodate(Hakodate)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$136
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$252
US$190
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$144
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Hakodate Kokusai Hotel(Hakodate)
US$260
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$97
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$271
US$189
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Hotel Hakodate(Hakodate)(Great Value!)
US$110
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$121
US$59
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
59
171
45
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
171
45
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnigirimiso soupfree breakfastyour luggagerice ballshakodate morning marketgreat locationseafood marketjr hakodate stationexcellent marketjapanese style breakfastno frillsstreet car passthe ground floorreasonable pricebig sizecleaning service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018

The hotel main advantage is the location which is beside morning market asaichi where you could find fresh seafood, hairy crab, king crab, squid, etc and also yubari melon.

The hotel room is quite compact but with complete amenities.
Its standard hotel that you can stay for afordable price.

The breakfast also ok. Its a Japanese style breakfast. with some onigiri variant.
So far its best value for money hotel

Room Tip: Utilize under bed space for your luggage as the room is quite small for you and your luggage
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frans_Setiawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

Location is great at about 500m from Hakodate Station and morning market just beside. As with Toyoko Inn chain of hotels, rooms and amenities are of a expected standard throughout. However, I had a less than friendly encounter with the lady staff manning the lobby with my enquiry with check-in timing. Perhaps it was because I repeated the same query again just to be certain. This must had irked her as her reply was not polite at all. Whatever the case, I do not see it as a big issue. Just that when in Japan, it is not a norm not to get polite and good service. On the room itself, it is good as expected. Breakfast was the usual simple fare from Toyoko Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank madbirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017

We stayed in a twin bed room for 1 night. The hotel's main selling point is its location, only 5 min walk to Hakodate station, next to the morning market. Bus stop just right in front of the hotel and tram stop is only a short walk (about 5 min). There's also a popular ramen shop just 1 min walk opposite the hotel (and morning market).

The room was small. There's no place to open luggage. The hotel looked old but clean. Breakfast was basic so we just skipped it as there're plenty of nice food around. Overall, it's good for one night stay and would recommend for those looking for convenience and good price.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LQ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

When travelling alone and not for business saving money is sometimes good. You can do that with this Toyoko Inn without sacrificing too much comfort. It was my first time staying in a Toyoko Inn, but I had read a little and knew what to expect. Fixed rates, smallish rooms, basic amenities.
This hotel is only a few minutes walk from JR Hakodate station and easy to find at night from the distinctive blue neon sign on the top. When I arrived I happened to arrive around the same time as a big group, so it took a while to get my key. Reception staff were friendly, spoke a little English and honoured my request for a high floor, non-smoking.

Two small elevators service the 11 floors without too much waiting. The room itself was small (as I expected) but with a window right beside the bed, decent view.
Flat-screen TV - note the WiFi password is only available by turning on the TV.

The room felt clean but a little cold (the temperature on the wall said 15 degrees). The temperature on the A/C unit was set to 25 degrees, but the room never warmed up to this. As I didn't spend much time it the room, it wasn't really an issue, but could be for other travellers.

Bathroom is a small shower cabin. Shared system for the sink and shower. Very sensitive hot/cold tuning so not easy to get somewhere between scalding and freezing and there wasn't a lot of room in the bath/shower.

I got back to the hotel very late (or early depending on how you want to see it) and slept through the free breakfast. Toyoko Inn have a strict checkout 10am policy, otherwise it's 1000yen extra per hour. Very practical, but not in the least by cozy. The hotel is located right beside the morning market, so finding something to eat was not a problem.

The staff will keep your bag for you during the day so you can explore Hakodate even after checking out. I wouldn't stay here if travelling with my partner, but for a solo traveller this hotel suited me perfectly.

Room Tip: High floor rooms offer better views.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m_prebble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

This hotel is very well located for the JR station and the fish market which is literally only a 3 minute walk out of the front door away. The main reason we chose this hotel was because it's close proximity to the station and fish market, and we ate delicious seafood there every morning. It is also a 10 minute walk to the historic warehouse district, or a 2 minute tram ride away. There is a 7-11 convenience store about 3 minutes walk away as well, so it is a good base for exploring Hakodate.

The hotel was rather tired looking and was not in the best condition, but good enough for a short 2 night stay. The room was smaller than we had in Sapporo hotels, and was not in as good condition. The twin bed set up was very small and the only place we could store our luggage was under the beds. The bedding was also very old fashioned but clean and acceptable.

There were ice and drink vending machines close to our room so this was a good point. The rooms also have old style keys which have to be given to reception when you leave during the day. We found this a bit odd, but it wasn't really a security issue as Japan is very safe in that respect.

A basic hotel but recommended for price and location to fish market & JR station.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews