We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$154
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
japanican.com
US$147
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$133
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/02/23
Expedia.comUS$148
Hotels.comUS$148
KLOOKUS$175
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveller rating
123
255
91
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
123
255
91
14
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 490 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2019

I really like my room with a perfect view of Otaru canal which make me a great holliday. The Otaru canal just accross the street. We walk along the canal until late and wake up very early to find moring view from our room window. Love to come back.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank ChainarongP32
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Traveler10528213805, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2019

Thank you for staying with Hotel Nord Otaru.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Otaru.

Hotel Nord Otaru
Naomi Oiwa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2019

My second visit to Otaru and stayed in same hotel Nord. This time around brought friends and we stayed in 3 rooms. We spend fantastic time in Otaru. The hotel treat us well as our rooms were upgraded. The view from the hotel faced the bay and the sight of snowy Otaru canal was majestic. The view was even more beautiful from the restaurant in early morning. The services provided was great.

Room tip: 5th Flr facing sea.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mahli o
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
OtaruNord, front at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2019

Thank you for staying with Hotel Nord Otaru.
We sincerely appreciate for choosing our hotel again.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.
The four seasons can be distinctly experienced in Hokkaido,
and each season comes with its own sightseeing spots and seasonal food.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Otaru.
Hotel Nod Otaru Chieko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2019 via mobile

This hotel had a good location as it was right across Otaru canal and a 10 min walk from Otaru station however commuting with bags on snow covered streets can be extremely difficult.
We chose to take a taxi to the hotel from the train station and on our return too.
There is a bar in the hotel which servers finger food until 10 or 11pm .
Most restaurants outside the hotel shut at 8pm so if you need to grab a bite, head to the bar.
We didn’t opt for housekeeping service so it was very thoughtful of the staff to keep two bags filled with amenities outside our door as we had a DND on our door while we stepped out.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sha_dsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Traveler10528213805, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2019

Thank you for staying with Hotel Nord Otaru.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Otaru

Hotel Nord Otaru
Naomi Oiwa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2019

The hotel was wonderfully clean, efficient and traditional in the way they lay out pajamas for their guests. We were at the tail of a family reunion of 19 people (coming from London, Taiwan, China, Los Angeles and New York) and had come to Otaru for one night from a ski holiday in Niseko. The reception staff were wonderful and incredibly helpful with accommodating all of our ski luggage. The catering staff on the other hand, were a different story. In the breakfast room, they were surly and diffident almost as if they viewed the guests as something they had to put with which is unusual in Japan, a culture known for its efficient service. The biggest surprise and shock was the bar manager at the hotel's top floor bar that has a beautiful view. He was rude when some of the children in our group came up to say "good night". Instead of saying children weren't allowed, he kept saying, "there's smoking up here" all the time glaring at my sister-in-law to remove her children. When my niece who I only see twice a year came to give me a box of sweets because they were going back to the US early the next morning and were leaving before breakfast, the bar manager became incensed. He came over to our table, put his hand on the box of sweets and started shouting, "not here, no not here." My husband who is 1/2 Japanese says that touching someone else's possessions without their permission in Japanese culture is considered incredibly rude. So great hotel with a great location, too bad about the catering staff. The bar manager's behaviour that night cast a long shadow on me that night. I didn't sleep well as a result.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xtineway
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
OtaruNord, front at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.
Regrettably, we can't change what has already happened but our staff will try to learn from this so a similar situation does not happen in the future.
The guest can smoke only at the Bar.
Moreover, we will be working hard to improve our service so we can provide a more comfortable stay for our guests.
We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short.
If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have come to rely on.
Hotel Nord Otaru Chieko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2018 via mobile

The room is big and spacious in comparison to other hotel room size in Japan.
The service is good as well. The front desk personnel are so hardworking to serve customers.

There is only one complaint. The temperature controller in the room is somehow not working. The room is kind of old, furniture are old.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank wong_tigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
OtaruNord, front at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2018

Thank you for staying with Hotel Nord Otaru.
We will do our best service to satisficed for all guests.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Otaru.


Hotel Nord Otaru Masaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews