We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tze Hern C
Singapore, Singapore

Amazing services and location

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Jun 2019
This hotel is wonderful! The service staff were accommodating and patient and were able to answer every question we asked. The carpark was unfortunately not free (1200 yen) but it was high tech with the machine lifting the car into their parking space like the James Bond movies. The room was nice but unfortunately cramped, but it was extremely comfortable. The hotel was a 10-15 minute walk to the shopping street, which was convenient for a quick dinner or snack in the morning. The room also overlooks the Otaru canal which is a nice and clean canal which many tourists go and see. There is also free coffee.
Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OtaruNord, マネージャー at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this review
Responded 21 Jun 2019
Thank you for staying with Hotel Nord Otaru.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.
The four seasons can be distinctly experienced in Hokkaido,
and each season comes with its own sightseeing spots and seasonal food.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Otaru.


This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
RM 830
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 1,231
  • Agoda.com
    RM 765
  • Expedia.com
    RM 831
0.5 km from Hotel Nord Otaru
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 1,899
RM 1,150
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Agoda.com
    RM 1,899
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
    RM 1,150
0.0 km from Hotel Nord Otaru
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 544
  • Expedia.com
    RM 952
  • Priceline
    RM 516
  • Hotels.com
    RM 850
2.6 km from Hotel Nord Otaru
Free Wifi
Restaurant
ロビー
RM 1,434
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,643
  • Agoda.com
    RM 1,123
  • Priceline
    RM 1,380
0.5 km from Hotel Nord Otaru
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 831
  • Expedia.com
    RM 906
  • Agoda.com
    RM 731
  • Hotels.com
    RM 826
0.4 km from Hotel Nord Otaru
ホテル外観
RM 1,034
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,160
  • Agoda.com
    RM 496
  • Priceline
    RM 1,162
0.6 km from Hotel Nord Otaru
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Japanese Western River View for 4 at the Kuramure
RM 3,893
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    RM 3,486
  • Vio.com
    RM 3,695
  • Expedia.com
6.7 km from Hotel Nord Otaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Otaru
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveller rating
127
256
93
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
127
256
93
14
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 498 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2019

This hotel is located just right across Otaru Canal so we had a great view of it from the balcony. It is centrally located to most of the tourist spots we visited. It was near the JR station so we decided to just walk instead of taking the taxi. The hotel looked a bit old fashioned, but for me, that added to its charm.

We booked a room for four people, but we found it to be a bit cramped. We had to take turns opening our luggages. The room can get too warm at times even if we had turned on the A/C. The bath area was separate from the toilet area, which can be an advantage or disadvantage at times. Great exhaust though. There were other room amenities and/or facilities as well including the pajamas, which is quite typical of Japanese hotels.

They offer free coffee at the lobby as well as some skin care amenities. You can also borrow an umbrella. They also offer discount coupon for the restaurant nearby although we weren't able to use it. We arrived a few hours early before check-in time, but we were allowed to leave our luggages at the lobby. Thing to note though...their staff were not as friendly as the other hotels I've been to. They were accommodating, but something just seemed a bit off.

Room tip: Choose the room with a view of the canal
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OtaruNord, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2019

Thank you for staying with Hotel Nord Otaru.
We will do our best service to satisficed for all guests.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Otaru.

Hotel Nord Otaru Abe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2019 via mobile

Great location - directly opposite the Otaru Canal and less than 10 mins walk from the JR station. Slightly further to the popular Hokkaido dessert brands and the music box museum (about 20 mins walk).

Room size was little smaller than average Japanese hotel rooms. Tight for 2 pax and with luggages. Felt it could be better. Think they do have bigger sized rooms available.

Service was within expectations as with Japanese service standards.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank joeygtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OtaruNord, 宿泊部 at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2019

Thank you for staying with Hotel Nord Otaru.
We will do our best service to satisficed for all guests.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Otaru.

Hotel Nord Otaru Abe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2019

An amazing hotel that is simple to find. Beautiful view of the Otaru Canal and close to most tourist attraction, all in walking distance. The staff are helpful and friendly, plus free coffee and umbrellas for guests to use. The room was full of Japanese amenities, automated toilets, humidifier were provided. the room was quiet and adequately kept in a comfortable temperature.

Room tip: The view of the courtyard is magnificent.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mangpoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OtaruNord, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2019

Thank you for staying with Hotel Nord Otaru.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Otaru.

Hotel Nord Otaru Abe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2019

Location is very convenient. Walking distance to all the attraction and the canal just opposite the hotel! staff are very helpful through out the period stay from parking to room service. The room is just nice, enough space for breathing - i guess most of hotel in japan not very spacious.

Date of stay: February 2019
1  Thank chae84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Traveler10528213805, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2019

Thank you for staying with Hotel Nord Otaru.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Otaru.

Hotel Nord Otaru
Naomi Oiwa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2019

I really like my room with a perfect view of Otaru canal which make me a great holliday. The Otaru canal just accross the street. We walk along the canal until late and wake up very early to find moring view from our room window. Love to come back.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank Pulley Hostel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Traveler10528213805, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2019

Thank you for staying with Hotel Nord Otaru.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Otaru.

Hotel Nord Otaru
Naomi Oiwa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews