We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
197gabes
Singapore, Singapore

Great hotel with nostalgic vibe

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Jun 2024via mobile
The hotel is located at the opposite end of street from Otaru station and just in front of the Otaru canal. The design of the building both inside and outside blends in well with the surrounding, gives a very nostalgic vibe.
Stayed a few nights at the hotel and was very happy with its service and room. The room may be dated but everything works and there are even modern convenience like USB charging points. House keeping was impeccable, love coming back to the room and every time everything is neat and clean. Front desk service was also superb; efficient and yet you could feel their warm and friendly service. Special shoutout to a particular energetic front desk lady (sorry for not catching her name) that helped sorted out our blunder on 2 occasions, the first for locking out the room safe and another time for forgetting the room key. The most impressive part was that she took it herself to personally attend to each of the issue and was totally friendly and helpful throughout. Thank you for making our stay especially memorable.
The location of the hotel also makes it ideal to explore the city. Not too far from all the main tourist attractions but not too near till it’s crowded or noisy.
Recommend this place also because they have larger rooms that can accommodate a small family of 3 staying together. However these rooms don’t come with great view. But it’s still fine with us as there are so much to see and do outside.
Will look forward to returning for another stay when there is an opportunity.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nord Otaru, オーナー at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this review
Responded 12 Jun 2024
Thank you very much for staying at Hotel Nord Otaru.
Also, thank you very much for your comments.
We glad for praise from you, and you enjoyed staying with us.
All the staff are much appreciated it.
We will keep strive to improve our services.
Otaru can clearly sense the four seasons, and there are many sightseeing spots and seasonal foods recommended for each season.
We look forward to your continued patronage.

Hotel Nord Otaru
Reception
KAGA
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
RM 879
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 879
0.5 km from Hotel Nord Otaru
Free Wifi
Restaurant
ロビー
RM 1,995
RM 1,652
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,652
0.5 km from Hotel Nord Otaru
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 1,216
RM 985
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Hotel Nord Otaru
ホテル外観
RM 1,258
RM 1,164
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Hotel Nord Otaru
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 737
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 737
6.8 km from Hotel Nord Otaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Superior Twin - 軟石 design -
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 954
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Hotel Nord Otaru
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,125
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 1,106
  • Hotels.com
0.0 km from Hotel Nord Otaru
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,661
  • Rakuten Travel
    RM 1,629
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Hotel Nord Otaru
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Rakuten Travel
    RM 913
  • Expedia.com
    RM 955
2.6 km from Hotel Nord Otaru
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby at the Smile Hotel Otaru
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    RM 536
  • eDreams
  • Trip.com
0.4 km from Hotel Nord Otaru
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Otaru
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveller rating
127
256
93
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
127
256
93
14
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 498 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2024 via mobile

Hotel Nord has a distinctive dome, and strategic located at the junction of Otaru canal. Further along the road and back has lots of restaurants, Le Tao cake house, small street food and many glass shops plus iconic music box shop.
Very courteous front desk, the lady receptionists always "practically sprints" to get our vehicle from the mechanized car park.
An older hotel, still very maintained, clean rooms and bathroom, separate toilet interestingly and convenient. Loved the large bathroom shower adjoining the wash room.
Lift has the vintage dial and arrow for the floor indicator.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Wolv3rin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nord Otaru, オーナー at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2024

Thank you for staying at our hotel.
As you said, our hotel is located in the center of the canal and tourist area, making it very convenient.
Our staff always strives to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We move quickly to reduce the amount of time you have to wait for parking.
Also, it is true that many of the facilities at our hotel are becoming older. We hope to be able to use it for a longer period of time by performing maintenance as often as possible.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2023 via mobile

A comfortable place to stay though the hotel might looked old but it was recently refurbished. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially when we arrived at the hotel. The staff rushed out to direct our car to the parking space as the auto-carpark was closed for refurbishment. The room was cleaned though my window did not have any good views, everything functioned as it should be. The location is good; near to the canal and the shopping streets.
Cafes and convenience stores were within walking distance too.
Overall a good place to stay when in the area.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Kum Hoong Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nord Otaru, オーナー at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2023

Thank you for staying at our hotel.
We apologize for any inconvenience caused due to construction work in the parking lot.
However, we are very happy that you complimented the staff's response.
As you said, the hotel is located right next to the canal, making it very convenient for sightseeing.
If you come to Otaru again, please stay at our hotel again.
Hotel Nord Otaru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2022 via mobile

Great location and cool looking from the outside but inside the rooms are in desperate need of a renovation. Everything is old and beat up. I wouldn’t stay here again until they put some money into the hotel. That said, great staff and is in convenient.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SeanA756
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nord Otaru, オーナー at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2022

Thank you for staying at our hotel.
We will continue to maintain and clean the old facilities so that you will find them "quaint".
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2020

A Modern Hotel built to match the older History of the town and Canal. Enjoy the morning sun streaming through the Stunning Stain-Glass Window in the Lobby based on the local shipping industry. Enjoy the domed bar late at night for the ceiling "Star Constellation"!
Yes, the room was quite small, especially with luggage, but our room had a Canal View, and Surprize- a Relaxation Chair, nice after all that walking! 

Date of stay: October 2019
Thank AndraYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nord Otaru, オーナー at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2020

Thank you very much for using Hotel Nord Otaru.
Also, thank you very much for your comments.
We glad for praise from you, and you enjoyed staying with us.
All the staff are much appreciated it.
We will keep strive to improve our services.

Otaru can clearly sense the four seasons, and there are many sightseeing spots and seasonal foods recommended for each season.
We look forward to your continued patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2020

During its heyday as Hokkaido's financial hub, Otaru was known as the "Wall Street of the North" (ignore for the moment that New York is actually located at a higher latitude!)

Many lovely stone masonry buildings -- former bank buildings -- still exist from that era. While the Hotel Nord Otaru is a modern construction, I like that it had adopted that style.

The hotel uses one of those stacked system carparks, but happily, this one accommodates SUVs (such as our Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross). Throughout our two night stay, there was always a space for us, and our car was quickly dispensed at less than five minutes each time we needed it. When you pull in, the valet will clean your car of snow, and use a mallet to break off ice accumulated in your wheel arches, which is great service.

The hotel is ideally located along Otaru's famous canal, which also makes it a great location for the snow festival. (I believe the only other two establishments along the canal are the Furukawa and Sonia.) The following room categories have the view of the canal: Accessible Twin, Superior Twin, Executive Twin and both Grande types.

A couple of things to note: there are no laundry facitilites. And ice is a paid-for item, but thankfully at no markup (it was in fact ¥10 more expensive for the same tub at the kombini).

Room tip: The following room categories have the view of the canal: Accessible Twin, Superior Twin, Executive Twin and both Grande types.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank kwsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OtaruNord, 宿泊部 at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2020

Thank you for staying with Hotel Nord Otaru.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.
The four seasons can be distinctly experienced in Hokkaido,
and each season comes with its own sightseeing spots and seasonal food.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Otaru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews