We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mikawaya Ryokan
Nearby Hotels
Gora Tensui(Hakone-machi)
US$1,190
US$788
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Hakone Manatee(Hakone-machi)
US$535
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hakone Highland Hotel(Hakone-machi)(Great Value!)
US$828
US$463
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Senkei(Hakone-machi)
US$643
US$546
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ryokan 
Yugiriso(Hakone-machi)(Great Value!)
US$365
Trip.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$553
Trip.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel(Hakone-machi)(Great Value!)
US$669
Daihakone Hotel
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$850
US$549
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Yoshiike Ryokan(Hakone-machi)
US$636
US$284
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Gora Hanaougi(Hakone-machi)
US$1,533
US$742
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
90
47
12
10
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
47
12
10
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswestern style breakfastthe busodawara stationhelpful with directionsheated seatjapanese foodprivate onsenopen air bathhot springsin room diningseparate areapublic bathjapan tripexcellent staylimited englishown bathroomamazing experience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We stayed here for a couple of days after travelling around Japan and this certainly was my favorite part of the trip.

We had 2 rooms with private onsens. The private onsens were really nice and convenient and if you like your privacy, it's the perfect alternative to the public onsens. The other 2 public onsens were nice and clean too.
Heads up, there was no Wi-Fi there in the hotel so it's a nice downtime (if you want).
The tatami's were comfortable to sleep on and the staff made the rooms during the morning and in the evening e.g. they lay out the tatami's for you.

We stayed half board and the food (breakfast and dinner) was just amazing. Great flavors, plenty of variety (see pics) and the staff service was just exceptional.

We drove so we weren't reliant on public transport. There was a bus stop just outside the Ryokan but one will need to check the frequency of the buses.

Overall, very nice traditional Ryokan with amazing food. Great overall experience and can highly recommend this little beauty in Hakone.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icequeenling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We were travelling from Tokyo to Kyoto and decided to spend a night at a ryokan with a private bath for the experience. The "cottage" was oldish Japanese and clean overall. The dinner and breakfast was ok but nothing to write home about. Soaking outdoors in the cold in a natural hot spring bath was the highlight and it is an experience if this is what you came for. However you must be prepared to pay for this extravaganza! It has to be said we booked 2 weeks before our stay and had to pay more. So it is somewhat over priced for what you are getting.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ventana_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

From Tokyo we took the Odakyu Romance rail car to Hakone-Yumoto station. Where you could get lunch and quaint Japanese snacks before getting on the bus 2 to Horai-en which cost 580yen.

It started to rain when we were on our way to the ryokan. When we got off, a staff came towards us with umbrellas and carried our bags to the reception.

We checked into our Japanese villa with the private onsen, the room was good sized with a living/dinning area with a separate area for sleeping. Like everyone else who has been, this ryokan is really old yet quite well maintained.

Having private onsen is probably the best part of our stay as we could choose when we like to have a soak and not having to go to a public bath.

The food was the highlight of our stay as we were served beautifully prepared meal all in the comfort of our room. We were taken care of by a lady who could speak English and we only had to deal with her.

The 1 thing we felt could be done better is the check in and check out time. Which was 3pm and 10am in the morning! They run like clockwork here, 6pm dinner and 8.30am breakfast (not a min late!) We felt that it is quite short given the amount of money we paid. It would be more leisurely if we could checkout at say 12noon instead.





Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fiona_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I spent the last leg of our Japan trip at the beautiful Mikawaya Ryokan nestled in the mountainside in Hakone. It was a one day stay since it was a bit of a splurge but was worth every single penny.

Getting there:
We arrived at Odawara station from Kyoto. I highly recommend using either the coin storage here or the luggage forwarding service located at the bottom most floor (after exiting the station, go towards the buses and take both escalators down ... Yamato luggage forwarding service sent our suitcases to our next hotel the next day for around $13 usd each and we packed a day bag for the ryokan). I would recommend getting a bus map from the tourist info desk at the station. We took the H line bus into Hakone off platform 3 though this may change depending on the day or time you go. The bus stops directly across from the ryokan and takes about 30-35 mins (take Dramamine if you get motion sickness as the roads are crazy windy). Stop is Horai-en they will announce upcoming stops in English on the bus! Cost per person for the bus is about 860 yen or $8.60 usd get change beforehand or use Suica card!

The ryokan:
The ryokan and grounds themselves are STUNNING. Yes, it is close to the street and you can hear noise on your balcony but honestly, that didn't distract from the experience. It was raining when we arrived and they rushed out with umbrellas for us when they saw us coming. We immediately changed into slippers and received a reception tea with sweets. You choose your dinner time at the dining area (private villas get in room dining and everyone else gets a reservation in the on site dining area which is so quaint)

One of the staff members gave us a brief tour of the ryokan and room in English and showed us how to wear the yukatas which were worn for lounging the entire length of our stay!

Yes, it's not modern and there are signs of wear but we came exactly for that...we wanted a taste of old world Japan and this ryokan has been around for over 100 years. It was a fantastic opportunity to unwind and truly relax. We paid for the room with private onsen which was definitely worth it. Outdoor shower is used before entering but sink and toilet (with heated seat!!!) are inside. The onsen is heavenly, I soaked over 7 times!

The bed sheets are soft and the sleep mats were surprisingly comfortable. That or I was just so relaxed and happy, I slept so well!

Food:
Omg the food alone was so amazing!!! The Kaiseki style meal is artfully arranged using local and seasonal ingredients. We had a wonderful lady serve us during our stay and she spoke some English though not enough to explain every dish. Still, it was the best meal of my life served over 7-8 courses in a little over an hour. (Highlights were wagyu beef hotpot style and sashimi platter)

The breakfast is served in one platter (Japanese style) and is just as delicious!

Overall, this was the best service I have ever received and one of the best meals I have ever had hands down. When the clouds roll through the mountains you will truly feel as you have somehow arrived at the spa of the gods! A unique and unforgettable experience.


Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
5  Thank rxirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We stayed in the Japanese style villa so our experience relates to these rooms. Not all rooms are the same and don't all have meals in room like we did.
If you do stay in one of these villas you will not be disappointed. loads of room your own garden with own onsen all privately screened from everywhere else and quiet. Or daughters were in the next villa and we couldn't hear them ! breakfast and dinner all served in room by delightful ladies in traditional dress. you are also supplied with yukata to dress in for meals and this is the polite thing to do. the food was amazing my daughters counted 12 courses for dinner. all beautifully prepared either in your villa or skilfully without you realising delivered to you. you will need to be easy about what you eat as there is no choice. you do get a choice of western or Japanese breakfast both wonderful and plentiful. I would recommend the Japanese for one day at least as its so special. This holel is well placed for the buses stops right in front of hotel and it is about 10-15 minute walk to the scenic train at Kowakien. a nice walk off the main road go out straight opposite the hotel. as we had our own villa we did not use any of the public rooms of the hotel or the restaurant. this really is a private wonderful experience. they were able to forward our luggage to Kyoto. nothing was too much trouble yet you have an amazing sense of solitude and peace. we had western toile and the ubiquitous shower and plunge bath also in the villa , separate bedroom and obviously it is futon beds ! Get the maps of this area from Odawara station before you leave their. this helps you not have to keep asking about things. I would say you need minimum 2 nights in this region to enjoy it fully there is plenty to see and do. see my other reviews of attractions.

Room Tip: chose the Japanese style villa for privacy, luxury and an experience you will never get elsewhere in the whole world
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JayceeSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews