We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mikawaya Ryokan
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ryokan 
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Hakone Kazan(Hakone-machi)
View Hotel
Ryokan 
Kanagata Hakoneso(Hakone-machi)
View Hotel
Ryokan 
Hakone Suishoen(Hakone-machi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hakone Tokinoshizuku(Hakone-machi)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Ryokan 
Yudokoro Choraku(Hakone-machi)
View Hotel
Ryokan 
Hakone Kyuan(Hakone-machi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
shiki club Sensenkaku(Hakone-machi)
View Hotel
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
90
47
12
10
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
47
12
10
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswestern style breakfastthe busodawara stationhelpful with directionsheated seatjapanese foodprivate onsenopen air bathhot springsin room diningseparate areapublic bathjapan tripexcellent staylimited englishown bathroomamazing experience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

We had rooms with private onsens. The water was very hot so we had to cool it before using, but then it was so refreshing.
The room was lovely. Really good food, beautifully presented. The staff were so helpful. We selected western breakfast.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SkierLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

An excellent stay in a gorgeous traditional ryokan. We booked a room with a private onsen, which was big enough for 2. We also took advantage of both the inside and outside public onsen - just keep in mind you can't wear a swimsuit in the onsen.

The dinner is spectacular and a small glass of delicious yuzu wine is included. We ended up ordering about 4 more glasses! We opted for the traditional Japanese breakfast which was good - but I think eating savoury Japanese food requires some practice. Maybe try the English breakfast if you're a bit fussier in your eating habits.

The staff were very hospitable and friendly, and we felt totally relaxed while we were there. A must-do in Hakone.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank kittysquish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

Had a wonderful time at this traditional inn. Location is excellent, away from Odawara's business, in the mountains, yet bus stop is only a 5 minute walk. Dinner -full kaiseki 12 courses, very fresh and unique dishes. Breakfast you can request Western food, if you are tired of Japanese . Requested private onsen in room, so worth it, it was open air, so you could soak at night looking at the sky.You also wash up outside, since the hand shower is outside too, not in your room . Only the washroom and sink is in your room.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edith Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

This is the place if you are looking for traditional Japanese ryokan experience.
Location is excellent, there is a bus stop from odawara station and hakone station, the station is horai-en, they announce the ryokan on the bus. A different bus takes you to Gora park in 15 min to start Hakone loop.
The staff is excellent. Only the reception people speak English, they are super helpful with directions and schedules and recommendations.
You have to leave your shoes and wear the slippers, but cannot wear any shoes on tatami floors inside the room.
On arrival you will get tea in the lounge and property tour. We arrived around 2 pm on the weekday and were lead on the tour/ to the room immediately. You get comfortable yukatas to wear around the property and in the gardens. Our hostess even changed them a few times looking for perfect size.
The gardens around and just across the ryokan are lovely. The views are great and even the bus ride on winding roads is exhilarating.
Meals are exquisite. I like dinner more than breakfast. It is kaiseki style, essentially tasting menu of delicate and well made local Japanese specialties. Dinner is beautifully presented and highlight of stay. Not for people not loving fish however or averse to raw fish. They do have a delicious course of steak shabu shabu or tender steak, but just one course. Food is very well prepared. There is western option for breakfast, Japanese option has more food courses.
Open air bath and outside shower are to die for, really a special treat, just great private hot springs experience surrounded by nature.
The downside is that rooms, while very clean are somewhat older, still in good condition, but hallways are dark and dingy and smell of wetness. The tatami sleeping is a part of experience, quite comfortable, but we did not like it too much; however we signed up for it and the staff is very efficient laying out bedding during your dinner. Definitely would be a problem for anyone with impaired mobility in terms of getting up.
Hakone has a lot of activities, great particularly in good weather.
Overall would recommend for a short 1-2 day stay to explore Hakone from this convenient location, enjoy the osen and get Japanese guesthouse experience.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank ldjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

This a traditional Ryokan (if I remember well, it dates from about 1870) in a very beautiful region (Hakone), easy to reach from Tokyo. The Ryokan offers separate units, each with their own onsen (one indoors, another outdoors). Food is served in the room. This is Japan: it goes without saying that the food is delicious. The service is great. Just one thing: the water's temperature in the onsen is a little too high. I loved this Ryokan!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Michele489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews