We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$164
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
US$166
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
US$172
US$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$245/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Super Hotel Lohas JR Nara-eki(Nara)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Smile Hotel Nara(Nara)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
Mikasa(Nara)
US$241
US$196
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
US$104
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (802)
Filter reviews
802 results
Traveller rating
366
309
89
29
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
366
309
89
29
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew winghigh ceilingsold buildingold worldjapanese restaurantmain buildinghistorical hotelclassic hotelgrand hoteldalai lamathe main dining roomgrand damehotel drivewaywell trained staffalbert einsteinbreakfast is servedexpensive hotel
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 802 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2017

This really is a classic hotel. Some might call the "new" wing dated but its now I think better to call it retro. With the destruction of the old Okura this is an even rarer treat. The old wing has fantastic Japanese-ish rooms that are 100% gaijin friendly. The whole place just oozes atmosphere. Its on the edge of the park so a bit of a walk to the sights, but the hotel will rent you bicycles, and some room rates throw these in free. We didnt eat in but the restuarant looked reasonable value for formal dining. Excellent bar. Great staff. You'll find plenty cheaper but none more memorable in Nara.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SingBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
奈良ホテル, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Nara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear SingBob,


Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful comment with us.
We are absolutely glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in here.
Our new wing was built in 1984 with larger room and comfortable bathroom.
We do have a plan including rental bicycle, or they are available 864 JPY (for changeable gear bicycle) or 1296 JPY (for electrical powered bicycle) for 1 day.
We do hope to welcome you back in near future, and thank you again for choosing Nara Hotel.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

This hotel has a long history. We really enjoyed the architecture, quiet atmosphere, and good food. Especially, the garden was wonderful and we enjoyed the walk along the lake in the morning. If you want to enjoy the old city', this hotel must be part of that.

Room Tip: I would choose a room in the older part of the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shigekoo2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
奈良ホテル, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Nara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear shigekoo2017,

Thank you very much for choosing Nara Hotel.
We are happy to hear your review about us.
Our small garden beside the lake is quiet in the morning, and you might see deer walking around if you are lucky.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back, and thank you again for sharing your feedback.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

I chose this hotel for my 5 days trip in Nara. Bus from Kansai Airport has a stop next to the hotel. A 5 minutes walk up hill. The ride should be 1.5 hrs but it took us only 1 hr. Round trip is JPY3,900 (approx. USD35).

We stayed at the new wing with breakfast and paid USD180 per night. It is very reasonable and the room is 33 sq m. Very spacious in Japan.

We had dinner in the Japanese restaurant. They have spectacular sunset view. If the weather is good, go early at 5:30 pm. Dinner set starts from JPY7,000 (approx. USD63). Very cheap with the food and service you get. They provide discount coupon from 10%-20% for the Bar and Cafe. The Cafe will turn into Bar at night! We had afternoon tea there, a glass of Champaign + a cake charged less than JPY1,040! I took 2 sets myself as the weather is so nice with the garden view and sunshine... In the evening, we went for the ice-cream and saw a female deer went to their bedroom which is next to the pond with her cub. What a bonus!

Location is good. We like to go to the park which is just 10 minutes walk. Cafes and restaurants are nearby by walking down the staircase to the car park area. 10-20 minutes walk with quite a lot of choices.

Staff is very helpful and speaks English. I asked them to book a day trip onsen with dinner in Nara and return bus trip to Kansai Airport. No problems at all! The onsen hotel even provides a free pick up service from the train station to the onsen on call (not on schedule)!

I already start to plan my next trip in Nov for the maple and ginkgo tree. This time I will try the room in the old wing. Hope the weather will be as good as my June trip!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rediscool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
奈良ホテル, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Nara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Dear rediscool,

Thank you very much for choosing Nara Hotel.
It is our pleasure to hear your good review about your stay in our hotel.
Nara Hotel is located in the corner of Nara Park and have a good access to shrines and temples.
Our Tea lounge and Bar lounge keeps a remnant of Meiji era, with Pagoda view across the pond.
We are glad to hear you have enjoyed our restaurants.
We truly hope to welcome you back to Nara Hotel in near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

An historic hotel built in 1909, with a storied past. A bit musty and needing a freshening up. A sharp contrast to the other historic hotel we stayed in at the beginning of our trip, The Imperial Hotel in Tokyo. It is possible to retain the history while polishing the edges and renovating. We are staying 3 nights in the modern wing on the 3rd floor (highly recommend, as the hotel is built on a hill and the accommodations go down the hill from the top lobby) with a nice sized room, balcony and lovely view through the forested trees. Several downsides, (1) at the edge of the park and not near other restaurants so need to eat in the hotel for breakfast (2) although they have wifi, attaching to the Internet is clumsy, requiring a complete restart to your browser and not always working - I keep several tabs always open for tripadvisor reviews, etc. and I had to quit out of them all because there is a 2 part attaching to the Internet. As for breakfast, it is advertised as 2,400 yen complete which is too much food and a bit pricey. Upon further investigation, found that they do offer a la carte (not advertised at all in room information) which was more reasonable in terms of price and size of meal. Location good for walking to Todoji temple with the great Buddha and Nara park. Front desk very helpful, good service with bags, and good help when the wifi wouldn't connect to the Internet (twice already in one day's stay).

Room Tip: If in new wing, 3rd floor with view through the trees
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cal_Travel_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
奈良ホテル, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Nara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thank you very much for your stay at Nara Hotel.
Our historical main building was built in 1909, designed by Kingo Tatsuno, who has also designed Tokyo station.
The mixture of Japanese Momoyama style and Western style reminds of old days in early 20 centuries, but it also need refreshing up as you suggested.
Currently the main building is under construction against earthquake, but we also go on with renovating our rooms.
Also, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience about our wi-fi.
Your feedback is valuable to us and will be shared with our team.
Thank you again for sharing your comment, and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

The breakfast was outstanding. It's served on the cleanest dishes and cutlery I have ever experienced (it's immediately noticeable) in a beautiful, high-ceiling, grand-hotel-style dining room with views of the outdoors and a distant pagoda by a well-trained staff. The architecture of the hotel is 1908 Arts-and-Crafts movement and they have wisely kept it untouched. Our room was in this style. The exterior of the hotel is impressive, and it has a long history of visiting royalty and movie stars. Our bathroom was small without room to lay out our toiletries. There was free tea in the room, but if you wanted coffee, you had to pay per cup (300 yen, which is about $2. 80).

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
奈良ホテル, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Nara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.
We are absolutely delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We serve our traditional French dishes in the main dining room Mikasa, in which we keep a few of our famous drawings such us Taikan Yokoyama.
We share your wonderful comment with our team, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews