We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nara Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Nara Royal Hotel(Nara)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Mikasa(Nara)
US$280
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$271/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$86
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
US$231
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
US$167
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$165
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Comfort Hotel NARA(Nara)(Great Value!)
US$62
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$252
US$174
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$195/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Tsubakiso(Nara)
US$201
US$178
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$65
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (793)
Filter reviews
793 results
Traveller rating
362
304
89
29
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
304
89
29
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew winghigh ceilingsold worldold buildinghistorical hotelmain buildingjapanese restaurantclassic hotelgrand hoteldalai lamathe main dining roomgrand damehotel drivewaywell trained staffalbert einsteinbreakfast is servedexpensive hotel
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 793 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We only booked this hotel late in the afternoon on Bookings.com & got a good deal. The room was big for Japan. We could walk to the deer park. We also went to a German Beer Festival which only took 10mins to walk to. The staff were very polite & friendly. We bought our own food for breakfast at the convenient store. We could park our car here for free. I would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allisonj30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
奈良ホテル, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Nara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Allisonj30,

Thank you very much for choosing Nara Hotel.
We are really glad to see your review and know that you have enjoyed staying in our hotel.
Our hotel is in the part of Nara Park, and close to German Beer Festival held in Nara last June.
And about the car park, the guest stay in our hotel can use them for free.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Nara Hotel.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

This really is a classic hotel. Some might call the "new" wing dated but its now I think better to call it retro. With the destruction of the old Okura this is an even rarer treat. The old wing has fantastic Japanese-ish rooms that are 100% gaijin friendly. The whole place just oozes atmosphere. Its on the edge of the park so a bit of a walk to the sights, but the hotel will rent you bicycles, and some room rates throw these in free. We didnt eat in but the restuarant looked reasonable value for formal dining. Excellent bar. Great staff. You'll find plenty cheaper but none more memorable in Nara.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SingBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
奈良ホテル, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Nara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear SingBob,


Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful comment with us.
We are absolutely glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in here.
Our new wing was built in 1984 with larger room and comfortable bathroom.
We do have a plan including rental bicycle, or they are available 864 JPY (for changeable gear bicycle) or 1296 JPY (for electrical powered bicycle) for 1 day.
We do hope to welcome you back in near future, and thank you again for choosing Nara Hotel.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

This hotel has a long history. We really enjoyed the architecture, quiet atmosphere, and good food. Especially, the garden was wonderful and we enjoyed the walk along the lake in the morning. If you want to enjoy the old city', this hotel must be part of that.

Room Tip: I would choose a room in the older part of the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shigekoo2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
奈良ホテル, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Nara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear shigekoo2017,

Thank you very much for choosing Nara Hotel.
We are happy to hear your review about us.
Our small garden beside the lake is quiet in the morning, and you might see deer walking around if you are lucky.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back, and thank you again for sharing your feedback.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

I chose this hotel for my 5 days trip in Nara. Bus from Kansai Airport has a stop next to the hotel. A 5 minutes walk up hill. The ride should be 1.5 hrs but it took us only 1 hr. Round trip is JPY3,900 (approx. USD35).

We stayed at the new wing with breakfast and paid USD180 per night. It is very reasonable and the room is 33 sq m. Very spacious in Japan.

We had dinner in the Japanese restaurant. They have spectacular sunset view. If the weather is good, go early at 5:30 pm. Dinner set starts from JPY7,000 (approx. USD63). Very cheap with the food and service you get. They provide discount coupon from 10%-20% for the Bar and Cafe. The Cafe will turn into Bar at night! We had afternoon tea there, a glass of Champaign + a cake charged less than JPY1,040! I took 2 sets myself as the weather is so nice with the garden view and sunshine... In the evening, we went for the ice-cream and saw a female deer went to their bedroom which is next to the pond with her cub. What a bonus!

Location is good. We like to go to the park which is just 10 minutes walk. Cafes and restaurants are nearby by walking down the staircase to the car park area. 10-20 minutes walk with quite a lot of choices.

Staff is very helpful and speaks English. I asked them to book a day trip onsen with dinner in Nara and return bus trip to Kansai Airport. No problems at all! The onsen hotel even provides a free pick up service from the train station to the onsen on call (not on schedule)!

I already start to plan my next trip in Nov for the maple and ginkgo tree. This time I will try the room in the old wing. Hope the weather will be as good as my June trip!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rediscool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
奈良ホテル, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Nara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Dear rediscool,

Thank you very much for choosing Nara Hotel.
It is our pleasure to hear your good review about your stay in our hotel.
Nara Hotel is located in the corner of Nara Park and have a good access to shrines and temples.
Our Tea lounge and Bar lounge keeps a remnant of Meiji era, with Pagoda view across the pond.
We are glad to hear you have enjoyed our restaurants.
We truly hope to welcome you back to Nara Hotel in near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

An historic hotel built in 1909, with a storied past. A bit musty and needing a freshening up. A sharp contrast to the other historic hotel we stayed in at the beginning of our trip, The Imperial Hotel in Tokyo. It is possible to retain the history while polishing the edges and renovating. We are staying 3 nights in the modern wing on the 3rd floor (highly recommend, as the hotel is built on a hill and the accommodations go down the hill from the top lobby) with a nice sized room, balcony and lovely view through the forested trees. Several downsides, (1) at the edge of the park and not near other restaurants so need to eat in the hotel for breakfast (2) although they have wifi, attaching to the Internet is clumsy, requiring a complete restart to your browser and not always working - I keep several tabs always open for tripadvisor reviews, etc. and I had to quit out of them all because there is a 2 part attaching to the Internet. As for breakfast, it is advertised as 2,400 yen complete which is too much food and a bit pricey. Upon further investigation, found that they do offer a la carte (not advertised at all in room information) which was more reasonable in terms of price and size of meal. Location good for walking to Todoji temple with the great Buddha and Nara park. Front desk very helpful, good service with bags, and good help when the wifi wouldn't connect to the Internet (twice already in one day's stay).

Room Tip: If in new wing, 3rd floor with view through the trees
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cal_Travel_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
奈良ホテル, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Nara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thank you very much for your stay at Nara Hotel.
Our historical main building was built in 1909, designed by Kingo Tatsuno, who has also designed Tokyo station.
The mixture of Japanese Momoyama style and Western style reminds of old days in early 20 centuries, but it also need refreshing up as you suggested.
Currently the main building is under construction against earthquake, but we also go on with renovating our rooms.
Also, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience about our wi-fi.
Your feedback is valuable to us and will be shared with our team.
Thank you again for sharing your comment, and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews