We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic and Charming”
Review of Nara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels / Ryokan in Nara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

The hotel is historic and charming. It has a beautiful garden surrounding it and is close to restaurants and landmarks/sites.

We originally booked a courtyard room which are the rooms in the original/older wing of the hotel but they can only give us a twin bed. They however kindly put us in the new wing to accommodate.

From seeing both rooms in both wings, both are outdated and need freshing up.

Overall the hotel has a certain charm to it due to its history.

Breakfast came with our package which was served at the French restaurant. You have a choice of Japanese bento, Japanese congee or Western breakfast.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank VST2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
奈良ホテル, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Nara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear VST2011,

Thank you for staying with us at Nara Hotel.
We appreciate your positive review about us.
Our Main building is under construction against earthquake, and planning some refreshment altogether.
We do hope to welcome you back in near future, and again thank you very much for your comment.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 725 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2017

We only booked this hotel late in the afternoon on Bookings.com & got a good deal. The room was big for Japan. We could walk to the deer park. We also went to a German Beer Festival which only took 10mins to walk to. The staff were very polite & friendly. We bought our own food for breakfast at the convenient store. We could park our car here for free. I would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allisonj30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
奈良ホテル, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Nara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Allisonj30,

Thank you very much for choosing Nara Hotel.
We are really glad to see your review and know that you have enjoyed staying in our hotel.
Our hotel is in the part of Nara Park, and close to German Beer Festival held in Nara last June.
And about the car park, the guest stay in our hotel can use them for free.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Nara Hotel.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

This really is a classic hotel. Some might call the "new" wing dated but its now I think better to call it retro. With the destruction of the old Okura this is an even rarer treat. The old wing has fantastic Japanese-ish rooms that are 100% gaijin friendly. The whole place just oozes atmosphere. Its on the edge of the park so a bit of a walk to the sights, but the hotel will rent you bicycles, and some room rates throw these in free. We didnt eat in but the restuarant looked reasonable value for formal dining. Excellent bar. Great staff. You'll find plenty cheaper but none more memorable in Nara.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SingBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
奈良ホテル, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Nara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear SingBob,


Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful comment with us.
We are absolutely glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in here.
Our new wing was built in 1984 with larger room and comfortable bathroom.
We do have a plan including rental bicycle, or they are available 864 JPY (for changeable gear bicycle) or 1296 JPY (for electrical powered bicycle) for 1 day.
We do hope to welcome you back in near future, and thank you again for choosing Nara Hotel.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

This hotel has a long history. We really enjoyed the architecture, quiet atmosphere, and good food. Especially, the garden was wonderful and we enjoyed the walk along the lake in the morning. If you want to enjoy the old city', this hotel must be part of that.

Room Tip: I would choose a room in the older part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shigekoo2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
奈良ホテル, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Nara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear shigekoo2017,

Thank you very much for choosing Nara Hotel.
We are happy to hear your review about us.
Our small garden beside the lake is quiet in the morning, and you might see deer walking around if you are lucky.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back, and thank you again for sharing your feedback.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

I chose this hotel for my 5 days trip in Nara. Bus from Kansai Airport has a stop next to the hotel. A 5 minutes walk up hill. The ride should be 1.5 hrs but it took us only 1 hr. Round trip is JPY3,900 (approx. USD35).

We stayed at the new wing with breakfast and paid USD180 per night. It is very reasonable and the room is 33 sq m. Very spacious in Japan.

We had dinner in the Japanese restaurant. They have spectacular sunset view. If the weather is good, go early at 5:30 pm. Dinner set starts from JPY7,000 (approx. USD63). Very cheap with the food and service you get. They provide discount coupon from 10%-20% for the Bar and Cafe. The Cafe will turn into Bar at night! We had afternoon tea there, a glass of Champaign + a cake charged less than JPY1,040! I took 2 sets myself as the weather is so nice with the garden view and sunshine... In the evening, we went for the ice-cream and saw a female deer went to their bedroom which is next to the pond with her cub. What a bonus!

Location is good. We like to go to the park which is just 10 minutes walk. Cafes and restaurants are nearby by walking down the staircase to the car park area. 10-20 minutes walk with quite a lot of choices.

Staff is very helpful and speaks English. I asked them to book a day trip onsen with dinner in Nara and return bus trip to Kansai Airport. No problems at all! The onsen hotel even provides a free pick up service from the train station to the onsen on call (not on schedule)!

I already start to plan my next trip in Nov for the maple and ginkgo tree. This time I will try the room in the old wing. Hope the weather will be as good as my June trip!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rediscool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
奈良ホテル, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Nara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Dear rediscool,

Thank you very much for choosing Nara Hotel.
It is our pleasure to hear your good review about your stay in our hotel.
Nara Hotel is located in the corner of Nara Park and have a good access to shrines and temples.
Our Tea lounge and Bar lounge keeps a remnant of Meiji era, with Pagoda view across the pond.
We are glad to hear you have enjoyed our restaurants.
We truly hope to welcome you back to Nara Hotel in near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nara hotels
Nara Station
Hotel Nikko Nara
Hotel Nikko Nara
#3 of 64 in Nara
1,086 reviews
Kasuga Hotel
#11 of 64 in Nara
93 reviews
Noborioji Hotel Nara
#4 of 64 in Nara
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nara Station
Hotel Fujita Nara
Hotel Fujita Nara
#9 of 64 in Nara
238 reviews
Hotel Sunroute Nara
#12 of 64 in Nara
126 reviews
Nara Royal Hotel
#14 of 64 in Nara
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nara Hotel

Address: 1096 Takabatake-cho, Nara 630-8301, Nara Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Nara Prefecture > Nara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels / Ryokan in Nara
Price Range: RM650 - RM8,301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing