We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jr Kyushu Hotel Kumamoto
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Shirogane(Kumamoto)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Hotel Gobankan(Kumamoto)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Hotel Shokaku(Kumamoto)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Hotel Honjin(Kumamoto)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
34
95
49
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
95
49
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskfamily martmini fridgereasonable sizetrain stationdouble bedrouterbusstopethernetjrrailtvamenitieswifienglishexitbaggage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Right at the JR station, it is convenient if you are using the train. There is a noodle restaurants , hamburger and a convenience store around. The rooms are better size than in general in Japan. It was clean and comfy. The bed was also comfy, not too soft not too hard. Good size tv. Tea, coffee, a kettle and mini fridge as amenities. No noise despite of being close to the station. Wifi available but you need to get the device kit at the reception.The bathroom was also a reasonable size , not cramped like in many business hotels in Japan and had some simple amenities. The location is close to the station but not exactly to the center of the city, that may be the only point. Nice and comfortable stay , to recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williefil13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
フロント谷口, お客様担当マネージャー at Jr Kyushu Hotel Kumamoto, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Thank you for your stay and your post.
I'm glad you were pleased.
As you pointed out, the station is close but it is a bit far from downtown.
However, it can be reached by bus or train in about 15 minutes, so it is perfect for sightseeing and business.
We wish we welcome you someday again.
We appreciate your contribution while you are busy.

Sincerely yours,

JR Kyushu Hotel Kumamoto
Taniguchi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

This hotel was right beside the train station but was very quiet. The rooms are clean and a reasonable size. The local trains and buses are very lose so getting to the sightseeing places is easy. Some places are also just walkable.

Room Tip: Higher is always better
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
フロント谷口, お客様担当マネージャー at Jr Kyushu Hotel Kumamoto, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thank you for your stay and your post.
Our hotel is right next to the station.
In addition, there are bus stops and tram station nearby, so many customers find pleasure are pleased with convenient transportation.
Of course, we clean all rooms with our whole heart every day.
We wish we welcome you someday again.
We appreciate your contribution while you are busy.

Sincerely yours,

JR Kyushu Hotel Kumamoto
Taniguchi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

Very convenient as it is a short walk to get to the hotel. English is spoken well at the front desk. They had direct internet LAN connect in the rooms. They also had limited mini-routers for those who needed WI-FI in the rooms. I had a very comfortable stay. The neighborhood around this area is quiet. It is not the shopping and entertainment area which is closer to the Kumamoto Castle area. To get to the shopping area it’ll cost approx 1000-yen or a flat 170-yen on the tram.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DYA717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

Small room but everything worked as expected. Good hotel if you are wanting a quick visit to Kumamoto via JR. Helpful reception staff with reasonable English skills. Very close to train station but no train noise at night.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robboterrigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

Booked for early morning Shinkansen trip after hiking in Gokanosho mountains. Paid a bit extra for the double room, as traveling as a couple. Room large for Japan as the 2 X single bed "double bed" rooms appear to be at the end of the corridor facing the outside of the building hence also good city view. Staff super friendly and looked after out baggage re 8am check in and had it sent to the room whilst we did a day trip to Nagasaki. Every type of item you should want in the room, razors, toothpaste etc etc. Also stayed at JR Akita and Kumamoto considerably cheaper

Room Tip: pay a bit extra for twin bed larger rooms appear to all have views
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandJ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews