We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
US$290
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$338/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$49
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$70/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$214
US$160
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$230/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Beppu Pastoral(Beppu)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
US$355
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Seikai(Beppu)
US$452
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Hana Beppu(Beppu)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beppu Kamenoi Hotel(Beppu)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
10
35
15
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
35
15
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree tea and coffeeside streetyour luggageone nightdormbackpackprostoiletshostelbedwifiyenonsen
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Book a 4beds dor, get a 6beds dor. bed n room r big w a large space to put ur things. No selection of upper/lower bed during check in. GH r combine of 2 building, the entrance r old wooden unit, the attach one newer. 3rd r lady floor.

Free washing machine at rooftop, but dont have dryer. u can find one at left end opposite road of GH, lesd than 100m away at 100yen. Fast imternet access, but cannot accesd their HD, limited input language. Bathroom r old, but creative decorate. u can used/stay at the lobby after check out, i stay till night coz waiting my midnight ferry to Shikoku.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank hckok77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Double room with the partner at the Beppu Guest house in December 2013 - 1 night.

PROS
- Fairly good sized rooms with tatami Japanese style set up and appeared reasonably clean and comfortable.
- Friendly staff with a lot of information about surrounding attractions
- Wifi reached the rooms
- 5 minute walk from JR station and located near a large arcade providing plenty of eating and drinking options at night

CONS
- Booked through hotel.com, costing 5000 yen. When I got there the price advertised on the street appeared to be nearly half that so I think there is a fair amount of commission added on by hotel.com
- One shower for the whole building which seems to be everyones bugbare. I wouldn’t get too concerned about this given that Beppu is an onsen town and in particular, due to the proximity to the Takegawara Onsen which provides a bathing option for 100 yen (very interesting place although make sure you bring your own towels and toiletries) and is quite famous, a tourist attraction in itself.
- Whole place was a bit worn, cluttered and old, almost gave the impression of being back in primary school. Is definitely a hostel/backpacker class accomodation.
- Can’t check in until 1600 although there is a place to store your bags

CONCLUSION
Worth staying here but don’t book through booking.com as they appear to charge a large commission for their services. Backpacker/hostel class accomodaiton. Might be better to show up in person as they appear to have a bounty of empty rooms when I was there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Very nice place to stay in Beppu, cheap and cozy. Staff is very kind and lavish of suggests and direction for the most amazing places and onsen in town.
Moreover they speak english which -sad to say- is very uncommon in japanese hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This cheap guesthouse is just 5 minutes away from the train station.
We took 2 beds in a 4 beds dorm. The beds are good, but it was a bit hot in the room.
But the place was very quiet so it was really ok to sleep.
There is also only one shower for the all guesthouse. But I the time we went nobody was there.
There is also a free internet but a bit slow and a kitchen free to use.
For the price this is a good value.
For one night this was really ok, but I don't think I could stay longer there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keprive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this guesthouse. It is well located near the station. The whole building is a a bit worn, and not cared for. There is only 1 shower in the whole place and 1 toilet per floor, cleanish.
Our room was spacious but smelled a bit ( I think the tatami were new and pervade a smell of staple).
The service was basic but we didn't really ask much to be fair.
Price is cheap. The kitchen is useful and there is a living room To hang around

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nelson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews